Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 04, 2020 10:08 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 5:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
Version 3.2.56 - download

changelog:
Quote:
Android browser: add support for new browsing modes in settings (using various tablet/desktop user agents)
Network shares: improve browsing behavior robustness and mounting reliability
Memory management: reduce time for an application to load
Wi-Fi: achieve faster reconnect
Wi-Fi: fix mobile access point support
Accessories: add support for some USB Ethernet adapters (chipsets: RTL8150, ASIX AX88xxx, Davicom DM9601, SMSC LAN75xx, SMSC LAN95xx, NetChip 1080, MosChip MCS7830) on micro USB port
Video: fix sound being lost sometimes while playing and need to seek/play/pause to recover it
Filebrowser: make it usable with Archos remote application
Battery: apply less intrusive low battery warnings
Keyboard: no need to reboot to apply keyboard layout


Previous G9 firmware threads:
3rd October: Firmware 3.2.46


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Wow, USB Ethernet adapter is going to be great in full Desktop mode. Add a USB or Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, output to your HDMI monitor/HDTV, and we can replace our x86 laptops and desktops with this, maybe.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:48 pm
Posts: 35
And what about the full-size usb port? Didn't they plan to reenable it for external storage devices in the next firmware version?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 9:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:36 pm
Posts: 282
Location: France
DiscoFred78 wrote:
I have tried the rear port and it works again on mine.


Ethernet works very well.

Pics here :
viewtopic.php?f=86&t=57759


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 3:03 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
BenMars wrote:
DiscoFred78 wrote:
I have tried the rear port and it works again on mine.


Ethernet works very well.

Pics here :
viewtopic.php?f=86&t=57759


this is awesomeness :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:19 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:20 am
Posts: 57
butterflygirl wrote:
BenMars wrote:
DiscoFred78 wrote:
I have tried the rear port and it works again on mine.


Ethernet works very well.

Pics here :
viewtopic.php?f=86&t=57759


this is awesomeness :D
Does the 3G USB port also work for other uses on your G9?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:29 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:36 pm
Posts: 282
Location: France
heron61 wrote:
this is awesomeness :D
Does the 3G USB port also work for other uses on your G9?[/quote]
Yes it works.
http://www.jbmm.fr/2011/10/gen-9-le-por ... tre-chose/


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:55 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
Charbax wrote:
Wow, USB Ethernet adapter is going to be great in full Desktop mode. Add a USB or Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, output to your HDMI monitor/HDTV, and we can replace our x86 laptops and desktops with this, maybe.

What am I missing here? Why is the addition on an ethernet port (facility) a great thing?

Let me get this right.

So, in my living room, I'm to jam my Archos up against my HDTV to connect via HDMI. Drag some kind of table up to the sofa to support a keyboard and mouse, or else sit with my face against the 40 inch screen. Connect an extremely long ethernet cable from wherever in the house resides my router, to the Archos. Not be able to watch TV while I use my Archos.

And this is going to replace my x86 laptops, complete with all my x86 Microsoft software?

Err... how exactly?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:18 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:36 pm
Posts: 282
Location: France
No.
You want to download your HD movies form your NAS : it's quick (I know, most of the time you can use a usb cable).
You are in a place when you can use a Ethernet connexion, you can use it (severals hotels, airports ...).
You are in a friend home and are too lazy to enter a login/password. Just connect your tablet to his box.
Some offices have Ethernet connexion but not wifi ( or ... you don't know the login/password).
You have a optical fiber connexion and no wifi at home or you don't want any wifi to protect the health or your baby.
Not a lot of uses but can be usefull (in some hotels, Ethernet is free but you have to pay for wifi).

EDIT : I've forgot something !
Most of Internet boxes need a pc to activate wifi. You can do it with your tablet connected by internet. (you don't have any pc but you have enough computers skill to buy a usb host cable and a Ethernet/usb dock).


Last edited by BenMars on Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:31 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
Thanks. That's pretty much what I thought. Fortunately, thanks to the other technological advances which have developed at the same time as "wirelessness", I have a tethering data plan with my smartphone, so I carry my internet with me wherever I go.

Back to sleep for me - I just thought I might be missing a trick, but it appears not.

Zzzz ...


