test archos tv+

Ethernet, 80GB, 250GB
Post Reply
cajl
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Location: La varenne / France
Contact:

test archos tv+

Post by cajl »

i have testing archos tv+

very interesting !

a little video on

http://www.dailymotion.com/jbmmfr/video ... mmarchostv
CORSE' WEB
JohnBe
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 11:48 pm

Post by JohnBe »

A big review of the Archos TV + at :

http://www.archoslounge.net/Test-du-TV- ... e-dur.html (in French)

http://translate.google.com/translate?u ... fr&ie=UTF8

With a lot of pic and video !

;)
tstreete
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 8:28 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: test archos tv+

Post by tstreete »

Thank you very much for your interesting video. Some of us in the U.S. are very interested in this, but it is not yet available here.

One question: is the TV+ accessible from the network? Can you copy recorded videos from the TV+ to your PC?

Thanks again.


cajl wrote:i have testing archos tv+

very interesting !

a little video on

http://www.dailymotion.com/jbmmfr/video ... mmarchostv
cajl
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Location: La varenne / France
Contact:

Post by cajl »

archos tv is the same OS for 605

if 605 do, archos tv+ do
CORSE' WEB
Budwzr
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 674
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:30 am

Post by Budwzr »

cajl wrote:archos tv is the same OS for 605

if 605 do, archos tv+ do


Yes, thank you, but the main question here in America (probably everywhere) is if recordings made on the ArchosTV can be copied across a home network? Have you tried this?

And do the recordings have DRM?
tstreete
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 8:28 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

the issue: the internet/TV barrier

Post by tstreete »

cajl wrote:archos tv is the same OS for 605

if 605 do, archos tv+ do


Indeed, and if it was clear from the forums that the 605-with-dvr could copy files to other computers, that would be encouraging, but in this forum at least, I have been unable to find a clear listing of what the 605 setup is exactly capable of.

The issue, IMHO, is this: TV and the internet have been gradually growing closer together over the years, but the TV industry in is highly resistant to completely breaking down the barrier. You can use Windows Media Center to do that, but it will cost over $1000 US to get the necessary computer, cards, etc. DVRs can easily digitize TV, but most make it hard or impossible to copy those recordings to a computer, i.e., to the internet side. The Apple TV comes at things from the other direction, making it (relatively) easy to play internet video on your living room TV, but not recording TV transmissions or allowing full web browsing on your TV. The Archos TV Plus, if it is fully networkable and the files are not copy-protected, would land smack dab in the middle between TV and internet, completely breaking down the barrier for a modest price.

That's why this product MIGHT be a big deal, I think.
Post Reply

Return to “Archos TV+”