for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
divx118
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 595
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by divx118 »

Just back from work to see the wonderfull news. I am going to try it right away. :D
EDIT: As suspected no problems at all works great.
@sideways do you already have an idea of when in the process of shutting down you rename the jsplugins?

Maurice 8)
sideways
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:41 pm

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by sideways »

divx118 wrote:Just back from work to see the wonderfull news. I am going to try it right away. :D
EDIT: As suspected no problems at all works great.
@sideways do you already have an idea of when in the process of shutting down you rename the jsplugins?

Maurice 8)
I'm thinking of bind mounting /sbin and modifying the reboot command to do it (it's a symlink to /bin/busybox currently), since avos_helper.sh calls that after shutdown, another alternative might be a K99hack script in /etc/init.d (but I haven't checked if shutdown executes kill scripts)

ps. thanks for testing, and your post about S30opera was a great help here :)
divx118
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 595
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by divx118 »

How about the inittab in /etc under # Stuff to do before rebooting

Code: Select all

# /etc/inittab
#
# Copyright (C) 2001 Erik Andersen <[email protected]>
#
# Note: BusyBox init doesn't support runlevels.  The runlevels field is
# completely ignored by BusyBox init. If you want runlevels, use
# sysvinit.
#
# Format for each entry: <id>:<runlevels>:<action>:<process>
#
# id        == tty to run on, or empty for /dev/console
# runlevels == ignored
# action    == one of sysinit, respawn, askfirst, wait, and once
# process   == program to run

# Startup the system
#null::sysinit:/bin/mount -o remount,rw /
null::sysinit:/bin/mount -t proc proc /proc
null::sysinit:/bin/mount -a
#null::sysinit:/bin/hostname -F /etc/hostname
#null::sysinit:/sbin/ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1 up
#null::sysinit:/sbin/route add -net 127.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 lo
# now run any rc scripts
::sysinit:/etc/init.d/rcS

# Set up a couple of getty's
# tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1
# tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2

# Put a getty on the serial port
# ttyS0::respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS0 115200 vt100
# ttyS1::respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS1 115200 vt100


# Start and monitor AVOS
::once:/usr/bin/avos_helper.sh

# Logging junk
#null::sysinit:/bin/touch /var/log/messages
# null::respawn:/sbin/syslogd -n -m 0
# null::respawn:/sbin/klogd -n
# tty3::respawn:/usr/bin/tail -f /var/log/messages

# Stuff to do for the 3-finger salute
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot

# Stuff to do before rebooting
# null::shutdown:/usr/bin/killall klogd
# null::shutdown:/usr/bin/killall syslogd
null::shutdown:/bin/umount -a -r
null::shutdown:/sbin/swapoff -a
Maurice 8)
sideways
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:41 pm

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by sideways »

divx118 wrote:How about the inittab in /etc under # Stuff to do before rebooting

Code: Select all

# /etc/inittab
...

# Stuff to do for the 3-finger salute
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot

# Stuff to do before rebooting
# null::shutdown:/usr/bin/killall klogd
# null::shutdown:/usr/bin/killall syslogd
null::shutdown:/bin/umount -a -r
null::shutdown:/sbin/swapoff -a
Maurice 8)
yup, that looks like a good target (do it before the umount) , /etc is only 369k so nice for a bind mount in /mnt/system :)
Buster
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:23 pm

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by Buster »

Hey,
i'm having troubles copying the hacked firmware on to the hidden partition, ive created the dirs you posted on the first page, but when i try to mount rootfs.cramfs.secure, it tells my no such file or directory....
i dont know what i did wrong, but i also cant browse the hidden root , when i typed in your first tips on how to get read/write access to the hidden root, it seemed to work because when i switched to the now created /mnt/system/usr/bin/ i get a big list, with like 150 entries from clear , clear console,cli.... to zipsplit,zjsdecode,zsoelim...
and i just dont know what this is, i heavily doubt that im on the right track...

i just need to be able to browse my hidden root, so that i can follow your instructions on how to exchange the firmwares and where to put the scripts, cause ive got the mini doc an a usb stick;)

its not that i dont understand how your hacks and scripts work, i am just usually a windoze user, and totally new to linux which is why its hard to do the practical stuff...

i hope someone can help me

thx buster


EDIT:

Sorry for the post, figured it out myself.
sideways
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:41 pm

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by sideways »

I'll post a howto later this week when I've finalised the GFT3 script. It's not a good idea to hack around in the system if you're not experienced with linux, so best to wait...

