Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Junior
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:42 am
Contact:

Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Junior »

As some of you know I have been selling replacement hard drives for the 605. I have sold a few on ebay and one from this site. I got many people on ebay asking if the hard drives I sold on ebay would work on the 604. I answered them that if they can give me the serial number then it would be possible. The problem is that the serial number on the outside of the hitachi drives doesnt match whats inside the firmware. And if the hard drive is completely broken then there would be no way to get that number and they would SOL. Well I sold a hard drive for a 605 wifi and the person emailed me a serial number from a hitachi. I looked at his serial number and other serial numbers of hitachis I know and with his help I was able to figure out how to get the serial number from a broken hitachi. So I know for sure that the hard drives can be replaced. My next step is upgrading beyond the 160gb. Now I just have to impatiently wait for the 250gb to get here in the mail. :)
Mr.X
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:52 pm

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Mr.X »

Very interesting.

Are you saying that it is now possible to upgrade my 604's hard drive to a larger one?

-Andy.
Junior
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Junior »

Sure can! All the way up to 320GB.

Image
Mr.X
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:52 pm

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Mr.X »

I see that you've pictured a 605. Do you know for sure that it can it be successfully done on a 604wifi?

If so, how do I do it? All I've read on the forum is that it's not possible because of the hard pairing of the hard drive to the player.
Mr.X
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:52 pm

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Mr.X »

It's a 1.8" drive in the 604wifi isn't it? What's the biggest 1.8" drive available?
alscott
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:27 am

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by alscott »

Hi junior and Mr.X, if it is possible to change the hard drive on the 604 wifi please leave details, as this would be grate. I currently have a working 604 wifi so presumably no probs finding the serial number.
Mr.X
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:52 pm

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Mr.X »

If he's really done it then he's done the impossible. His post is the ONLY post anywhere on the internet claiming that it can be done. I assume this is his ad:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Archos-605-WIFI-320 ... 32004r3694

Which claims that it will only work with 2.5" Archos drives, but claims that he can change out the 604 and 604 wifi which use 1.8" drives???? What gives??? Is this legit???
Junior
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Junior »

Mr.X wrote:If he's really done it then he's done the impossible. His post is the ONLY post anywhere on the internet claiming that it can be done. I assume this is his ad:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Archos-605-WIFI-320 ... 32004r3694

Which claims that it will only work with 2.5" Archos drives, but claims that he can change out the 604 and 604 wifi which use 1.8" drives???? What gives??? Is this legit???
I was looking at the message boards and I could have swore the 604 came with a 30gb and a 160gb. The 160gb was a 2.5 drive After And those I can upgrade without a problem. Having said that I can still upgrade the 604 with 1.8" drives all the way to 240gb max if you are willing to pay $300 plus for the drive. But your right, I will have to change the auction now. I cant find any info about a 604 with 160gb drive,.
Junior
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Junior »

Actually, im positive I saw saw a 30gb/160gb thing under the 604 forum. I remember thinking, "Why did they just got from 30gb to 160gb and nothing in between and whats the difference between a 604 and a 504 with a 160gb." Didnt make any sense to me. I figured it was just Archos trying to make more money by doing some silly crap like that. Those with a 604 are pretty lucky, actually. Most companies have stoped making the 1.8 drives and opting to go for ssd. I believe the 604 have toshiba's in them and they continue to make higher capacity 1.8". Now if they had samsung's in them it would have been a lot cheaper to upgrade. The price for a 160gb samsung is less than 100. I really am working on a solution though. It would be a lot easier if hard drives hdd manufacturers used the same code to make their stuff. :lol:
Mr.X
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:52 pm

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Mr.X »

Thanks for the reply, Junior.

Personally, I would LOVE an SSD as a replacement 1.8" in my Archos. Are they SATA or PATA drives? Is that even possible?

I've never heard of anything but a 30gig 604wifi.

-Andy.
Junior
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Junior »

Mr.X wrote:Thanks for the reply, Junior.

