Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
ari1127
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:26 pm

Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by ari1127 »

I'm sure this is just a matter of time before we see this (and I really can't wait), but this thread might help some developer somewhere. There are currently many efforts to port android to other platforms, and I think it'd be fairly simple with the latest SDE firmware. There are 2 open android packages right now:

http://www.android-x86.org/

http://code.google.com/p/live-android/

I think the Android-x86 is the most promising and more developed of the projects. It currently runs the Android 1.6 OS.

So where to go from here? Do either of these projects work on an ARM Cortex processor? and finding a way to boot the android software onto the Archos and configure all of the drivers. I know it's a lot, but this seems like the logical choice in OS's simply because all of the work is done, and we know that google apps rock our shit.
Knorreworst
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:58 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by Knorreworst »

The HTC HD (not HD2) has a ARM Cortex processor and it runs Android perfectly, this is surely worth a try, though you'd need "android-arm", not "android-x86".
ari1127
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:26 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by ari1127 »

Well yeah... But isn't the original android already technically "android-arm"? So would we just need the original sdk? And why isn't anyone already doing this?
Knorreworst
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:58 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by Knorreworst »

ari1127 wrote:So would we just need the original sdk?


As far as i know, that has not been released.
edembowski
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:11 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by edembowski »

The full sources have been published, as well as extensive porting guides:

http://www.kandroid.org/android_pdk/index.html

Hardware specific features that require closed source APIs have not been published.

- Ed
paranoidgabe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by paranoidgabe »

Google has released the Android source at http://source.android.com/download.

So, we just need to download the source, patch the kernel with any modifications that Archos has made for device compatibility and then make sure that the drivers are compatible with Archos hardware.

I'm familiar with Linux kernel patching. If anyone wants to work with me to try to port android to the IMT send me a PM or something.
paranoidgabe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by paranoidgabe »

I just downloaded the android source and I'm building it right now. So, I'm going to have a working build of android-arm. Does anyone know what modifications that Archos made the linux kernel so that I can start patching?
edembowski
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:11 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by edembowski »

If you download the 'AX06_GPL.tar.bz2' file from Archos' site, you'll have the kernel that they use on the A5/7 (2.6.22.1-omap1).

If you get the android kernel tree for that version (2.6.22.1) and diff it to a virgin kernel tree, you should have a diff file that you can apply.

- Ed
CheBuzz
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by CheBuzz »

Note that you will want to get the android changes and apply them to the Archos kernel source. That will be the easiest route.
ari1127
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:26 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by ari1127 »

Heck yes guys! I'm glad that this has caught on. I'm willing to help as well. My linux and coding are so so, but am willing to provide whatever else I can. Moral support?
paranoidgabe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by paranoidgabe »

Alright, so, I downloaded the Android platform and it turns out that the kernel tree is not included. So, I looked at the Android repo and found the common android kernel package. After downloading I created a difference file between the android kernel and the archos kernel. But, then I realized that I had downloaded kernel 2.6.27 for android and archos is using 2.6.22. So, obviously, this is not going to work. I'm going to look back in the repo to see if there are previous kernel trees available.
paranoidgabe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by paranoidgabe »

I was able to find an android kernel tree for 2.6.22. After applying a new patch to the Archos kernel using a newly generated diff I have built the kernel using the buildroot makefile supplied by Archos, which was nice because Archos included the arm-gcc cross compiler.

Now, that I, presumably, have a linux kernel with modifications made by Archos as well as Google and a build of the Android platform I'm hoping that it will be as easy as using AOS tools to package it all up. But, things are never that easy... are they? haha
nokiae50
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 427
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:07 pm
Location: Bangalore, India
Contact:

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by nokiae50 »

paranoidgabe wrote:I was able to find an android kernel tree for 2.6.22. After applying a new patch to the Archos kernel using a newly generated diff I have built the kernel using the buildroot makefile supplied by Archos, which was nice because Archos included the arm-gcc cross compiler.

Now, that I, presumably, have a linux kernel with modifications made by Archos as well as Google and a build of the Android platform I'm hoping that it will be as easy as using AOS tools to package it all up. But, things are never that easy... are they? haha

Let it be easy and hope you come through with flying colors..!!! Waiting for the android...!!! Hope your next post contains link for the android aos file :P
openAOS ROCKS!!
CheBuzz
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by CheBuzz »

Getting a working kernel is the first step, but it is definitely not the last. I am interested in doing this, but it's going to be 3 weeks before I am able to hack away at it. The plan of attack I had was to take a look at the gen7 source code and find out what modifications they made. They are running the exact same kernel version (2.6.22-1) on both gen6 and gen7 and rumor has it that Archos even had Android running on gen6 hardware at one point.