(The instructions are all here but spread over various posts, so it's not easy to follow)
Buster
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:23 pm

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by Buster »

hello again, thx for willing to help me, but i figured it out myself :)
i was willing to use the hack via wlan, but my dad didnt want me to "abuse" his router and to set up a wifi, and because the 605 cant establish ad hoc wlan, it seems like i need to wait for the usb doch how to...

anyways, im looking forward to gft3 and hope you keep up the good work. props to you.
Sychophantom
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by Sychophantom »

I'm having hope again, but I think I'm going to wait for the "for dummies" version since I'll probably be doing this at work, where I have more free time than at home.
nokiae50
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 427
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:07 pm
Location: Bangalore, India
Contact:

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by nokiae50 »

Sychophantom wrote:probably be doing this at work, where I have more free time than at home.
strange :shock:
openAOS ROCKS!!
Sychophantom
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by Sychophantom »

nokiae50 wrote:
Sychophantom wrote:probably be doing this at work, where I have more free time than at home.
strange :shock:
Not really. I work in a group home, and after they go to bed I usually have free time. When I'm home I have cleaning and all sorts of housework to do.
Hamstertom
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 3:56 am

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by Hamstertom »

Hey all, im german so i cant write english like you ;)
I love all this Hacks for the Archos 605 WiFi and I wait for more as 2 years for one( for version 1.8<)
But no its so incredible, there are so many threads and site where is it.
It would be nice if someone could an How to for noobs like me who want a system that dont always hang or supported any files :(
I have to reboot my archos so often...
I have read of Qtopia and other free systems for the archos... an Tutorial for all would be so nice!
What is the best? What can do more and and....

And the biggest point a good Tut how to hack the Archos.
But i cant handle with linux so good but with a good Tutorial it would be easy :)

Ok this was all of me
i now incredible english sry for taht :D but english is not my favorite language ;)

Hamstertom
Styler
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 7:30 pm
Location: Russia

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by Styler »

I use GFT3 and can replace the *. secure files. (It is possible for moldy_cheese 2.1 fw, Can we edit them?)

Could be something to do with the archos demo firmware or reset button?
(There are possible to replace or complement any system scripts?)
Thanks!
divx118
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 595
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by divx118 »

@Hamsterton I will write a tutorial for windows only using the GFT2 hack for first access so you can use the GFT3 hack. You can't do much more for now then to enable plugins.

@Styler If it only were that easy, but the secure files are signed with a key so you can't change them. With moldy cheese they remove the key checks in the flash, but with firmware >1.7.13 writing to the flash is blocked so we can't remove the checks.
The only way to change system files is with a bind mount see below.
sideways wrote: A little hint on hacking: get round the read-only root filesystem by copying directories to /mnt/system and do a bind mount, eg

mkdir /mnt/system/usr
cp -a /usr/bin /mnt/system/usr/
mount -o bind /mnt/system/usr/bin /usr/bin

Now everything in /usr/bin can be edited/replaced, including avos (type 'umount /usr/bin' to revert back to read-only)
Maurice 8)
sideways
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:41 pm

Re: for archos 605wifi firmware 1.8.07 (or anything >1.7.13)..

Post by sideways »

I have 2 things to do before declaring GFT3 stable.

1. Work out how to update the file browser window to show the renamed jspluginsx in the case where avos is not restarted.

If avos is restarted then the file browser updates the names automatically, but if you choose to just run sshd (by renaming restartavos.sh to restartavos.shx) then the jsplugins directory still shows as 'jsplugins' even though the hack.sh script has renamed it to 'jspluginsx'. It updates if you rename another file using the filebrowser (or reboot of course), so I need to work out the system call that causes the names to be updated. I tried 'sync' but that doesn't work.

2. Solve the issue with the backlight on the minidock (it is dim after recovery from off) when using 'nohup' to restart avos.
Mysteriously, using 'ssh -f' to restart avos doesn't have the backlight issue, but it introduces a problem with the samba file server. I think it's an environment problem, if that's the case then it should be possible to use nohup in all cases (which makes things simpler, and means you can remove the ssh stuff from the hack script if desired)

Any help appreciated. And if you want to post improved versions of the hack scripts or suggestions please feel free.
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”