Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon May 20, 2019 3:20 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Firmware Update policy
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2015 10:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2015 10:25 pm
Posts: 1
Sometimes I'm using my Archos 70 Internet tablet. Recently I found that most apps provided on e.g. Google play are not compatible with Android 2.2. in many cases, the minimum requirement is 2.3.3.

This would mean that my Archos is doomed to freeze in the current "as is" constellation. But the pad still works to my satisfaction and is in good condition. I won't replace it by newer hardware. Why is firmware no longer maintained?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 11:09 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
My a70 is also running fine. Archos did do a huge number of firmware updates for it, probably more than was financially wise. There are web sites discussed in this forum (xda?) which may offer more recent unofficial firmwares for it (at your own risk).

I had mine configured perfectly, but unfortunately did a recent android reset and can't be bothered to reinstall the google stuff. Google play just keeps updating apps with more bloat than can fit in the appspace. Luckily I backed up .apks of the best video and music players and can let my a70 continue to do what it does best. New whizzy apps can be run on my newer devices instead.

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:47 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:52 am
Posts: 2
Going along with this topic. I just recently bought the Archos 70 250 gb tablet. It worked fine when I got it so then I added the Google play and the apps started to act up getting force close like crazy.My goals are simple I want this tablet for an MP3 player first off 2nd I want to get the RDIO or Spotify app for offline playing which both of those do now. I also wnt video game Emulators. I don't want my battery drained in my Galaxy s5. So my question is what is the most stable OS or firmware for what I'm looking to do? I know the SDE would be an option but it says that I couldn't have DRM protected material. So any help would be appreciated.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:02 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
The official firmware has extremely small space for apps, and it has been my and a few others observation that you must underfill the appspace by 50 or 60mb for it's own housekeeping or the tab will chronically drag or lockup or whatever. It was designed to save space for media not today's megabloat apps, so you can really only install a handful.

All such things are covered in the sticky topics at the top of general gen8 area viewforum.php?f=63 . See viewtopic.php?f=63&t=64427 topic for the simplest fix. Or did you install google play correctly, as in the mostly obsolete topic viewtopic.php?f=63&t=47197 :

Farsquidge wrote:
.
For the Generic user I thoroughly recommend Arctools on Appslib as a Market installer.

All other Market installers are 'One Off' unless you keep track of the developers site/thread.

Arctools automatically informs you of an update just as any other app would do, thereby keeping you on track.

I use it, it works well, and online Market works fine without any of this unesessary Fix/Unfix rubbish. ;)

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 11:58 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:52 am
Posts: 2
I can be a generic user if I have a Samsung Galaxy S5 for all of the ungeneric things. If my phone had 250 gigs we wouldn't be having this conversation. When I first got my Archos I tried to install the market place for Google play but when I got it all installed it said to donate for the market app not for free so I didn't know what to do then. So then I downloaded the latest Gappinstaller for it. So that was what is making it unstable I guess. Where should I go from here?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited