Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
paranoidandroid
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by paranoidandroid »

CheBuzz wrote:serbor, I'm a bit confused with what you are saying. You seem to know what you are talking about, so I'm going to assume that it must be a language barrier thing.

First, we're not talking about compiling Android applications. These are really just Java applets that run under Google's own JVM. What I am talking about is compiling Android itself. And you definitely do need a new kernel for Android. Google made modifications to quite a few of the Linux kernel subsystems, and Android will crash if they aren't there.

paranoidandroid: Do let me know how it goes when you get some time.

I understand what serbor is saying, and I agree that we do have a working kernel in the flash. However, without google's modifications to the linux kernel tree I don't believe that android would be functional and that is why I took the time to find the android kernel for 2.6.22.

I might have time in the next couple days to attempt compiling the userspace apps, so I will keep you informed. Could we maybe sticky this thread? I would like to get some collaboration with anyone else who has a background in computing.

serbor wrote:Did you mean 2.6.22?

Yeah, I meant 2.6.22
CheBuzz
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by CheBuzz »

CheBuzz wrote:They are running the exact same kernel version (2.6.22-1) on both gen6 and gen7


So I was mistaken. Apparently gen7 uses 2.6.27.
paranoidgabe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by paranoidgabe »

Has anyone made any progress into a custom bootloader? I want to test different kernels with the IMT but I want to be cautious not to brick my device. If I could get a bootloader, like GRUB for instance, I could bring up a boot menu to load different kernels and/or OS's. I know that the team over at the g3nius has been working on something like that.
Analias
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by Analias »

paranoidgabe wrote:Has anyone made any progress into a custom bootloader? I want to test different kernels with the IMT but I want to be cautious not to brick my device. If I could get a bootloader, like GRUB for instance, I could bring up a boot menu to load different kernels and/or OS's. I know that the team over at the g3nius has been working on something like that.


I've been looking into that and I think I have found a potential solution that doesn't require a forklift change out of the current bootloaders. U-boot V2 (aka barebox) can be configured to act as a front end to the boot process. If we have the stage1 boot loader use u-boot v2 instead of loading the kernel, we can have u-boot v2 allow for prompting for alternate kernels and root file-systems. This would still allow the recovery bootloader to work without any changes. We may even get u-boot v2 to search USB devices (thumbdrives and disks) for kernels/rootfs and possibly over the net with a USB ethernet dongle.

I have u-boot v2 compiling, but I am running into problems with it running as an ELF binary to test. There may also be some tweaking I need to do to either remove or enhance the hardware initialization, depends on how much the Archos bootloader does. Even with this plan it's possible to brick a device so I am proceeding with caution.


-Analias
paranoidandroid
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by paranoidandroid »

Something interesting I just found is the 0xdroid build of android is developed for the Beagleboard. The Beagleboard uses the same processor as the IMT (OMAP3). So, we could have a possible candidate for an android build from 0xdroid.
paranoidandroid
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by paranoidandroid »

I just found this link and wanted to share it with everyone. http://euedge.com/blog/2007/12/06/googl ... s-sl-c760/

This guy used the Angstrom distribution as a base to install Android on a sharp zaurus. This seems like a good approach!!
ari1127
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:26 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by ari1127 »

PA, Great Find! But i'm unsure from the way that is written if it's just emulating the software through Angstrom, or actually running a base Android OS. And the next question would be, does it matter? I mean if it's just skinned and works well, does it even matter if it's a emulator?
cmstackar
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 9:47 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by cmstackar »

Knorreworst wrote:The HTC HD (not HD2) has a ARM Cortex processor and it runs Android perfectly, this is surely worth a try, though you'd need "android-arm", not "android-x86".

Not exactly the most useful post, but that port isn't close to done yet, and it doesn't have a cortex it has a regular old arm11, and phones using the exact same hardware don't work with that port. We have a long way to go
paranoidandroid
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by paranoidandroid »

There doesn't need to be much architecture porting since, y'know, Android is designed to run the and Arm platform and we know that it runs perfectly fine on the Cortex-A8.
angelmoroni
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:52 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by angelmoroni »

soooooooooooo, I hope this thread doesn't die. Android on my old device would be awesome. Wish I could contribute more, but I don't really know how to do anything this complicated.
ari1127
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:26 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by ari1127 »

ParanoidAndroid,

Any news lately? Any kernel builds? or did you follow what that guy did for the sharp zaurus? Let us know!
paranoidandroid
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by paranoidandroid »

Sorry,
No news yet. I havent had time to do anything really. I've been looking a lot at something called Poky, which is a linux platform kit for mobile devices that is compiled with the openembedded source tree. It was just recently purchased by Intel and is compatible with the Cortex-A8. Check it out at http://www.pokylinux.org/

--ParanoidAndroid
soupdog
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:07 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by soupdog »

Is this thread dead? Anyone have any luck porting android to the gen6?
map002
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 6598
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by map002 »

Hi Soupdog,

I'm pretty sure the first person or team to manage it might mention it in passing here... In a similar way, if World War III starts, it may be mentioned in passing on the news. :shock: :lol:

Michael
soupdog
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:07 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by soupdog »

Wow, you guys are brutal! Just though with no posts in almost a month the discussion might have moved on to another thread, or died altogether. Didn't mean to ruffle any feathers! :oops:
CheBuzz
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by CheBuzz »

I'm about 1 week away from _starting_ on it. I will keep you posted on any progress I make, or if I abandon it entirely. :)
soupdog
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:07 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by soupdog »

I now have someone working on it as well. He has good Linux knowledge, but is new to Android. We will keep you posted on our progress if you do the same. Feel free to PM me if you want to exchange information.
Fedaykin
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 7:33 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by Fedaykin »

wish I could help, i have some very limited windows coding experience, none whatsoever with linux. Just got an archos 5 250gb for christmas, please keep us posted on progress to android. My gf got a motorola droid and I love it, but don't wanna dish out the cash for the monthly service lol. All the apps minus the bill and phone would be fine by me.
map002
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 6598
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by map002 »

Hi Soupdog,

The Smileys denote joking. Pretend you hear a laugh or a smile in someone's voice when you see one and it might come across as something other than 'brutal'... :D

Michael
soupdog
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:07 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by soupdog »

Yes, simleys do that in general. In this case though, it felt more like an attempt to soften condescending sarcasm. My apologies if I misread your tone! :-)
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”