Archos platinum hardware info

Allwinner A31 quad-core ARM Cortex-A7 based.
Post Reply
padulo
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:52 pm

Archos platinum hardware info

Post by padulo »

Hi,
i want to buy this new Archos tablet, but i need to know if there are these features:

-GPS embedded
-3g module embedded (or can be plugged with 3g archos usb stick)
-IPS display
-usb connection (to connect pc)
-micro sd card reader
-android 4.x

If not, is there an archos tablet that has all these requirements?
Thanks
ArchosGamer
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:34 am

Re: Archos platinum hardware info

Post by ArchosGamer »

padulo wrote:Hi,
i want to buy this new Archos tablet, but i need to know if there are these features:

-GPS embedded
-3g module embedded (or can be plugged with 3g archos usb stick)
-IPS display
-usb connection (to connect pc)
-micro sd card reader
-android 4.x

If not, is there an archos tablet that has all these requirements?
Thanks
You can find the specs here:
http://www.archos.com/products/elements ... lang=en&#a

http://www.archos.com/products/elements ... lang=en&#a

The Platinum series does have IPS display, Micro USB 2.0 (yes, it can connect to your computer), a MicroSD slot, and Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean). Its not a phone, so it has no 3g nor GPS in and of itself (it comes with WiFi support). You can link it to your phone, or a standalone GPS device to use those features.
broken Archos70
Titanium 80 comming
padulo
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:52 pm

Re: Archos platinum hardware info

Post by padulo »

No gps and 3g... what a pity!
Are there Archos tablets with gps, 3g (or 3g stick reader) and Android 4.x?
paulus3476
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1206
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:03 pm
Location: Lincs,UK

Re: Archos platinum hardware info

Post by paulus3476 »

If you want to make a backward step, the gen 9 devices had 3g support - the gen 10 devices are far superior though and for the sake of 3g, which is easily overcome with mifi or even wifi or bt tethering to your phone - and maybe 3g support will be added by firmware update, it's only a case of adding drivers for the popular makes of dongle, the higher end devices have embedded gps chips, and they seam to work well enough.
ArchosGamer
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:34 am

Re: Archos platinum hardware info

Post by ArchosGamer »

padulo wrote:No gps and 3g... what a pity!
Are there Archos tablets with gps, 3g (or 3g stick reader) and Android 4.x?
The XS's have GPS and come with Android 4.0/4.1. Like paulus said if you want 3g you should consider tethering it to a phone. If you go looking for a straight 3g tablet you'll be limited to what your cell carrier offers, and you'll be paying an obnoxious monthly fee.
broken Archos70
Titanium 80 comming
padulo
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:52 pm

Re: Archos platinum hardware info

Post by padulo »

ArchosGamer wrote:
padulo wrote:No gps and 3g... what a pity!
Are there Archos tablets with gps, 3g (or 3g stick reader) and Android 4.x?
The XS's have GPS and come with Android 4.0/4.1. Like paulus said if you want 3g you should consider tethering it to a phone. If you go looking for a straight 3g tablet you'll be limited to what your cell carrier offers, and you'll be paying an obnoxious monthly fee.
Ok...i have to forget straight 3g.
Thank you guys!
Post Reply

Return to “Archos Platinum”