Have you compiled the Android user-land applications and tried running them?
grond
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by grond »

CheBuzz wrote:rumor has it that Archos even had Android running on gen6 hardware at one point.


They used gen6 hardware for development of the gen7 firmware for quite some time.
openAOS
serbor
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:39 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by serbor »

Getting a working kernel is the first step


it would be true if you did not have a working system.

In "our" case it is the "lastest" step I would be concerned of. And only if I wanted to connect a new hardware.
Personally I don't get all that buzz you guys built up around kernel and it's versions.
Kernel needed in case if the rest of OS is compiled against uClibc, since the library wants some of kernel
headers, Android is built on libc and kernel is not needed at all. In "standard" android build the kernel is not even compiled. Because "who cares".

The good thing about unix is that kernel provides a uniform access to hardware, application doesn't need to know
about kernel versions as long as it is not using kernel "features".

You don't need to "hack" anything simply because Archos provides all patches to omap-patched vanilla kernel. Besides, it even provides already patched kernel sources in case, I guess, somebody might not know how to apply patches.

You would be better off thinking, if you have nothing interesting to do, how to apply those patches to more recent kernel, say 2.6.29rc3, which had been used in the latest TI's codecs and dsplink .
This would be useful.
paranoidandroid
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by paranoidandroid »

serbor wrote:Android is built on libc and kernel is not needed at all.

I'm having a difficult time understanding what you are saying here. The kernel is definitely needed. The kernel is essentially the operating system, it supports the hardware and provides an abstract layer for hardware access.

serbor wrote: 2.6.29rc3, which had been used in the latest TI's codecs and dsplink .
This would be useful.

The problem with trying to patch this kernel is that there have been a LOT of changes since 2.5.22-1. One route we could take is to take a look at the OMAPpedia kernel tree which is an android kernel tree with active development in OMAP3 hardware specific optimizations. They have Android running on the Zoom2 platform. But their build is Android 1.6, which unfortunately does not have soft button support, which is really needed for the IMT.

Another issue is that we need to integrate the TI DSP accelerated multimedia codecs in order to be able to use the DSP core properly. All of this stuff is available. It's just a matter of putting the right pieces together.
paranoidandroid
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by paranoidandroid »

CheBuzz wrote:Getting a working kernel is the first step, but it is definitely not the last. I am interested in doing this, but it's going to be 3 weeks before I am able to hack away at it. The plan of attack I had was to take a look at the gen7 source code and find out what modifications they made. They are running the exact same kernel version (2.6.22-1) on both gen6 and gen7 and rumor has it that Archos even had Android running on gen6 hardware at one point.

Have you compiled the Android user-land applications and tried running them?

Thats actually a really good idea. I hadn't even thought about looking at gen7 source. And actually, we might not even need to patch the gen7 kernel at all to be used on the gen6. I think that if we recompile the gen7 kernel we can even remove any unneeded drivers, bluetooth etc.

No, I haven't compiled the applications. It took roughly 4 hours to compile android and my patched kernel and I haven't had time to work on it much since then.
serbor
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:39 am

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by serbor »

Android is built on libc and kernel is not needed at all.

I'm having a difficult time understanding what you are saying here. The kernel is definitely needed. The kernel is essentially the operating system, it supports the hardware and provides an abstract layer for hardware access.


The kernel is definitely needed. And you have it in your flash.

There is no point to bother with kernel when compiling Android apps.
If android was built against uClibc then you'd have to have kernel at compile time.

Is that more understandable?

The problem with trying to patch this kernel is that there have been a LOT of changes since 2.5.22-1.


Did you mean 2.6.22?

Certainly there were changes. That's why the most recent omap kernel is 2.6.29.
And that's why I told that if you have nothing more interesting to do and have an intent to fool around the kernel tree it would be better to apply archos patches to the TI's kernel, instead of bothering to find an android kernel 2.6.22.
You do have it in your flash. No point to reflash.

There is also no point at all to pack the stuff into an .aos file.
The only thing you need is an image of the root file system or rootfs.crams depending of init you flashed in.

I personally don't even bother to pack into an image because I simply copy root file system to a usb stick, having an "original" (patched, though) system on the hard disk.
CheBuzz
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm

Re: Android port to 6th gen Archos 5

Post by CheBuzz »

serbor, I'm a bit confused with what you are saying. You seem to know what you are talking about, so I'm going to assume that it must be a language barrier thing.

First, we're not talking about compiling Android applications. These are really just Java applets that run under Google's own JVM. What I am talking about is compiling Android itself. And you definitely do need a new kernel for Android. Google made modifications to quite a few of the Linux kernel subsystems, and Android will crash if they aren't there.

paranoidandroid: Do let me know how it goes when you get some time.
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”