uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video inside!)

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
dm8tbr
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: openaos.org
Contact:

uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video inside!)

Post by dm8tbr »

This is one for the curious "me too, me too, wanna try!" people.

Gaap/homen3 asked me on IRC today how to try Maemo/Mer on gen7.
Well we looked it up.
It was straight forward.
And to our surprise it boots and works┬╣.
┬╣= for values of works, the boot process looks psychedelic and a lot of things don't work properly of course, but the main GUI does work.

Want haz image for tryz?

Want see moviz of itz?

Basically:

Just before everyone starts to demand things.
This was just for fun! If someone seriously wants that as an working image THEY have to do it. Contact openAOS for help, but we won't do it!

Thanks to Gaap, spz0, nokia50 and everyone else for helping!

PS: currently wifi is not really working. I might get the image updated to work but you will have to add your wlanconf.nvs to /root/wlanconf.nvs in that image for wifi to work. (this file contains device specific calibration data!)
openAOS
KAYZAI
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:41 pm

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video inside!)

Post by KAYZAI »

Maemo on ARCHOS 5?!?

This (to me) is even better than Android.
=D>
dm8tbr
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: openaos.org
Contact:

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video inside!)

Post by dm8tbr »

Posting has been updated with second video of an A5IT booting Maemo.

Notice how much faster this is and how snappy it reacts. This is probably due to the combination of flash, more RAM and slightly faster CPU.
openAOS
Spz0
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by Spz0 »

dm8tbr wrote:PS: currently wifi is not really working. I might get the image updated to work but you will have to add your wlanconf.nvs to /root/wlanconf.nvs in that image for wifi to work. (this file contains device specific calibration data!)


Keep in mind that this is for A5IT. Wifi for A5IMT is currently broken.

Good luck to all who take this on. :)

Cheers
www.openAOS.org
homen3
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:36 pm

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by homen3 »

TODO:

1. A new updated kernel (Anyone with exp plz contact us if possible)
2. Fix boot resolution
3. (minor) Bluetooth and GPS support
4. get wifi working using the Mer network manager

Any idea is accepted :)

Join develop plz, Mer could be the alternative of the 1.6 android by Archos devs. (slow and still buggy ^^)
Gaap
Spz0
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by Spz0 »

--fix hdd from spinning constantly[Gen6] (big battery drain)
--get battery charge working.
www.openAOS.org
dm8tbr
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: openaos.org
Contact:

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by dm8tbr »

Spz0 wrote:Keep in mind that this is for A5IT. Wifi for A5IMT is currently broken.
ORLY? Because the last image I uploaded tries to load BOTH drivers. But as I said. you need to connect to networks manually.
openAOS
Spz0
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by Spz0 »

ahh. didn't know you uploaded ur recent work. :)
I stand corrected. :)
www.openAOS.org
Charbax
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7055
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by Charbax »

dm8tbr
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: openaos.org
Contact:

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by dm8tbr »

Thanks a lot. We really could use more active developers, so such publicity is very important.
openAOS
dm8tbr
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: openaos.org
Contact:

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by dm8tbr »

Update: If you like watching paint dry you'll also like this one. Updated the post with an Meego code drop 20100331 image.
openAOS
Aikon
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 1:18 am

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by Aikon »

How about maemo 5, don't know where one can find the image file for the os, I have nokia n900 will do anything to get img file for help. If we can get maemo 5 witg open gl es the archos 5 will be just amazing, by the way the n900 has same layout as A5(no buttons) all works from touch screen.
homen3
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:36 pm

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by homen3 »

Aikon wrote:How about maemo 5, don't know where one can find the image file for the os, I have nokia n900 will do anything to get img file for help. If we can get maemo 5 witg open gl es the archos 5 will be just amazing, by the way the n900 has same layout as A5(no buttons) all works from touch screen.


I remember that nokia releases signed fw, so it's not possible. :)
Gaap
azaghal
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 10:33 pm

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by azaghal »

I will try to make a build of mer 0.16 for touchbook and try to get wifi working :)
dm8tbr
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: openaos.org
Contact:

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by dm8tbr »

I'm currently looking at meego with handset experience. Doesn't look very complicated so far. I'll be using their armv7 rpm feed and then mating it with our kernel modules.
openAOS
homen3
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:36 pm

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by homen3 »

Gaap
azaghal
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 10:33 pm

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by azaghal »

The Mer imager seems to be broken ... But it just makes a bootstrap of Ubuntu Jaunty with deboostrap and install the "mer part" over this via apt-get

This can be reproduced manually I think on the openaos distro !!

I will test that as soon as possible ;)
Mootix1313
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:02 pm

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by Mootix1313 »

quick question: how do I change the screen calibration?
I hope I wasn't the only one wondering about this....probably was :D
A43IT <3
dm8tbr
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: openaos.org
Contact:

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by dm8tbr »

Actualy I spent some time trying to get screen calibration working before I put that image out back then. Sadly I failed to understand how this particular config wants me to do that. So yes the calibration is awfully off on most devices. :-/

PS: But I'm copying an HX image from my build-pc right now. That should prove far more interesting! :D
Will continue working on it while at aKademy today.
openAOS
azaghal
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 10:33 pm

Re: uncle openAOS needs YOU! - Maemo/Mer anyone? (Video insi

Post by azaghal »

I'll start working on my archos5imt tomorrow

I'll try to install apt-get on openaos (I must install perl and module::build before)
Then update the sources.list and install the mer packages including hildon-desktop (exactly the same way as it's done in the end of the imager script)

Hopefully the touchscreen settings for mer will be those used for matchbox (really possible because of the link between matchbox and hildon-desktop in mer)
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”