Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:13 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 5:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
piperkid wrote:
Can it be used for software install like the Archo's replicator? I thought there was something unique about the Archos one (externally powered or different connection to the 9)


I didn't use it for install, but it does come with it's own power supply so that it doesn't reply on the A9's.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 6:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Ken_BEA wrote:
Allen,
I agree completely it would make for a great page.

Ken.

Aloha Ken,

I've checked out the Wiki for A9 articles and only found the A9's Wiki Home page. I could add a Drivers article. Before I add an article I wonder:

Do the different Windows versions have different drivers?

Is there a drivers Guide for Linux? How about MacOS?

Any other considerations for a Wiki Drivers article(s)?

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 5:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:48 am
Posts: 16
How about using an auto-driver update notification software like Driver Detective? That software works great on my laptop. I'm going to try to use install in on my A9 after I install Win 7 Ultimate. Will post feedback.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:29 am
Posts: 12
Should I download all those Drivers for my Archos? I just bought it and I think is about 400 days older (made last year or so)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:33 pm
Posts: 325
Location: Germany
AllenPapapetrou wrote:
Ken_BEA wrote:
Allen,
I agree completely it would make for a great page.

Ken.

Aloha Ken,

I've checked out the Wiki for A9 articles and only found the A9's Wiki Home page. I could add a Drivers article. Before I add an article I wonder:

Do the different Windows versions have different drivers?

Is there a drivers Guide for Linux? How about MacOS?

Any other considerations for a Wiki Drivers article(s)?

Allen


for linux you need drivers for broadcom wifi to work, you should know how to enable onscreen keyboard and the most important things,activating the touchscreen and you need to know how to get the intel paulsbo drivers to work (there are some workarounds in the net, how to use the paulsbo drivers that come with ubuntu, or you need to update the repositories in order to get working drivers). there are some other drivers for the the gpu, but for me the paulsbo drivers work so i didnt try the other ones.

and yes, different windows versions use differen drivers, especially winxp and win7, as xp sets up on winnt and win7 doesnt.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:46 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:16 pm
Posts: 8
I just reinstalled Win7, which IDE drivers should it be using? I cant remember what it was before I formatted, now its using just the Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller (MS driver dated 21.6.2006) and the drive reports on channel 0 on UDMA5.

The reason I ask is I'm having bad divx/xvid playback with standard res videos, that is they will sometimes pause playing or go really really slowly and then you can see the video try to catch up.

HD videos play fine though (mkv's) :?:

Can someone check for me what IDE controller is installed on their A9 ?

_________________
Archos 9 - 128GB KinSpec SSD


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 1:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:33 pm
Posts: 325
Location: Germany
ffletchs wrote:
I just reinstalled Win7, which IDE drivers should it be using? I cant remember what it was before I formatted, now its using just the Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller (MS driver dated 21.6.2006) and the drive reports on channel 0 on UDMA5.

The reason I ask is I'm having bad divx/xvid playback with standard res videos, that is they will sometimes pause playing or go really really slowly and then you can see the video try to catch up.

HD videos play fine though (mkv's) :?:

Can someone check for me what IDE controller is installed on their A9 ?



??

sounds more like a problem with the codecs, as mkvs in most cases are way bigger then divx or xvid files, which normally leads to more reading operations of your hdd.

i reinstalled windows7 on my a9, did not install any custom ide drivers, but as i swapped out the hdd for a ssd, some time ago, i think i am no reference.

what player software are you using to play your xvid/divx files????


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:16 pm
Posts: 8
yeah, I have an SSD too.

I'm using Windows media player and Windows media center

Can you please check for me in device manager what driver is setup for the IDE controller?

_________________
Archos 9 - 128GB KinSpec SSD


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:06 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:33 pm
Posts: 325
Location: Germany
sorry cant do so atm, as i am at work and dont have the a9 with me.

but as i didn't install custom ide drivers, i suppose it is the standard-win7-drivers.

i am usin vlc player to play divx and xvid movies.
have you tried that player once?

if you want to play those files in your media player, are you sure, you have the right codecs installed?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 12:01 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 9:58 pm
Posts: 55
Location: USA
There is a new touchscreen (HID Digitizer) driver from eGalaxTouch here: http://home.eeti.com.tw/web20/eGalaxTou ... Driver.htm

This was released in March 2011 (v5.10.0.8706) as opposed to the January 2010 Beta driver on the Archos site.

EDIT: Driver installed and works great. You might need to install the actual driver manually in Device Manager though.

Here is the procedure:

- First make sure you have an external mouse attached to the USB port.
- Uninstall the current touchscreen driver. This happens automatically when you run the setup package of the new driver.
- Install the new driver
--- Check "Install PS/2 Driver"
--- Uncheck "Install RS232 Driver"
--- Uncheck "MultiMonitor"
--- At the Calibration options screen pick "None"
- Reboot
- Run the eGalaxTouch calibration tool. If it can detect your device, then simply run the calibration and you're good to go.

If your device is not detected in the eGalaxTouch tool, then follow the next few steps.

- Go to Control Panel -> Device Manager
- There should be an entry under the "Mice" category called HID PS/2 [something]. It should currently have the yellow warning triangle.
- Right click on the aforementioned entry, and pick Update Driver Software.
- Click "Browse my computer for driver software"
- Browse to C:\Program Files\eGalaxTouch (just highlight the eGalaxTouch folder). Click OK.
- The driver will now install. If there is a warning window, pick "Install anyway". This appears because the driver is not WHQL certified (not a big deal).
- Reboot!
- Run the eGalaxTouch calibration tool, and calibrate your device.

Maybe its a placebo effect, but my screen appears more responsive with the new driver. :o


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited