Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Sep 19, 2017 12:40 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:21 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:10 pm
Posts: 2
Model: Archos 7 - 8GB

Action: Connecting a usb magstripe reader

Question: 1. Has anyone been able to connect a usb mag-stripe reader by way of adapter through the smaller usb port with this model.
2. If yes, was a driver install needed?
3. Which driver?

Thank you!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:25 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:22 am
Posts: 1
1. Bower CRCF [A compact flash card reader]
2. http://www.microcenter.com/single_produ ... id=0348012
3. A70

--

http://davidikus.blogspot.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:40 am
Posts: 476
1. Belkin USB 4-port hub
2. Amazon
3. A70

When plugged in have been able to connect several external hdd, including a Samsung S1 120gb and WD 320gb. I still have yet to try my 1tb WD USB 3.0 hdd.

_________________
A7-160gb/A7o-8gb


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 10:28 pm
Posts: 5
I bought an active 4-Port USB-Hub from Amazon and now nearly everything works an my A70.
It's a LogiLink one from the german Amazon page and I use:
Microsoft Wireless Mobile Mouse 4000
Microsoft Arc Keyboard (these two even together, so it's easy to work on a big screen via HDMI: me sitting on the couch controlling the Archos via Wireless Mouse and Keyboard :lol: )
1TB CnMemory HDD
Few USB Sticks

I haven't tested HIDs and Flash Drives or HDDs together, but I was too surprised, that the other things work without the A70 crashing or something :D

Greetings,
Frutzel


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 4:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Posts: 20
Lokks like latest upgrade has helped.
My PNY Attache(4GB) and my PNY Micro Attache(2GB) USB Flash Drives work with my Nokia Host!
Tried Sandisk and Play 8GB USB Flash Drives. 70IT says devices require too much power on screen!
WD PMy Passport still not recognised.
PROGRESS!!!!! Thank you Archos.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:41 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:03 am
Posts: 165
Logitech Classic Keyboard 200 (USB) - Note: Rated at 100mA but works fine.
Probably Best Buy, Staples or Office Depot.
A70

Still getting used to the key mapping in Android.

Dave

_________________
A70-IT 8Gb v6
2.4.83


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:12 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:03 am
Posts: 165
1. Device Name: Panasonic FZ35 camera
2. Device Source: Amazon
3. Gen8 Models Used: A70

This worked fine for pics, but the wouldn't play the AVCHD clips, said they were incomplete or corrupt.

_________________
A70-IT 8Gb v6
2.4.83


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:17 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:03 am
Posts: 165
1. Device Name: Lexar JumpDrive 1GB (JDSP1GB-00-540B) It's red and has an activity LED
2. Device Source: Had this for years, no idea where I got it.
3. Gen8 Models Used: A70

No problems, worked great. So far, it's the only USB flash drive I've had work, and I've tried a few.

_________________
A70-IT 8Gb v6
2.4.83


Last edited by dlarkin_dc on Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 3:25 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:03 am
Posts: 165
1. Device Name: Dell USB lazer mouse (Logitech made) MOC50U
2. Device Source: Bundled with laptop
3. Gen8 Models Used: A70

100mA rated but works fine.

_________________
A70-IT 8Gb v6
2.4.83


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:50 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:40 am
Posts: 476
my02vr6 wrote:
1. Belkin USB 4-port hub
2. Amazon
3. A70

When plugged in have been able to connect several external hdd, including a Samsung S1 120gb and WD 320gb. I still have yet to try my 1tb WD USB 3.0 hdd.

So I went back to try my 1tb WD HDDs, and now nothing works! The above ones worked perfectly before, now they won't even connect. My Canon powershot used to connect fine, now it opens an empty folder when there are obviously pics in there! :evil:

_________________
A7-160gb/A7o-8gb


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:36 am
Posts: 164
Location: Greece
No ext. power needed.

