Lenovo 10.1 Quadcore 1.6Ghz 2 Gb RAM versus Archos

Info and analysis of Archos competitors
Post Reply
T.A Blet
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 5:49 pm

Lenovo 10.1 Quadcore 1.6Ghz 2 Gb RAM versus Archos

Post by T.A Blet »

Lenovo will probably be the first to offer a 10 inch quadcore 1.6 Ghz tablet with 2 Gb RAM and ICS before the Christmas holidays.
I have no experience with Lenovo.
How is their (Lenovo) quality compared to Archos.

http://www.engadget.com/2011/11/14/excl ... wich-tabl/
tuxor
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:48 pm

Re: Lenovo 10.1 Quadcore 1.6Ghz 2 Gb RAM versus Archos

Post by tuxor »

Let's guess what's the next comment by Archos (or maybe by Charbax?):

"2GB RAM? Lenovo is so dumb. They don't know, that nobody needs more than 512 MB of RAM."
Harfainx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Location: Nomad

Re: Lenovo 10.1 Quadcore 1.6Ghz 2 Gb RAM versus Archos

Post by Harfainx »

Actually the next comment will be me saying:

"Holy cow, that's pretty impressive. I bet it will be over $650 in the US though, so I'll probably pass. That RAM is extremely impressive, and things will be able to take advantage of extra RAM, but ICS handles RAM better than any other previous Android version, so 512MB is sufficient, but that doesn't mean that more won't help out, especially on high-end games. However, that RAM will come with a massive price-point."

That work for you Tux, or you plan on trolling some more?
Greg_e
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 2:06 am

Re: Lenovo 10.1 Quadcore 1.6Ghz 2 Gb RAM versus Archos

Post by Greg_e »

I bet you are pretty close on the price, but I bet it runs Windows 8 pretty well with those specs.

I'll be interested to see what they claim for normal battery performance, quad cores must eat power at nearly double what a dual core processor uses, and extra RAM means extra power too. I know they are making processor more and more efficient, but there must be some extra power consumption with 4 cores. I hope they don't cheap out on the GPU.
FZelle
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:07 pm

Re: Lenovo 10.1 Quadcore 1.6Ghz 2 Gb RAM versus Archos

Post by FZelle »

It seems you haven't read anything about the Tegra 3!

It has 4 A9 Cores with 1.2 - 2.0 GHz ( 2.0 not avail yet) , but because it is produced in 32nm it uses as much energy as the former Tegra2.
BUT it comes with a 5th A9 500MHz core that steps in when the power is not needed, for ex when just reading email or watching Video ( as that is done by the GPU ).
And that core uses alot less then now.
Greg_e
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 2:06 am

Re: Lenovo 10.1 Quadcore 1.6Ghz 2 Gb RAM versus Archos

Post by Greg_e »

No I have not read anything about the T3 processor.
Post Reply

Return to “Competitors”