AV380 Not Charging.

Old generations (2002, 2003, 2004)
Post Reply
smegs
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:05 pm
Location: Midlands, England, UK.

AV380 Not Charging.

Post by smegs »

Hello.

The AV380 turns on, H/Drive works.

But when plugged into a power point, it will not charge. I've taken it apart, checked for power at the back of where the DC goes, there is power there. But when I attach a vault meter to the battery terminals on the main board, nothing. :? :? :?

I have charged the battery through other means, so it's not the battery.

Thanks for any info on this.
605 160Gb & 80Gb
roylovelock
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3334
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Location: essex uk
Contact:

Re: AV380 Not Charging.

Post by roylovelock »

common fault, if you trace the +ve on the mainboard (centre pin) you will come accross an surface mounted fuse, these have a habit of blowing. i bridged mine with solder as i thought that it wasnt really needed - it only really protects the battery and that should take any peaks in power easily especially as its only being supplied by a regulated transformer.
ive got some pics somewhere highlighing the fuse if you cannot find it, pm me as i dont often check this room
roy
COYI
smegs
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:05 pm
Location: Midlands, England, UK.

Re: AV380 Not Charging.

Post by smegs »

Hello Roy,

Thanks for the reply, I will have another look. I can't remember seeing a fuse, but I will look again.

Thank you.

Shaun.
605 160Gb & 80Gb
smegs
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:05 pm
Location: Midlands, England, UK.

Re: AV380 Not Charging.

Post by smegs »

Roy,

I have the 380 open infront of me, looking at it from the hard drive side. I can't see any fuse. Would I have to go from the screen side of the main board?

Thanks.
605 160Gb & 80Gb
smegs
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:05 pm
Location: Midlands, England, UK.

Re: AV380 Not Charging.

Post by smegs »

Hello Roy.

Thanks matey, I've found it. It's WHITE, about 3mm long. I'm saying this, as I have attached something to the 2 sides of this white thing, and the battery started to CHARGE.

Thank you so much. =D> =D> =D> ;)
605 160Gb & 80Gb
ctromp
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 8:36 pm

Re: AV380 Not Charging.

Post by ctromp »

Please help. I need to know where the fuse is located. Pictures? I have the back off and hard drive removed.
roylovelock
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3334
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Location: essex uk
Contact:

Re: AV380 Not Charging.

Post by roylovelock »

just follow the pin in the middle of the power input until you come to a white surface mounted fuse, that is the baby, just bridge it and the machine will start to work again.
roy
COYI
Post Reply

Return to “AV400, AV300, AV100 and JBMM”