1.Cordless Desktop EX110 Logitech Keyboard
2.Local Shop
3.A70

I attached the base of the cordless keyboar then sync base and keyboard, and i was able to use it with my tablet. Epicness

[All above hotkeys tested in launcer pro home screen]
Windows key + All letter keys = presing home for some seconds , brings up the recent apps launched.
Windows key,home = Show all screens
F1 = brings up the preferences of home screen
F3 = Contacts
F4 , End = Turn on/off the screen
Tab=search
Alt + 1-9, A-Z = Search local

If you find more , post them here. :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DznjrKOeE6s


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:05 pm
Posts: 3
The following USB-devices work with my Archos 70 internet (8 gb):

1. Panasonic Lumix TZ-5 camera
2. Local retailer
3. Archos A70 internet

1. External powered LaCie HDD 250 gb
2. Local retailer
3. Archos A70 internet

These are the only devices I've been able to succesfully connect so far.
Without result I tried a lot of other devices: a Phlips (ext. powered) USB-hub, a Labtec USB-mouse, various USB-sticks, a HAMA cardreader, SD-cards with USB-adapter, etc.
My USB-host cable is a Nokia CA-157.

I must say that this is very disappointing, the more so because Archos does not make clear in the manual that it is sort of a crap shoot which device works or not, and customer service only repeats what 's in the manual.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:11 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:30 am
Posts: 1
Hooray! I've found a hub that works! ...but I'm testing like crazy.

1. Gigaware USB 2.0 4-port hub
2. RadioShack
3. Archos A70H 250gb

This D-link hub worked just once or twice, then gave up. Very inconsistent. It may be dying, though. I picked up the Gigaware on a whim and am very pleased so far.

I'm using old eFilm card readers like this (SDHC and CompactFlash) with it. Card sizes 1gb up to 16gb. Both will mount without the hub, but fail to copy filesÔÇöthe LED goes out and the system says "External storage unexpectedly removed."

For host cables, I have two:
    DigiKey, mentioned in the adapters thread, and

Cameras (connected directly): Nikon D90 and D200, Canon S90. Transfer is slower than with a card reader. Also, movie files over about 100mb will not transfer; AVI from Nikon, MOV from Canon. They are fine with a card reader/hub and on my Mac (10.7 Lion), so it must be a limitation of Archos or Android.

An old Seagate 500mb external HD (powered) also works.

I bought the A70H to be a photo downloader and media player like my beloved 504, as well as an e-reader and tablet. Pity Archos didn't give the port a little more juice; we should not have to jump through hoops like this! I even tried UrukDroid, but the card readers still didn't work (one keyboard did, that's all). The 504 (with docking adapter) can power hard drives and mount anything.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:58 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:05 pm
Posts: 3
Frutzel wrote:
I bought an active 4-Port USB-Hub from Amazon and now nearly everything works an my A70.
It's a LogiLink one from the german Amazon page and I use:
Greetings,
Frutzel


Hello Frutzel,

For a few euro's I would like to give the LogiLinks hub that you mentioned a try, after trying many other devices and cables. However, on the Amazon.de site are various LogiLink hubs with quite different pricing on offer. Could you please give an exact description of the one that works for you, for example the article number or something?

Thanks,

Willem


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:42 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 5:14 am
Posts: 2
Transcend P6 USB Flash Card Reader Model P6 (White) - TS-RDP6W


The high-speed P6 USB card reader offers transfer speeds of up to 30MB/s read and 18MB/s write, allowing instant access to important data. Just plug the P6 reader directly into any USB 2.0 port to get the most out of your memory card.





-------------------------
Reputation Management|Reputation Management Services|Remove RipOff Reports


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:26 pm
Posts: 1
I know that this is quite a bit of a necropost but figured it could be helpful for anyone looking to purchase one of these Archos tablets for use as a portable photo storage device. These threads were a deciding factor in my initial purchase. I finally got to test them out on a trip and the combination of an Android tablet and my Canon cameras worked great as a backup solution every night. I didn't have any issues with speed since I just copied and pasted from the camera and then let them run whenever I returned to the hotel from my daily excursions. I did have to install ES File Explorer since the native OS didn't handle copying files named the same so smoothly.

1. Device Name: Canon EOS 60D
2. Device Source: B&H Photo Video
3. Gen8 Models Used: Archos 70 internet tablet 250GB

1. Device Name: Canon PowerShot SX100 IS
2. Device Source: unkown (gift)
3. Gen8 Models Used: Archos 70 internet tablet 250GB


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2015 7:41 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 11:53 am
Posts: 3
Location: 1-7 Ramsay Street, Rochdale
1) USB charger for E-Cig will also red to green to indicate this.
2) http://www.smoke-illusions.com/product- ... igarettes/
3) Smoke USB Charger 1 plugin

This Great post sounds like a good idea Thanks.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited