Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

4GB, 30GB, 160GB...
savagemyth
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:37 pm

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by savagemyth »

Just wanna say thanks to the thread creator for sharing the info to change the battery. Mine died finally after 2 years and using this tutorial helped me greatly!

Just wish I had opted for the 4500mah battery that I see you can get, has anyone tried it? I put in the 2500mah batt and it works great, good to have 3 hours of video play off battery again!
nz
Archos Staff
Archos Staff
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:17 pm
Location: Archos SA, France
Contact:

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by nz »

ecsw wrote:Step 5.

Use soldiering iron to remove the battery contact from the board.

and please make sure you NEVER EVER short circuit the battery contacts while doing so. these batterys do not like that at all!
Kodiak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1725
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:01 am
Location: Richmond VA USA

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by Kodiak »

Just wish I had opted for the 4500mah battery that I see you can get, has anyone tried it? I put in the 2500mah batt and it works great, good to have 3 hours of video play off battery again!

Be careful with an exteded battery. In the past people have advertised for an extended battery for the 2.5" HD models that have not been real. Because the battery is under the HD size is critical. However you should now be good to go for another 2 years.
swec
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1515
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:13 pm
Location: location

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by swec »

nz wrote:
ecsw wrote:Step 5.

Use soldiering iron to remove the battery contact from the board.

and please make sure you NEVER EVER short circuit the battery contacts while doing so. these batterys do not like that at all!


That's right. If anyone is not good at soldering, please just cut the battery wire and do it from there. :) Should be much easier that way.
605x2,TV+,5x2
BunnyToes
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by BunnyToes »

BunnyToes wrote:Got the replacement battery....attempting the replacement over next few days, when I feel I have the steadiest hands lol. Thanks for the walkthrough and advice....you guys are all invaluable....lost w/o this gadget!

Hoping this also solves my "device has malfunctioned" error on win7 64. Will only recognise device via 1.1 usb extension port....not through my 2.0 ports. :( Fingers crossed.



Well, got it done, battery took a full day and half to finally start the green led blinking, but now battery has full bars woohoo!!

Unfortunately, I cannot transfer ANYTHING to it because computers still say "usb device has malfunctioned...not recognised...replace it if reconnection doesn't work" GRRRRRRRRR.... Oh well, twas very satisfying to follow this walkthrough succesfully, Thankyou again to posters! :(
swec
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1515
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:13 pm
Location: location

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by swec »

BunnyToes wrote:
BunnyToes wrote:Got the replacement battery....attempting the replacement over next few days, when I feel I have the steadiest hands lol. Thanks for the walkthrough and advice....you guys are all invaluable....lost w/o this gadget!

Hoping this also solves my "device has malfunctioned" error on win7 64. Will only recognise device via 1.1 usb extension port....not through my 2.0 ports. :( Fingers crossed.



Well, got it done, battery took a full day and half to finally start the green led blinking, but now battery has full bars woohoo!!

Unfortunately, I cannot transfer ANYTHING to it because computers still say "usb device has malfunctioned...not recognised...replace it if reconnection doesn't work" GRRRRRRRRR.... Oh well, twas very satisfying to follow this walkthrough succesfully, Thankyou again to posters! :(



did you try different set of usb cable or try connect it with mini dock or dvr dock if you have any?
605x2,TV+,5x2
swec
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1515
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:13 pm
Location: location

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by swec »

Need another battery change for one of my 605. :p

I think mp3technology's $30+7~ shipping is a bit pricy, therefore, I decided to order from ebay for under $20.

http://cgi.ebay.ca/2700mAh-Battery-for- ... 414c7045d3

This one should work with 80GB/160GB. I will keep everyone updated once I receive it and test it out.
605x2,TV+,5x2
BunnyToes
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by BunnyToes »

I can plug an 8gb memory stick with movies on it into the minidock and it will stream the shows off of it, (unfortunately without bookmarking), but it never let me drag from stick to archos drive before...I will have to try that.

How would I connect it to computer using minidock?
swec
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1515
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:13 pm
Location: location

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by swec »

BunnyToes wrote:I can plug an 8gb memory stick with movies on it into the minidock and it will stream the shows off of it, (unfortunately without bookmarking), but it never let me drag from stick to archos drive before...I will have to try that.

How would I connect it to computer using minidock?


use a regular usb to mini-usb cable? like this?

Image
605x2,TV+,5x2
BunnyToes
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by BunnyToes »

Thankyou, I will try that...next time I close to a shop I will buy one. I thought that slot might have been an extra charge slot...ty for that! I will also try booting to a secondary harddrive that has XP on it, but I am not holding my breath. I read electric meters for a living, so always out in the boondocks for lunchbreak, and this device comes in very handy for filling deadtimes! :) Be in touch the day I try it.
SHADO
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1324
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:49 am
Location: Where No Man Has Gone Before: The Planet Phi-Epsilon Nudist Colony For Women

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by SHADO »

BunnyToes wrote:Thankyou, I will try that...next time I close to a shop I will buy one. I thought that slot might have been an extra charge slot...ty for that! I will also try booting to a secondary harddrive that has XP on it, but I am not holding my breath. I read electric meters for a living, so always out in the boondocks for lunchbreak, and this device comes in very handy for filling deadtimes! :) Be in touch the day I try it.


