Firmware Update Wishlist

tenio
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:28 pm

yet more wishlist stuff/e-mail access etc.

Post by tenio »

I want to be able to map out my buttons, like having the power button be the okay button

I use the included leather case and sometimes i just want to stop the music for a second or 2,

I have to take out my archos, and unlock it and press the pause button

being able to assign keys would allow you to use them to your personal use
directos
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 8:19 pm

Post by directos »

not sure it it works already, but would love to read my YAHOO mail online version.
Andy W
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 782
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:54 am
Location: UK

Post by Andy W »

you can access (AOL and) BT-Yahoo webmail by using mail2web. Just Google it (or type www.mail2web.com) and add it to your 604wifi as a favourite and the rest should be pretty straightforward!!! 8)

Before I knew this I could only use my hotmail account directly on my 604wifi (which you can't easily access with mail2web for a reason I forget). Hope this helps!!
Andy W
directos
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 8:19 pm

Post by directos »

I was talking about accessing yahoo mail online, with their great web interface that works like a piece of software.

Andy W wrote:you can access (AOL and) BT-Yahoo webmail by using mail2web. Just Google it (or type www.mail2web.com) and add it to your 604wifi as a favourite and the rest should be pretty straightforward!!! 8)

Before I knew this I could only use my hotmail account directly on my 604wifi (which you can't easily access with mail2web for a reason I forget). Hope this helps!!
Andy W
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 782
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:54 am
Location: UK

Post by Andy W »

Sorry, missunderstood you original post. Don't use it but I guess it probably uses Flash etc...... and we know all about that wish......
Andy W
F1GHT0RFL1GHT
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 1:11 am
Location: NEW YORK

Post by F1GHT0RFL1GHT »

All I would need is
VOIP support
flash/java support

I think that then I could die a happy 604 wifi owner.
hansiman
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 2:28 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hansiman »

I would already be happy with just flash/java support ..

Isn't there any way to recompile the os yourself and put in the flash plugin for linux that is on the adobe flash player site ?

I mailed Archos on this matter many times, never got an answer, it's just such a shame, 604 wifi is a brilliant device, excellent video nd audio, even wifi web browsing but no flash/java support ? I just can't wait to start watching youtube on my 604wifi.
davierosoft
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 11:05 pm
Location: Italy

Post by davierosoft »

I hope Archos will insert in next releases of gen 4 products a TAG editor for MP3s, will help to correct/add id3 tag to mp3s, also I hope they will consider the other things you said in this topic like flash/java support, a better video preview mode with an icon that let us browse the other folders without changing mode of view, more video options like brigtness, color and so on..., support of GIF files in the photo viewer, if OPERA can open them photo editor must do! More file formats supported, someting similar to the multitasking that let you browse menus or files while reproducing mp3s (is now too limited to the photo editor), more options to the video section, an option to browse hard disk can be inserted when playing videos without stopping it, and a queue function similar to MP3s for videos.
Oh yes... I forgot... A button to jump to the next video.
JeZii
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Finland

Post by JeZii »

I'd rather mention some realistic upgrade ideas for Gen 4 - there won't be any revolutionary upgrades for the Gen 4, that's for sure (unless Archos released their full source code)...

On music mode, there are two touch buttons, above and below the track info box. It'd be more logical if pressing the "previous track button" would always make the player jump to that song instead of starting the current track over (if it has been playing at least for a few seconds).

A minor change, but I'm not expecting really anything more... :roll: Let's hope I'm wrong though. ;)
bilalk
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Firmware Update Wishlist

Post by bilalk »

honeymonkey wrote:Please give Archos an Idea what they could do to improve the Archos WIFI. without changing the hardware (software only)

Some of the things I wish they would add are below :

-Sleep function and alarm clock support
-Option to auto Resume on restart
-Flash and Java support
-active hotspot searching (signal meter updates also)
-of course some kind of calendar/dayplanner
-voip plugin
-The ability to "see" folders when you select "video" Its a pain to have to use the file browser to get there
-Option for an automatic connection in hard disk mode when you connect the 604 with the computer via usb
-Fix the battery status display to reflect a more true reading and warn the user of a low battery condition.
-The ability to "bookmark" network folders


Umm lol for the video folder thing.. i thought the same as you.. but if you press the 2 arrow buttons beside the menu button when you open Videos... it will switch to browser view.. though i'd rather prefer it the good old AV 400 way.
bilalk
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: Canada

Post by bilalk »

Oh yeah, and i just updated to 1.6.21... the second newest firmware.. DONT GO HIGHERR.. its not downgradable.. as stated on the archos site.. anyways, i now.. cannot pause videos by tapping the screen.. !!! THIS SUCKS !...archos do something about it.
archo-freake
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 1:01 am

Post by archo-freake »

i only want one thing.,....for them to stop mooching linux and give us a way to edit the source
pyro139
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 1:21 am

Post by pyro139 »

a full linux distro a compact live linux would surfice
marvins_dad
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:06 am
Location: Dallas, Texas
Contact:

Post by marvins_dad »

Ability to download from a Dish DVR...like they are just now releasing for the 5th gen line...

http://www.engadget.com/2007/12/18/arch ... transfers/
ksaravanakumar
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:06 pm

Post by ksaravanakumar »

Let me Stick to it's Multimedia functionalities ... I'm don't think people should expect a computer or an organizer from a Media Player.

I really do not know if Archos is ever going to release any new versions of firmware for the Archos 604 !!

1. A button to go to Next Song/Video. Come on We have 10 buttons and a whole touch screen, still we do not have a way to skip the currently playing video and go to the next video by a single click.
2. A Button to Pause !!
3. A Better Media player software !! Though it gives basic functionality, with the screen size we have, Archos could really design a very good GUI for the Media Player.
4. The ID3 Tag editor
Post Reply

Return to “604 WiFi”