Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:09 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 106 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 11:08 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:23 pm
Posts: 71
Hi guys

After a long long time... (busy time, my Archos 605 broken, ...)

We went back to active dev for next openPMA-NG :)

here is a screenshot of what will probably come in near future... probably some weeks...

Image

We have yet bunch of stuff to do, touchscreen support, seamless integration with avos... but this is promising...

openPMA-NG will be based on pdaXrom 2.0 so we will add support for most known applications (firefox, abiword, ...)

of course FTG exploit will be required (so Archos firmware <= 1.7.13)

Thx to sashz and the pdaXrom team.. thx to openPMA team...

so stay tuned... more infos will come... and be patient...

BuBU

_________________
openPMA Team


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 11:16 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:56 pm
Posts: 36
any way you can hack into the latest firmware?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 11:26 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 2:34 am
Posts: 77
Looks Nice! 8) can't wait


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 11:26 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:21 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Canuckistan
Thanks for the update Bubu, can't wait to play with the new release when it comes out.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 11:52 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 10:37 pm
Posts: 66
Location: US & A
Alright! Great Job and thanks for continuing to work on the project!
I might be able to help with some programming over the summer...I'm an engineering major and we had to learn C, Java, etc...
I'm glad I didn't upgrade!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 1:36 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 99
WOW! gimp on the archos! this will be amazing!!!!
great work!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 1:38 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 99
Senatorpride33 wrote:
any way you can hack into the latest firmware?

not lookin good for ya :(
*edit*
actually, maybe
http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?t=14544
:)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 2:30 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:12 am
Posts: 397
Oh sweet!

is there any way i can help?

i know a decent amount programming (C++ and java), linux, etc.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 2:31 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:12 am
Posts: 397
Oh sweet!

is there any way i can help?

i know a decent amount of programming (C++ and java), linux, etc.

I can also write documentation decently.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 3:33 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:51 pm
Posts: 53
Good stuff! Looking forward to it! :D

Flash 9? Who cares? :p


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 4:23 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:33 pm
Posts: 440
Right after I upgrade! Ahhh!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 5:14 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 6:18 am
Posts: 167
great to here about openPMA-NG from bubu after all this flash9 update news from archos.i am sure people would repent for upgrading.just cant wait to go for it. thanks for the update bubu.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 6:49 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:55 am
Posts: 6
Any way to hack in a "Standby" feature for the 604 users who don't have Standby and must have access to a network everytime they want to use openPMA? :p


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 7:08 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 6:18 am
Posts: 167
bubu wrote:
Hi guys

After a long long time... (busy time, my Archos 605 broken, ...)

We went back to active dev for next openPMA-NG :)

here is a screenshot of what will probably come in near future... probably some weeks...

Image

We have yet bunch of stuff to do, touchscreen support, seamless integration with avos... but this is promising...

openPMA-NG will be based on pdaXrom 2.0 so we will add support for most known applications (firefox, abiword, ...)

of course FTG exploit will be required (so Archos firmware <= 1.7.13)

Thx to sashz and the pdaXrom team.. thx to openPMA team...

so stay tuned... more infos will come... and be patient...

BuBU


will it be possible this time to access the openPMA-NG with out the wifi connection?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 12:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:52 pm
Posts: 48
suraj wrote:

will it be possible this time to access the openPMA-NG with out the wifi connection?


Hi Suraj,
Bubu says " FTG exploit will be required". I'm sure that's a typo, and he meant the GFT exploit (http://code.google.com/p/arcwelder/). This exploit requires wifi, so it doesn't look like you'll be in luck..

But I was wondering about laptop owners being able to use an ad-hoc connection to run the exploit? Has anyone tried that?

This would allow you use a laptop to run openPMA-NG, instead of requiring you to find a wifi network (may not help you much, but might help others)

[edit] This news from Bubu is so encouraging that i'm considering buying a backup 605. Do archos realise that this could actually boost sales significantly[/edit]


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 12:57 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:23 pm
Posts: 60
yeah!!! thanks a lot... nice it's like a uber cool Linux UMPC now... wow got FF too ... this is too good to be true... but so was the 605 when i saw it... :)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 1:22 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:23 pm
Posts: 60
bubu wrote:
openPMA-NG will be based on pdaXrom 2.0 so we will add support for most known applications (firefox, abiword, ...)


so that means almost this is a new distro altogether not any Qtopia upgrade right? does that mean any *Linux* app would work on it... this is sweeeeeeeeet


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 1:57 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:23 pm
Posts: 71
pt1989 wrote:
bubu wrote:
openPMA-NG will be based on pdaXrom 2.0 so we will add support for most known applications (firefox, abiword, ...)


so that means almost this is a new distro altogether not any Qtopia upgrade right? does that mean any *Linux* app would work on it... this is sweeeeeeeeet


yes no more qtopia stuff as it is borring me... not a lot of support... but for people who will still interested into qtopia there will be qtopia-core on top of Xorg (xorg 1.4.0 version)... also support for SDL already compiled in (not tested yet...)..

we will have Davinci DSP support (thx to sashz)... and more exciting stuff.. :), probably flash 9 support as well... fennec...

but as I said this will take time... just be patient... meanwhile go and buy new Archos stuff if you have already upgraded to newer firmware :)

_________________
openPMA Team


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 1:57 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:21 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Canuckistan
pwright8 wrote:
But I was wondering about laptop owners being able to use an ad-hoc connection to run the exploit? Has anyone tried that?

This would allow you use a laptop to run openPMA-NG, instead of requiring you to find a wifi network (may not help you much, but might help others)


The 605 won't connect to ad-hoc wifi connection's


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 2:08 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:23 pm
Posts: 60
bubu wrote:
pt1989 wrote:
bubu wrote:
openPMA-NG will be based on pdaXrom 2.0 so we will add support for most known applications (firefox, abiword, ...)


so that means almost this is a new distro altogether not any Qtopia upgrade right? does that mean any *Linux* app would work on it... this is sweeeeeeeeet


yes no more qtopia stuff as it is borring me... not a lot of support... but for people who will still interested into qtopia there will be qtopia-core on top of Xorg (xorg 1.4.0 version)... also support for SDL already compiled in (not tested yet...)..

we will have Davinci DSP support (thx to sashz)... and more exciting stuff.. :), probably flash 9 support as well... fennec...

but as I said this will take time... just be patient... meanwhile go and buy new Archos stuff if you have already upgraded to newer firmware :)

we are waiting... this is FREAKIN AWESOME!!! flash9 support would mean archos firmware section wont get any more hits now.... hahahaha

u just keep surprisin us...


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 106 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™