can you hack from a windows PC.

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
quickcycles
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 12:09 am

Re: can you hack from a windows PC.

Post by quickcycles »

Watch the YouTube videos, I found them REALLY helpful.

Not sure I can post the links here but I'm sure you can find them.

Leave a message if you want the links.

Qc
nokiae50
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 427
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:07 pm
Location: Bangalore, India
Contact:

Re: can you hack from a windows PC.

Post by nokiae50 »

Or have a look at this guide also. Links to video are also there. Here is the website http://sites.google.com/site/archos5imt
openAOS ROCKS!!
twizted25
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:39 pm

Re: can you hack from a windows PC.

Post by twizted25 »

quickcycles wrote:
twizted25 wrote:I hacked my archos 605 wifi 2.1.04 using GTF3 and Windows 7
that's wicked.

perhaps you could do a bit of a guide for those that haven't managed to hack theirs yet?


I've managed to apply the GF hack and now have all plugins - WooHoo!

What's the mouldy cheese hack for?

QC
Prerequisites
1. Download http://rapidshare.com/files/347917959/A-GTF3.rar
2. Wifi
3. 2.1.04

Steps:
1. repair mode
2. rename system.bin to system.old (root/system/system.bin)
3. Plug in archos to USB when it asks and extract the contents to the root of your archos and overwrite folders.
4. Press ok
5. Archos will boot up
6. Enable Wifi / Wifi fileserver (wifi status menu)
7. Log onto file server from PC network and browse to see your archos folders. (User: Hack Pass: 1234)
8. After you see archos folders exit archos on windows and shut down file server
9. Rename jspluginsx to jsplugins within archos.
10. Open content portal let it sit for a little bit and it will close itself. After it closes itself you are all done.

jsplugins will rename itself to jspluginsx on shutdown. To enable again repeat steps 9-10.

More information: http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.p ... &sk=t&sd=a
v12dude
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:08 am

Re: can you hack from a windows PC.

Post by v12dude »

If you download ubuntu from their website do you still have to install it inorder for it to run.
Basically can I run it without installing and overwriting all current files/op system currently on the pc (I am currently running on xp)?
I hope that makes sense.
quickcycles
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 12:09 am

Re: can you hack from a windows PC.

Post by quickcycles »

Hey bud,

Download ubunto and burn it to disc.

Restart your pc with the disc in, it will come up with a couple of choices, choose 'try ubunto' this will run like an OS but it's just running off the disc. It's a little slower to run becuase it's off the disc but it's ok.

A tip: save all the files you need somewhere where you can access them because you can't access your windows setup while running ubunto (that I know of) i saved them on my external hdd, I'm sure a USB stick would work too.

Once you've finished you restart pc and you're back to windows as normal.

Qc
v12dude
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:08 am

Re: can you hack from a windows PC.

Post by v12dude »

ok cheers.
generic_username
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:18 pm

Re: can you hack from a windows PC.

Post by generic_username »

^ you can access any windows files from linux, however it may be impractical if you are only going to use it a few times

assuming you have an ntfs windows drive/partition, basically you would:
(not exact commands)

1. need a thumbdrive or something where you have read/write access
2. create a folder you can mount your windows to: mkdir (jumpdrive)/temp/mnt
3. find your windows partition: sudo fdisk -l
*/dev/sda1 100g ntfs
4. mount: sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 (jumpdrive)/temp/mnt -o force
juan13
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 4:17 pm

Re: can you hack from a windows PC.

Post by juan13 »

After hacking the Archos, in which firmware can you jump without losing the hack(my welcome screen says "patched bootloader 1.7.11)?
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”