Page 1 of 1

Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 12:32 am
by spieler
Hi there, after a few weeks of the rebirth of my Archos5 i just start to play with it... The first thing that come to my head was the SDE.

Well, the thing is that i complete the instalation of the Archos official Angstrom distro... Then i tried with the Kevins build 199... the last experiment was this dual boot...

I've been tring without success and i'm kinda tired... I did the backup of my original Archos Firmware to a Tar, My actual Angstrom works. I did mount the USB partition (the one that haves all the media data, photos, etc) and create the menu.lst file

When i power up my Archos5 it goes to the "Archos EYW Developer edition" image and then to my Angstrom Firmware.

What did i do wrong??? HELP!!!

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:26 am
by dm8tbr
spieler wrote:When i power up my Archos5 it goes to the "Archos EYW Developer edition" image and then to my Angstrom Firmware.
Sounds like you stopped at step 3 or 4 of Kevin's guide.
Did you create a proper menu.lst? Do not use notepad! Use an editor capable of Unix line endings!
Did you flash the zImage and initramfs.cpio.gz?

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Posted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:14 pm
by spieler
I did flash the files and also create mi menu.lst file, for the menu file i used Ultraedit and save it as Unix...
Im not sure that im putting the manu file in the right place... it has to be qhere all my data are? or it has to be where in the hidden partition?

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Posted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:33 pm
by grond
spieler wrote:it has to be qhere all my data are?
Yes, it should be in the top-most directory of the data partition. The same directory where the Video/ Music/ a.s.o. directories are.

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Posted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:38 pm
by spieler
mmm... well then i'm kinda lost... i have no idea why this isn't working

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 7:25 am
by nokiae50
spieler wrote:mmm... well then i'm kinda lost... i have no idea why this isn't working
I request you to try out Chebuzz's automated .aos file

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:56 pm
by spieler
I tried it but when it tries to instal the update it says "update failed NOK (code 207)"... what is that?
I download it from "http://www.openaos.org/archives/82"

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:03 pm
by spieler
I am thinking more about this update... should i first reinstal my patched Firmware?

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Posted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 10:13 pm
by CheBuzz
Yes, you must be running a patched firmware in order to use that update file.

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Posted: Tue May 04, 2010 12:03 am
by Spz0
Re-install the original firmware and start from scratch. ;)

http://sites.google.com/site/archos5imt ... our-archos
Note the "Installing patched firmware" section.

Then To install multiboot:
http://sites.google.com/site/archos5imt ... t-easy-way

Good Luck m8. :)