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:00 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
The 3g port is working with my hard drive.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
BenMars wrote:
EDIT : I've forgot something !
Most of Internet boxes need a pc to activate wifi. You can do it with your tablet connected by internet. (you don't have any pc but you have enough computers skill to buy a usb host cable and a Ethernet/usb dock).

What's an internet box?

Sorry, silly of me to ask. How could I not know that by Internet Box you mean:-

(Internet + phone + TV + wifi (+ Nas + blueray player)

Knowing this, of course, the rest of my post is pointless.

Can't help thinking this ethernet thing is a solution looking for a problem to solve.


Last edited by jamie41 on Tue Oct 18, 2011 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:36 pm
Posts: 282
Location: France
I didn't say a router.
Wait for the answer before guess.
All our Internet provider (in France) give us Internet box (Internet + phone + TV + wifi (+ Nas + blueray player)) : ADSL box on which you can be connected by Ethernet or wifi.
Wifi is deactivate in general and you have to activate it if you want to use it. To activate it, you go through a web page.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:31 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Michigan, USA
jamie41 wrote:
What am I missing here? Why is the addition on an ethernet port (facility) a great thing?

Let me get this right.

So, in my living room, I'm to jam my Archos up against my HDTV to connect via HDMI. Drag some kind of table up to the sofa to support a keyboard and mouse, or else sit with my face against the 40 inch screen. Connect an extremely long ethernet cable from wherever in the house resides my router, to the Archos. Not be able to watch TV while I use my Archos.

And this is going to replace my x86 laptops, complete with all my x86 Microsoft software?

Err... how exactly?

Anyone else picture an infomercial when reading this? You know, like the ones that advertise a new juicer and show the old way of juicing that make it look way overly difficult but in actuality it makes the person using it look like a moron.
If you have to jam your Archos against the TV to connect via HDMI, you got too short of a cable.
If you have to drag a table to use a keyboard and mouse, get a TV tray. I have a keyboard with a trackpad so I actually use something really high-tech to set it on, it's called my lap.
If you don't want to use a really long Ethernet cable to connect to your Archos, you can use wireless (the did not remove that feature).
It's nice that they have these features, but you do not have to use them and you certainly don't have to use them all at the same time.
I do agree that I don't see these replacing my x86 laptop or desktop with my x86 software either. I don't see that happening soon either. Some people who only surf the Internet, email, and check facebook might be able to replace their systems though.

_________________
Archos 70S
Samsung GalaxyS WiFi 5.0


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:11 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:45 am
Posts: 78
Haptic feedback is still disabled. Might go back to. 22 again!

_________________
2x 3G 80 4.0.4


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 3:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:36 am
Posts: 164
Location: Greece
Archos Official Facebook Page wrote:
New firmware available for G9 devices (v 3.2.56), so just say yes to the Over the Air update when you get it, or you can do a manual update by downloading it from the ÔÇÿDownloadsÔÇÖ area of our website.

Main changes:
- Opens up rear USB port
- Further improved memory management
- Additional user agents available in browser settings
- Faster wifi reconnect after sleep

As well as many minor fixes and improvements


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 6:27 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:45 am
Posts: 78
Fair play to Archos they have bought out multiple updates in a short space of time to try to sort out the problems. They have not been entirely successful as is well documented on the other thread but I'd like to give some positive feedback:

The device responsiveness is greatly improved,it really whizzes now
The sd card/ internal storage problems in media players is totally sorted now
apps load quicker and facebook works better (but does crash sometimes)

It's a great tablet, if the next update fixes haptic feedback I can put up with the screen problem.

_________________
2x 3G 80 4.0.4


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:39 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
Rear USB port re-enabled


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:02 pm
Posts: 8
Lock screen timeout seems not to work. When screen lock is enabled, the screen locks always immediately, regardless of the timeout setting. It did work originally. Other possible reason might have been Juice Defender controlling the lockout, but now it is uninstalled. So it seems it's latest firmware issue.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 4:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 3:05 pm
Posts: 12
Haptic feedback still isn't working.
And me device seems to have issues unlocking.
I still cant get it to work in my Ununtu 11.10 install even though MTP TOOLS is installed.

Is there any chance we will get ice cream sandwich any time soon?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited