So what have you done with archilles hack so far?

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
Post Reply
munkytown71
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 337
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 5:19 pm

So what have you done with archilles hack so far?

Post by munkytown71 »

Has anyone actually done anything with this hack so far aside from getting more plug-ins? Just curious.
hans
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 6:10 pm

Re: So what have you done with archilles hack so far?

Post by hans »

I am trying to run debian on the Device. I will post my scripts later when i have a running sshd.
munkytown71
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 337
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: So what have you done with archilles hack so far?

Post by munkytown71 »

Not sure what that is, but thanks for posting :)
2nafish
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:33 am

Re: So what have you done with archilles hack so far?

Post by 2nafish »

LOL!
doesnotcompute
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:44 pm

Re: So what have you done with archilles hack so far?

Post by doesnotcompute »

serbor got dropbear running on his jailbroken device, although he reportedly keeps losing his connection.

in theory, it should be possible to replace the mouldy_cheeze executable with anything else and get it to run as root, using archilles' jailbreak technique.
munkytown71
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 337
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: So what have you done with archilles hack so far?

Post by munkytown71 »

Yea, I think it's a good idea that I pretty much abandoned the idea of trying this hack, because I don't know what you guys are talking about most of the time, LOL. But I'm glad it's available and hope it continues to improve. And hope there are more to come. :D
generic_username
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:18 pm

Re: So what have you done with archilles hack so far?

Post by generic_username »

i havent gotten a chance to play yet, but on the 605 i assume the GFT hole is closed after the hack? as it is the upgraded firmware

i recall him saying something about gdb but maybe i probably missed something, how do we run code on 605 post hack?

edit: do we have to add it to the cramfs? or what?
grond
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: So what have you done with archilles hack so far?

Post by grond »

generic_username wrote:but on the 605 i assume the GFT hole is closed after the hack? as it is the upgraded firmware
The GFT bug can be re-enabled easily by disabling the sanitisation function called on the string passed as a password. I think archilles mentioned that he re-enabled the GFT exploit.
openAOS
generic_username
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:18 pm

Re: So what have you done with archilles hack so far?

Post by generic_username »

ohhh nice, so i can still use arcwelder :) thanks man
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”