Personally, I would LOVE an SSD as a replacement 1.8" in my Archos. Are they SATA or PATA drives? Is that even possible?

I've never heard of anything but a 30gig 604wifi.

-Andy.


Their neither. They are actually a zif connection. I will probably be buying an archos with a 1.8 drive and do some testing on it. And there are is 30gb 604 without the wifi. Like I said I was looking at these boards to see what capacities were available and under the 604 section there was 30gb/160gb. I had thought I had seen them available on ebay before but obviously my memmory has gone to the crapper. :lol:
Echo383
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 2:20 pm

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Echo383 »

After some research I found that you can replace the 30 gig drive. You have to use the toshiba form factor drives, not the Hitachis. ZIF connectors are the difference between the two drives.
Mr.X
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:52 pm

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Mr.X »

That's good news!

Any chance of letting me in on the secret of how to set the serial number for the 604? I'd probably like to get the biggest 1.8" drive I can afford (ssd are too expensive) but I'm in Canada and the shipping would kill me. I'd like to do the upgrade myself. I have all the computer background necessary, just don't know the "secert code".

Thanks very much.

-Andy.
erne
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:08 pm

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by erne »

Hi guys , any good developement in the upgrading of the 604 Wifi?
Junior
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Junior »

Yeah, I have. I think I can upgrade to 80gb so far. I wont know for sure until I get my zif shipped in. I know it isnt much but its a start.
fsjon
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:36 pm

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by fsjon »

How about an upgrade for a 605 30gig to 60gig or even just a straight replacement? My hard drive died a while back and now it's just collecting dust. Please, can you help me or is there just no way for upgrade for the 605f (30gig).
ALooneyGuy
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:32 am

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by ALooneyGuy »

I think Junior is full of bologna. If there was a way to change the HD in these units, someone would have figured it out before now. I'm really not sure what he's trying to accomplish by posting a one-sentence claim on here and then disappearing for weeks or months only to reappear and post the same claim again.
Junior
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Junior »

ALooneyGuy wrote:I think Junior is full of bologna. If there was a way to change the HD in these units, someone would have figured it out before now. I'm really not sure what he's trying to accomplish by posting a one-sentence claim on here and then disappearing for weeks or months only to reappear and post the same claim again.

Well, you see, I think my father being in the icu for the past couple of months and then passing away is a bit more important than trying to please you.
swec
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1515
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:13 pm
Location: location

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by swec »

ALooneyGuy wrote:I think Junior is full of bologna. If there was a way to change the HD in these units, someone would have figured it out before now. I'm really not sure what he's trying to accomplish by posting a one-sentence claim on here and then disappearing for weeks or months only to reappear and post the same claim again.


Not sure why you would say that. He was the only one up until now found out the serial # is the key. He was willing to share it with us and tell us what to do if we have money for the equipment.

I had a drive done by Juinor and works great in my dead 605 no problem.

Junior, sorry to hear your lost. I was wondering where you have been recently. You have my sympathy to the family.
605x2,TV+,5x2
Junior
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: Hard drive replacement and possible upgrade.

Post by Junior »

ecsw wrote:
ALooneyGuy wrote:I think Junior is full of bologna. If there was a way to change the HD in these units, someone would have figured it out before now. I'm really not sure what he's trying to accomplish by posting a one-sentence claim on here and then disappearing for weeks or months only to reappear and post the same claim again.


Not sure why you would say that. He was the only one up until now found out the serial # is the key. He was willing to share it with us and tell us what to do if we have money for the equipment.

I had a drive done by Juinor and works great in my dead 605 no problem.

Junior, sorry to hear your lost. I was wondering where you have been recently. You have my sympathy to the family.
Thanks, E. Its been a rough few months for everyone but it was nothing compared to what he was going through. My dad hated doctors and hospitals all his life. To end up like that towards the end...At least he is at peace now.
Post Reply

Return to “604 WiFi”