The minidock should have come with one. Even if it didn't, I'm surprised you don't have one lying around. Can't swing a dead cat at my place without hitting a spare usb cable, lol. But then again, I'm kinda into gadgets that happen to use them. :)
30GB 605WiFi (x2)/250GB A5 IMT
BunnyToes
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by BunnyToes »

I may have this wrong...but I was reffering tot he minidock as the little gray dock that came with the archos in the box. My bad if I am wrong. :)
SHADO
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1324
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:49 am
Location: Where No Man Has Gone Before: The Planet Phi-Epsilon Nudist Colony For Women

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by SHADO »

BunnyToes wrote:I may have this wrong...but I was reffering tot he minidock as the little gray dock that came with the archos in the box. My bad if I am wrong. :)


No, you're probably correct. As I just got my 605 a couple weeks ago (refurbed), my experience with it is limited. I was thinking of when I bought the minidock for my Archos 5. It came with the usb cable. But according to Amazon, the 605 minidock comes with a usb cable also.

In fact, I didn't even realize the 605 was available with the minidock. I had just assumed it could only be purchased as an accessory, and not available in the box with the 605.

Anyway, does it look similar to this?

Image
30GB 605WiFi (x2)/250GB A5 IMT
BunnyToes
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by BunnyToes »

Yepper, thats the one :)
swec
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1515
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:13 pm
Location: location

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by swec »

I just updated my first post. I confirmed the battery from this ebay seller works for both 80GB/160GB (duh, it's the same battery) for $19US SHIPPED. Look for 80GB 605 Battery from this seller and it works no problem.

It's also marked as 2700mah instead of original 2500mah. should get about 8% more juice in theory. :p It also comes with 3 months warranty.

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=280451483308&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT
Seller : http://stores.shop.ebay.ca/Total-Power-solution__W0QQ_armrsZ1


Here is the picture before I replece it.
Image
605x2,TV+,5x2
swec
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1515
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:13 pm
Location: location

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by swec »

Update for the new battery found on ebay.

After using the new battery for 2 weeks, I am pretty sure I can say it has a little smaller capacity than I can remember.

I am getting about close to 4 hours video on my 160GB which I kind of remember it was a little more. But other than that, it works good so far.
605x2,TV+,5x2
Spidey
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 12:52 am

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by Spidey »

I would second third and fourth...the "soldering it at the battery rather than the board" comment.

I melted the frame of the Archos with the tip of my solderin iron which was a big mother..not one of those litttle pen jobbbies....and even if I had a small one...I still would have melted it. I didn't quite understand what removing it at the battery meant..but I get it now. Seems way less risky going about it that way....and the wire lengths are already cut to the proper size so you don't have to worry about cutting down the wires that come with the new battery.
swec
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1515
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:13 pm
Location: location

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by swec »

I have noticed a strange behavior on the ebay battery....

When using a battery dock to charge it and when it reaches fully charges, it will start to blink the screen and restart it automatically over and over again....

I have restarted it and found it did the same. very strange. I will keep everyone updated if I find anything strange...
605x2,TV+,5x2
liliputman
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 7:17 pm

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by liliputman »

acemagic wrote:
Has anybody encountered this? I have an Archos 605 160gb and the battery needs to be replaced. I purchased one on ebay for roughly $25 incl shipping. When I received it, I quickly disassembled my Archos and to my surprise, the battery was too long. It is approx 1.5 cm too long and won't fit in the housing. It is the right thickness though. On the seller's page, it listed the battery would fit 80gb and 120gb. After reading only the 30 gb was different from the rest, I assumed this battery would fit in my unit. Is there a housing size difference between the 80gb and the 160 gb archos?


I just had this same problem. My archos is in pieces on my floor and lo and behold, the battery is 1.5 cm too big. I got it from
http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie ... K:MEWNX:IT

It plainly says in the ad that it fits the Archos 80GB. I have a feeling I just got humped, but I'd love to hear any suggestions!

-Acemagic


i got the same problem, it seems to be this specific battery.
I'm assuming the battery looks like this?

http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=32181&p=214725#p214725
vibesnrh
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 4:08 am

Re: Inside 80GB/160GB 605/Battery replacement

Post by vibesnrh »

I have a 605 30 gig, which appears to have easier access to the battery cables. Rather than soldering my replacement battery cables to the board, I cut the existing battery cables and spliced them together with the corresponding cables from the new battery. Now, when docked, the charge LED is on but the unit won't power up. Do I just need to wait a day or so for this thing to charge fully? Did I make a tragic mistake somewhere? Any thoughts?
Post Reply

Return to “605 WiFi”