Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
Post Reply
spieler
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:46 pm

Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Post by spieler »

Hi there, after a few weeks of the rebirth of my Archos5 i just start to play with it... The first thing that come to my head was the SDE.

Well, the thing is that i complete the instalation of the Archos official Angstrom distro... Then i tried with the Kevins build 199... the last experiment was this dual boot...

I've been tring without success and i'm kinda tired... I did the backup of my original Archos Firmware to a Tar, My actual Angstrom works. I did mount the USB partition (the one that haves all the media data, photos, etc) and create the menu.lst file

When i power up my Archos5 it goes to the "Archos EYW Developer edition" image and then to my Angstrom Firmware.

What did i do wrong??? HELP!!!
dm8tbr
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: openaos.org
Contact:

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Post by dm8tbr »

spieler wrote:When i power up my Archos5 it goes to the "Archos EYW Developer edition" image and then to my Angstrom Firmware.
Sounds like you stopped at step 3 or 4 of Kevin's guide.
Did you create a proper menu.lst? Do not use notepad! Use an editor capable of Unix line endings!
Did you flash the zImage and initramfs.cpio.gz?
openAOS
spieler
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Post by spieler »

I did flash the files and also create mi menu.lst file, for the menu file i used Ultraedit and save it as Unix...
Im not sure that im putting the manu file in the right place... it has to be qhere all my data are? or it has to be where in the hidden partition?
grond
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Post by grond »

spieler wrote:it has to be qhere all my data are?
Yes, it should be in the top-most directory of the data partition. The same directory where the Video/ Music/ a.s.o. directories are.
openAOS
spieler
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Post by spieler »

mmm... well then i'm kinda lost... i have no idea why this isn't working
nokiae50
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 427
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:07 pm
Location: Bangalore, India
Contact:

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Post by nokiae50 »

spieler wrote:mmm... well then i'm kinda lost... i have no idea why this isn't working
I request you to try out Chebuzz's automated .aos file
openAOS ROCKS!!
spieler
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Post by spieler »

I tried it but when it tries to instal the update it says "update failed NOK (code 207)"... what is that?
I download it from "http://www.openaos.org/archives/82"
spieler
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Post by spieler »

I am thinking more about this update... should i first reinstal my patched Firmware?
CheBuzz
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Post by CheBuzz »

Yes, you must be running a patched firmware in order to use that update file.
Spz0
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: Help with Dual Boot A5 250Gb

Post by Spz0 »

Re-install the original firmware and start from scratch. ;)

http://sites.google.com/site/archos5imt ... our-archos
Note the "Installing patched firmware" section.

Then To install multiboot:
http://sites.google.com/site/archos5imt ... t-easy-way

Good Luck m8. :)
www.openAOS.org
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”