Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:46 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:31 pm
Posts: 2
I bought a standard 80 G9 tablet last year which I accidentally dropped cracking the screen. It was cheaper to replace it with the Turbo model (16gig but with the older 1.2ghz CPUs) than repair it. I got it new on Amazon for $139 and it would have cost $250 to repair the old unit.

On vacation I noticed I could not get WiFi in any of the motel rooms... I'd have to go out to the parking lots to get any signal. Back home I compared the WiFi reception to my older model... and even 5' from the router... I can't get a full strength signal. The older model can pick up about 10 networks in my neighborhood... the new tablet just picks up mine.

The unit is fully updated and Archos has agreed to replace the unit... but just wondering if anyone else ever had this problem or if there is some fix?

Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:09 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:05 am
Posts: 242
Location: U.S.A.
From what I've seen from other places on the Internet...

Archos tends to have a large amount of problems with very poor assembly. Photos of the internals I've seen show horribly bad solder connections. Others show antenna cables wrongly positioned so that they got so tightly crimped down that they shorted out within the cable.

Also, may report having to send back a device 2 or 3 times before they get a working one back.

In short, if you get ANYTHING from Archos that actually works at all you are very lucky.

_________________
Archos 101 G9 8G classic (512M RAM)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 6:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 6:42 pm
Posts: 4
must indeed be a physical problem, because mine is working just brilliant, can notice any remarkable difference with my girlfriends Samsung....


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 6:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 153
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
I had a replacement from Archos just last month, brand new, and the WiFi was unusable.

_________________
Archos 80 G9
Samsung Galaxy Note


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 1:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 2:08 pm
Posts: 2
Can it be repaired? maybe someone can recommend a place that can do the job.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 12:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:59 pm
Posts: 513
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Bought my g9 80, a few years ago. Never had an issue with wifi so can't really help except to say it must be an issue with either your particular tablet or router. My tablet has been brilliant and wifi available from downstairs and several walls away from the linksys e4200 router never fails. Getting the kids to stop hogging the bandwidth is another story.......

My particular example (16gb g9, 80) has been brilliant for the last 2.5 years.....


Andrew

_________________
Andrew
500gb a5a
G9 80 16gb 4.0.28


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited