Compatiblity with SKY

Ethernet, 80GB, 250GB
Post Reply
Patient
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:28 pm
Location: Bath

Compatiblity with SKY

Post by Patient »

I am struggling to see the point of these TV+ thingys' (Apple, Archos or whoever) if they can't interact with my SKY subscription.

I don't receive TV from anywhere other than the satellite and access all of it via my SKY HD & SKY+ box.

I guess there are many like me (if not SKY then Cable) - so - whats the point of TV+ ??
PoBear
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 2:02 pm

Post by PoBear »

if you're only using SKY (and not a DVB-T source like Freeview), and if you already have a Sky+ and/or HD box, then the TV+ will not offer any additional features to your current set up.

Sky encrypts most of it's content and it can only be de-crypted by a Sky receiver, this means you can only record programs from one of the SKy outputs, at the moment this has to be an analogue source which will degrade the quality of picture you get, so I wouldn't bother.

This will be the same for any similar device (e.g. Apple TV)

Regards

Steve
Stephen Petitt
FRITZ

Post by FRITZ »

I really like the look of this but would only get it if i could record of sky but my main box is downstairs and i have the link to a tv upstairs but am i not correct in saying that this machine will record whats on the screen like what a hdd dvd recorder does.........Fritz
tstreete
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 8:28 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Post by tstreete »

Apple TV cannot record anything; it only downloads movies and TV shows from iTunes or shows Youtube stuff.

The Archos TV Plus, I'm pretty sure, will work like a Tivo, that is, it will come with an infrared device that you put on your SKY receiver/decryption box so the Archos can tell the SKY box to change channels at the appropriate time, and then record a show from the same feed that goes in to your television.

The archos is also supposed to allow internet surfing and (like the Apple TV) download programs from the internet as well.

PoBear wrote:if you're only using SKY (and not a DVB-T source like Freeview), and if you already have a Sky+ and/or HD box, then the TV+ will not offer any additional features to your current set up.

Sky encrypts most of it's content and it can only be de-crypted by a Sky receiver, this means you can only record programs from one of the SKy outputs, at the moment this has to be an analogue source which will degrade the quality of picture you get, so I wouldn't bother.

This will be the same for any similar device (e.g. Apple TV)

Regards

Steve
CBers
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1647
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Location: Kent, UK.

Post by CBers »

Perhaps it'll be demonstarted at the WHAT HI-FI Sound and Vision show.

The show is on in London between 2nd and 4th November 2007.
Post Reply

Return to “Archos TV+”