Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:36 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:46 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:06 am
Posts: 12
Hi Mal!

I want to clarify my reply to your email. I reread it and may not have responded correctly. Savepart runs. However, when I select image.par I get the "size" error.

Thanks!

Nick


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 9:52 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:34 pm
Posts: 207
ngk wrote:
Hi Mal!

I want to clarify my reply to your email. I reread it and may not have responded correctly. Savepart runs. However, when I select image.par I get the "size" error.

Thanks!

Nick

image.par should be 2,146,435,072 bytes.

Are you sure everything is in the same directory?

HTH
Mal


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:06 am
Posts: 12
Hi Mal!

I checked the file size and it is much smaller then the size you sent in your email. I'm using another computer to repeat the download process. Frankly, I have downloaded the files several times and apparently without a "complete" download of the files even though each file took over 1 hour to download. Once I've completed the download of the image.par file I will check its size. Could you send me the size for each of the other files so that I can confirm they are correct after I download each of them?

Thanks!

Nick


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:15 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:34 pm
Posts: 207
ngk wrote:
Hi Mal!

I checked the file size and it is much smaller then the size you sent in your email. I'm using another computer to repeat the download process. Frankly, I have downloaded the files several times and apparently without a "complete" download of the files even though each file took over 1 hour to download. Once I've completed the download of the image.par file I will check its size. Could you send me the size for each of the other files so that I can confirm they are correct after I download each of them?

Thanks!

Nick


Par, p01, p02, p03 should all be the same size ... p04 is 43,257,723 bytes


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:06 am
Posts: 12
Thanks Mal!

I was downloading the files via Chrome download. It apparently has a problem with large files. I installed IE9 and I'm downloading image.par now. It is a 5 plus hour download! I'll check the file size when the download is complete. If it is I will continue with the next download. This will certainly take a while!

Thanks!

Nick


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:32 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:06 am
Posts: 12
Hi Mal!

I was successful in downloading all the image files through IE9. Went well, but took some time to do. Apparently, Google Chrome has issues with downloading large files.

Bottom line is that the "clean" install worked very well and I appreciate all your help and also the help of Vresu in obtaining the image files, procedure, etc.

Again MANY thanks!

Nick :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:22 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:03 am
Posts: 1
Hi, My archos 9 have a virus and is now running very slow, after efforts to remove the virus and other restore points I have decided to restore this to factory settings.

I followed the trend posted, i.e downloaded the images, win32diskimager, spartbdk-win, savepart. Connected the archos to the port replicator and keyboard. But when I boot the usb (virtual floppy dos boot) only the message ÔÇ£freedosÔÇØ appear. No ÔÇ£A:ÔÇØ prompt and the keyboard does not function, tried removing the keyboard, the same thing, only ÔÇ£freedosÔÇØ appear then it hangs.

I hope somebody can help me.

Thanks a lot


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 2:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:29 pm
Posts: 3
I downloaded everythin.
I want to use WinXP.
Can some onr tell me how to use the GHO file.
Ghost says its corrupted...

Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 2:04 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 2:00 am
Posts: 1
I followed vresu's post exactly on my Archos 9 and it worked Flawlessly! However, when I go to input the CD key from the back of the device, it now says 'Illegal Key'. Anybody else get this and resolved it?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 3:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 1:21 am
Posts: 40
Question are these back ups the xp version or the win 7 starter?
My 9 is win 7 I tired different os's and forgot make back up and deleted restore partition.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 7:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 7:44 pm
Posts: 2
Hello,

I've been following the steps in the forum for about 2 days now, have downloaded the files several times once using Chrome and again using IE and both file sets were the same size. I am using 2 usb drives attached to a Keyboard hub. I can get into savepart, I mount the C:Kingston drive which is 16gb and has my Image files on it. It mounts to Drive 0 and then when I click on Image.Par - I get the message "No element agrees with sources. What do you want to do?" The options are "Select a support to see why it is not displayed" or "Try with another source". I previously tried a 250gb Seagate external hard drive with the image files but the archos would not recognize it unless it was the only thing plugged into the tablet.

If anyone could help it would be appreciated. I'm ready to burn this thing and claim it was stolen from my car! LOL...kidding, but I am very frustrated.

Thanks :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 10:39 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 1:21 am
Posts: 40
If you don't have port replicator, boot disks load to ram disk so drive can be removed once machine boots to dos
Then when need type blug keyboard but don't hit enter, plug in appropriate drive and hit left click when not in windows
It acts as enter. I don't have a port replicator and I have loaded os' several times this way


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 3:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 7:44 pm
Posts: 2
So I got a port replicator and I still get an error. The error says Incompatibility information - This support is smaller than smallest size allowed for restoring this backup. I don't get it, I'm using a 16gb kingston flash drive, there is still 7 gb free space on the flash.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:41 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:33 am
Posts: 1
Hello

i have the same issue. I bought a archos second hand and now i would like to bring the tablet back to factory settings. Yesterday i started to download the files from the ftp but this morning i wasn't able to connect to the ftp.
Can someone provide me the files?


Thanks,
Elvis


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:56 pm
Posts: 19
UPDATE:

Guys, I will no longer be able to host the recovery image. I am helping another forum host something for them. I will be taking the files offline in a month from now (Sep 1st 2011). Please download the files and backup for future users.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 1:12 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:47 am
Posts: 1
Hi Guys,

Many thanks for hosting the files.
I bought an archos 9 which was not booting into windows, there was no restore point on the d: drive so looked for a solution.

Having found this post i have downloaded all of the files but i am having difficulty getting everything to work.
I am having a similar error message that mal described.

I have made the freedos usb drive which also has savepart on it, a powered usb hdd which has all of the image files, a usb keyboard and a 4 port usb hub.
These are the stages that i am doing.

-usb hub is plugged into archos 9
-usb flash, hdd and keyboard plugged into hub
-boot into freedos from usb flash drive using option "0", (option "1" hangs on "scanning usb drives")
-run savepart from usb flash drive
-choose "restore an element"
-mount hdd containing images
-select "image.par"
-select archos drive as destination and confirm choice

savepart then runs for about 2 minutes and gets to about 25% of image.par then stops and gives the following error message:

"you MUST format the partition that you were writing
error when inflating data:
invalid distance code
@afficherArbreAppel: 8d290
Call tree:
0008d5fe 00004ca5 000a4aa7 000a430d 00003608 00004740"

and flashes "a:\>_" again

i have tried
-redownloading the images
-doing the whole process without the usb hub (switching the devices around the one port)
-using a ntfs flash drive to hold the image files instead f external hdd

Please does anyone have any idea why it is not completing successfully?, Mal you described a similar problem when you were doing this, how did you go about solving it please.

Thanks in advance, any help will be greatly appreciated,

Rich


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:55 pm
Posts: 2
Hi!
I have an Archos 9 (HDD) with no OS and I need a factory image for this device. Would somebody upload it somewhere else? The old links are not current.
e-mail: broc[at]pisem.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 5:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 5:26 pm
Posts: 1
neky wrote:
Hi!
I have an Archos 9 (HDD) with no OS and I need a factory image for this device. Would somebody upload it somewhere else? The old links are not current.
e-mail: broc[at]pisem.net



I really need this as well. Anyone able to provide the image?

Thanks,


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:55 pm
Posts: 2
http://www.archoslounge.net/forum/showt ... 919&page=9


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited