openPMA-NG ! We are not dead...

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
bubu
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:23 pm

openPMA-NG ! We are not dead...

Post by bubu »

Hi guys

After a long long time... (busy time, my Archos 605 broken, ...)

We went back to active dev for next openPMA-NG :)

here is a screenshot of what will probably come in near future... probably some weeks...

Image

We have yet bunch of stuff to do, touchscreen support, seamless integration with avos... but this is promising...

openPMA-NG will be based on pdaXrom 2.0 so we will add support for most known applications (firefox, abiword, ...)

of course FTG exploit will be required (so Archos firmware <= 1.7.13)

Thx to sashz and the pdaXrom team.. thx to openPMA team...

so stay tuned... more infos will come... and be patient...

BuBU
openPMA Team
Senatorpride33
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:56 pm

Post by Senatorpride33 »

any way you can hack into the latest firmware?
ebby
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 2:34 am

Post by ebby »

Looks Nice! 8) can't wait
serag
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:21 pm
Location: Canuckistan

Post by serag »

Thanks for the update Bubu, can't wait to play with the new release when it comes out.
bnm01
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: US & A

Post by bnm01 »

Alright! Great Job and thanks for continuing to work on the project!
I might be able to help with some programming over the summer...I'm an engineering major and we had to learn C, Java, etc...
I'm glad I didn't upgrade!
Gomez
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 5:49 pm
Contact:

Post by Gomez »

WOW! gimp on the archos! this will be amazing!!!!
great work!
Gomez
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 5:49 pm
Contact:

Post by Gomez »

Senatorpride33 wrote:any way you can hack into the latest firmware?
not lookin good for ya :(
*edit*
actually, maybe
http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?t=14544
:)
thethirdmoose
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:12 am

Post by thethirdmoose »

Oh sweet!

is there any way i can help?

i know a decent amount programming (C++ and java), linux, etc.
thethirdmoose
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:12 am

Post by thethirdmoose »

Oh sweet!

is there any way i can help?

i know a decent amount of programming (C++ and java), linux, etc.

I can also write documentation decently.
mr_nobody
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:51 pm

Post by mr_nobody »

Good stuff! Looking forward to it! :D

Flash 9? Who cares? :p
fischju
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 440
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:33 pm

Post by fischju »

Right after I upgrade! Ahhh!
suraj
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 6:18 am

Post by suraj »

great to here about openPMA-NG from bubu after all this flash9 update news from archos.i am sure people would repent for upgrading.just cant wait to go for it. thanks for the update bubu.
area5x1
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:55 am

Post by area5x1 »

Any way to hack in a "Standby" feature for the 604 users who don't have Standby and must have access to a network everytime they want to use openPMA? :p
suraj
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 6:18 am

Re: openPMA-NG ! We are not dead...

Post by suraj »

bubu wrote:Hi guys

After a long long time... (busy time, my Archos 605 broken, ...)

We went back to active dev for next openPMA-NG :)

here is a screenshot of what will probably come in near future... probably some weeks...

Image

We have yet bunch of stuff to do, touchscreen support, seamless integration with avos... but this is promising...

openPMA-NG will be based on pdaXrom 2.0 so we will add support for most known applications (firefox, abiword, ...)

of course FTG exploit will be required (so Archos firmware <= 1.7.13)

Thx to sashz and the pdaXrom team.. thx to openPMA team...

so stay tuned... more infos will come... and be patient...

BuBU
will it be possible this time to access the openPMA-NG with out the wifi connection?
pwright8
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:52 pm

Re: openPMA-NG ! We are not dead...

Post by pwright8 »

suraj wrote:
will it be possible this time to access the openPMA-NG with out the wifi connection?
Hi Suraj,
Bubu says " FTG exploit will be required". I'm sure that's a typo, and he meant the GFT exploit (http://code.google.com/p/arcwelder/). This exploit requires wifi, so it doesn't look like you'll be in luck..

But I was wondering about laptop owners being able to use an ad-hoc connection to run the exploit? Has anyone tried that?

This would allow you use a laptop to run openPMA-NG, instead of requiring you to find a wifi network (may not help you much, but might help others)

[edit] This news from Bubu is so encouraging that i'm considering buying a backup 605. Do archos realise that this could actually boost sales significantly[/edit]
pt1989
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:23 pm

Post by pt1989 »

yeah!!! thanks a lot... nice it's like a uber cool Linux UMPC now... wow got FF too ... this is too good to be true... but so was the 605 when i saw it... :)
pt1989
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:23 pm

Post by pt1989 »

bubu wrote: openPMA-NG will be based on pdaXrom 2.0 so we will add support for most known applications (firefox, abiword, ...)
so that means almost this is a new distro altogether not any Qtopia upgrade right? does that mean any *Linux* app would work on it... this is sweeeeeeeeet
bubu
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:23 pm

Post by bubu »

pt1989 wrote:
bubu wrote: openPMA-NG will be based on pdaXrom 2.0 so we will add support for most known applications (firefox, abiword, ...)
so that means almost this is a new distro altogether not any Qtopia upgrade right? does that mean any *Linux* app would work on it... this is sweeeeeeeeet
yes no more qtopia stuff as it is borring me... not a lot of support... but for people who will still interested into qtopia there will be qtopia-core on top of Xorg (xorg 1.4.0 version)... also support for SDL already compiled in (not tested yet...)..

we will have Davinci DSP support (thx to sashz)... and more exciting stuff.. :), probably flash 9 support as well... fennec...

but as I said this will take time... just be patient... meanwhile go and buy new Archos stuff if you have already upgraded to newer firmware :)
openPMA Team
serag
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:21 pm
Location: Canuckistan

Re: openPMA-NG ! We are not dead...

Post by serag »

pwright8 wrote: But I was wondering about laptop owners being able to use an ad-hoc connection to run the exploit? Has anyone tried that?

This would allow you use a laptop to run openPMA-NG, instead of requiring you to find a wifi network (may not help you much, but might help others)
The 605 won't connect to ad-hoc wifi connection's
pt1989
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:23 pm

Post by pt1989 »

bubu wrote:
pt1989 wrote:
bubu wrote: openPMA-NG will be based on pdaXrom 2.0 so we will add support for most known applications (firefox, abiword, ...)
so that means almost this is a new distro altogether not any Qtopia upgrade right? does that mean any *Linux* app would work on it... this is sweeeeeeeeet
yes no more qtopia stuff as it is borring me... not a lot of support... but for people who will still interested into qtopia there will be qtopia-core on top of Xorg (xorg 1.4.0 version)... also support for SDL already compiled in (not tested yet...)..

we will have Davinci DSP support (thx to sashz)... and more exciting stuff.. :), probably flash 9 support as well... fennec...

but as I said this will take time... just be patient... meanwhile go and buy new Archos stuff if you have already upgraded to newer firmware :)
we are waiting... this is FREAKIN AWESOME!!! flash9 support would mean archos firmware section wont get any more hits now.... hahahaha

u just keep surprisin us...
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”