What hard drives are in your AV series Archos.

Old generations (2002, 2003, 2004)
Post Reply
Junior
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:42 am
Contact:

What hard drives are in your AV series Archos.

Post by Junior »

If anyone could tell me what hard drives came with your stock AV series. Make and model would be great. And if anyone know if there is a write up on how to disassemble these units. I would appreciate the link.
roylovelock
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3334
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Location: essex uk
Contact:

Re: What hard drives are in your AV series Archos.

Post by roylovelock »

the av300 is dead easy to replace the hard drives. rule of thumb though.
get a 5600rpm MAX speed (there abouts) not the 7000rpm as they make the players walk though vibration, an 8mb or 16mb cache drive (or bigger) can save battery life as well!!.
i think the original hard drive was a hitachi - ive never had any joy with those drives - always failed just past warrenty for some reason......
a pata (small laptop size ide) drive is the one you want not an sata.
here is a walkthu someone else put up years back
http://www.dvrplayground.com/gallery/16 ... by-Glenn-L.
roy
COYI
Post Reply

Return to “AV400, AV300, AV100 and JBMM”