Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:48 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:31 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 4:43 pm
Posts: 31
I am looking around for a new background and figured you guys and gals would be the best to ask.

So show me what you gotz!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 3:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:44 pm
Posts: 37
I highly recommend http://www.deviantart.com/ for beautiful backgrounds.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 5:39 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 12:12 am
Posts: 943
Location: 40.62 (40┬░37') | -74.04 (-74┬░2')
I get backgrounds from deviant art for everything. They have skins for AIM, even iTns skins for multiplugin.

_________________
:-({|=


Top
   
 Post subject: Wallpapers
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:18 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 11:40 am
Posts: 84
Location: Switzerland
I use mostly the wallpapers from mandolux: http://www.mandolux.com/ some are really bad for backgrounds, but there are very very good ones (especially if you have two monitors on your pc - but also work on my a605.)

Currently, I am using this as a wallpaper:
www.mandolux.com/archive/2006/0129.html

G.

Edit: URLs did not work


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:04 pm
Posts: 40
Here are some backgrounds formatted for the 605 on a different forum:
http://www.jbmm.fr/forum/index.php?showtopic=14662


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 3:19 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:46 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Netherlands - 605 owner
Sorry this is a little bit off topic.

In order to be able to improve the viewing of some badly shot images, I set the image as a wallpaper and then go to the Archos home-screen>Settings>Display>Brightness/contrast (that's the only way to see how the tweaking of the brightness/contrast settings is affecting the display appearance of the image in real-time since u'll have the image in the background that way instead of the default water-drop wallpaper), I ended up now with many (bad) images unintentially among my wallpaper selection, how can I remove them from the selection? Even deleting the orginal image didn't work, it seems like everytime u set an image as a wallpaper it is saved in a special wallpaper folder which I haven't been able to locate so far. If it were a PC, u would find that in the Windows folder (C:\WINDOWS\Web\Wallpaper) but I can't find any equivalent in Archos (neither to WINDOWS nor to Wallpaper).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 3:43 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
You may have to connect your ARCHOS to your PC as I believe they are in the SYSTEM folder if they are not in the PICTURES folder.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 5:19 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:46 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Netherlands - 605 owner
CBers wrote:
You may have to connect your ARCHOS to your PC as I believe they are in the SYSTEM folder if they are not in the PICTURES folder.

I don't see any system folder in my 605, there is an empty DATA folder, an empty DOWNLOADS folder, an INFO folder (includes pdf manuals in many languages), apart from that the usual media folders (VIDEO, MUSIC, PICTURES, PLAYLISTS, EPG). And that's it, is that normal?!!! :?


Top
   
 Post subject: System Folder
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 5:49 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 11:40 am
Posts: 84
Location: Switzerland
I can only imagine that the System Folder does not show up when connected in "Media Mode". Try setting your USB connection mode to "Harddisk" or whatever that is called in the System Settings.

The Wallpapers are stored in the System Folder for sure. You can even rename them (I noticed that if you take a screenshot in a movie the image name gets very long indeed - and I don't like wallpaper names such as IMG_5555 or IMG_1234 etc...)

G.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 5:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:24 pm
Posts: 289
Location: Cardiff, UK
That Beach one is all mine! Better than the Rain that came with this thing!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: System Folder
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 6:25 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:46 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Netherlands - 605 owner
Fuse314 wrote:
I can only imagine that the System Folder does not show up when connected in "Media Mode". Try setting your USB connection mode to "Harddisk" or whatever that is called in the System Settings.


Thanks a lot, I had tried "HDD Mode" before but for some reason it has only worked now after u told me.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:56 pm
Posts: 223
Image

currently using this, makes the home dock area look pretty sweet

btw, it's a mix between the xp media centre background and the mac osx background :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:58 am
Posts: 40
Well, this answers my question. The 605 does have a customizable background.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 8:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:24 pm
Posts: 289
Location: Cardiff, UK
fusen wrote:
Image

currently using this, makes the home dock area look pretty sweet

btw, it's a mix between the xp media centre background and the mac osx background :)


That's awesome! It's now my background!

_________________
On My 605!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: System Folder
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 1:45 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 1:36 am
Posts: 22
Fuse314 wrote:
I can only imagine that the System Folder does not show up when connected in "Media Mode". Try setting your USB connection mode to "Harddisk" or whatever that is called in the System Settings.

The Wallpapers are stored in the System Folder for sure. You can even rename them (I noticed that if you take a screenshot in a movie the image name gets very long indeed - and I don't like wallpaper names such as IMG_5555 or IMG_1234 etc...)

G.
Thanks....I thought I had to live forever with all those test wallpapers that I couldn't delete from the player.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 1:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 8:15 am
Posts: 318
Location: Spain
In my A504 I had this background:

Image

The tribal dragon in the middle is a tattoo i have in my left forearm :)


Top
   
 Post subject: hi
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:20 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 5:30 pm
Posts: 103
PixelMinded wrote:
Sorry this is a little bit off topic.

In order to be able to improve the viewing of some badly shot images, I set the image as a wallpaper and then go to the Archos home-screen>Settings>Display>Brightness/contrast (that's the only way to see how the tweaking of the brightness/contrast settings is affecting the display appearance of the image in real-time since u'll have the image in the background that way instead of the default water-drop wallpaper), I ended up now with many (bad) images unintentially among my wallpaper selection, how can I remove them from the selection? Even deleting the orginal image didn't work, it seems like everytime u set an image as a wallpaper it is saved in a special wallpaper folder which I haven't been able to locate so far. If it were a PC, u would find that in the Windows folder (C:\WINDOWS\Web\Wallpaper) but I can't find any equivalent in Archos (neither to WINDOWS nor to Wallpaper).


same here


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited