GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
Post Reply
Kanybeal
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 6:43 pm

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by Kanybeal »

i recognized this problem with my own device, don't know if this is happening again, an similiar problem was that the device "hung" when i want to go in suspend-mode but only when i was doing it with the powerbutton, it ran smoothly when it was doing it on his own ("auto suspend after 2min idle"). Both situations were after running the hack.
generic_username
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:18 pm

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by generic_username »

have been looking at the AVOS:

hd vs hd hacked
hd vs 4g flash
hd hacked vs 4g flash

etc

as far as i remember the MC'd avos is 2.1.04? right? i think im looking at 2.0.10 or something cus there are tooooooo many differences in the binary (between hacked and non)

for clarity, was the 4g AVOS that was posted version 2.1.04 also?

still looking at this stuff for those waiting, don't give up hope, the community here is surprisingly resilient

edit: just saw the pm indicating the uploaded 4gavos is 1.7.13..... been lookin at three different versions... its all makin sense now lol.. still workin. i probably should look at the 4gf2.1.04 so, standby
mr_nobody
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:51 pm

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by mr_nobody »

Yeah, sorry, I thought that might be the case. Unfortunately, I'm not wanting to upgrade my firmware from 1.7.13 so hopefully someone else with the flash model will be able to dump the newer avos for you. Thanks for looking though...
generic_username
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:18 pm

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by generic_username »

infact all that really needs to be done is:
unpack the aos with chebuzz archutil
then to mount with instructions and offset as instructed in this GFT3 thread
the avos is located at /usr/bin or some such

i just haven't been working with the right aos files perhaps you could form the correct url to download the 2.1.04f aos (without upgrading) it looks like the 605 wiki keeps getting slammmed with spam tho so i dont know if the url is there
mr_nobody
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:51 pm

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by mr_nobody »

I have uploaded the 2.1.04f avos here:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/mtynn4icny5/avos.zip
sideways
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:41 pm

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by sideways »

You can download newest firmwares for all models from http://www.archos.com/support/support_t ... dk&lang=en

then unpack using chebuzz's archutil with

Code: Select all

./archutil aos firmware_a605.aos
then mount with

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/tmp
mount -o loop,offset=256 aos/COPY/rootfs.cramfs.secure /mnt/tmp
then avos is in /mnt/tmp/usr/bin

(Then ask grond where to edit for the plugins unlock ;) or get idapro, and work it out yourself :) )
mr_nobody
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:51 pm

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by mr_nobody »

Yeah, that's exactly what I did to dump the newer avos. It's just the last part I'm unclear on. If anyone can provide any guidance there, I'm all ears! ;)
grond
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by grond »

mr_nobody wrote:Yeah, that's exactly what I did to dump the newer avos. It's just the last part I'm unclear on. If anyone can provide any guidance there, I'm all ears! ;)
I would guess that taking a hacked avos (GF or moldy cheese) and a vanilla avos of the same version/device and comparing the two would easily show which parts you have to hack in a different version of avos...
openAOS
Styler
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 7:30 pm
Location: Russia

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by Styler »

Recently hacked PS3. Maybe some information about it will help us too? http://geohotps3.blogspot.com/
pandyBox
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:29 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by pandyBox »

Not remotely relevant.
160G 605 WiFi
Sychophantom
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by Sychophantom »

Styler wrote:Recently hacked PS3. Maybe some information about it will help us too? http://geohotps3.blogspot.com/

So who wants to give George Hotz a 605 to play with?
generic_username
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:18 pm

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by generic_username »

i lol'd.

i wanna give ben heck one to play with! god only knows what he'd come up with... ps360box05-laptop plz?
CTID
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:51 am

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by CTID »

Does this hack also have the benefit of removing the HDD lock? I've got a 40GB on it's way and it has the latest FW so mouldy chesse isn't possible.
CheBuzz
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by CheBuzz »

CTID wrote:Does this hack also have the benefit of removing the HDD lock? I've got a 40GB on it's way and it has the latest FW so mouldy chesse isn't possible.
Short answer: no.
twizted25
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:39 pm

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by twizted25 »

Anyone else have their gtf3 working for a few weeks and then the jsplugins didn't rename to jspluginsx on shutdown? Maybe because it froze and I had to use the reset button with a paperclip. Anyways going to re-apply gtf3. I love how easy and fast it is :)
hotz
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 12:05 am

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by hotz »

how can be solved the flash 9 problem ??
The G
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:09 am

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by The G »

can someone tell how to work this hack using content portal i have followed the steps (obviously not correctly) but i still get the 4 stores opening up (cinemanow, euronews etc.)
solomon
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 12:09 am

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by solomon »

The G wrote:can someone tell how to work this hack using content portal i have followed the steps (obviously not correctly) but i still get the 4 stores opening up (cinemanow, euronews etc.)
Just click the dohack.html file and click "BUY" when prompted to purchase Opera - it'll open the store and apply the hack.
ZackaryMac
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:24 am

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by ZackaryMac »

I'm looking at buying a 704wifi. Any thoughts on this magic working on the 704?
CheBuzz
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm

Re: GFT3 (Stable v1.0) for archos605 wifi (Software Jailbreak)

Post by CheBuzz »

Shouldn't need it. The 704 WIFI still has the GFT bug.
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”