Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 6:41 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 10:35 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 62
DONWLOAD LINK REMOVED UNTIL SOME PROBLEMS WITH SD CARDS GET FIXED


New thread as the old one is already full of info no longer have a use:

This is a direct port of lefeudedieu version for Rocktab. It works faster and more stable than previous beta. It was supposed to have increased app space but it doesn't, have to take a look at that.

I have installed using RKAndroid from a rom without increased app space. No idea if other way of installing will work.

As always, I take no responsibility if this rom bricks your tablet, rape your cat, or whatever.

Changes from Lefeudedieu rom are:

* Change the way of SD Card mounting so Browser and other apps can work with internal memory if you don't have an sdcard installed.

* Change device identification in build.prop to identify as a Gen8 device.This will allow us to install Appslib and try versions of the apps for Android 2.x

* Change the framework folder for the one on the Beta 3 image. This fix a problem with the font and also with the Sd Card mounting. Weird. Someday I will have to try to understand how that framework thingy works, as the new one by lefeu feels faster and it is also prettier.

After installing, it will ask you to calibrate screen, then give an error. Just click on Go Home Screen.

And, remember, most video still doesn't work, only some MP4 files. Acording to Kornyone, the $%&# of Rockchip implemented some kind of protection to avoid DSP video decoding to work on modified roms, and noone have figured yet how to break it. Of course, the lack of valid kernel source codes -that we are legally entitled to obtain- doesn't help with this.

_________________
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.


Last edited by specialb on Wed Mar 16, 2011 2:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 beta 5
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:18 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks for the ROM. I ran into a problem with the SD card. I get a message that it is «damaged». When I mount the tablet to the usb connection, I can see the contents of the SD card, but the tablet does not recognize it. Formatting the SD card does not work.

Any advise?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 beta 5
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:47 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:07 am
Posts: 58
@ specialb,

a big hello to you,

have you looked at the Archos update.img V2 Eclair 2.1 ?

viewtopic.php?f=81&t=46831

There is a fakekernel.img in update.img :?:

I had never seen it before!

Would this be the solution found by Archos to play the videos :idea:

I tried to install it on the APAD / ROCKTAB but that does not boot!


Be careful do not brick if you test !!!


Because for me I can confirm there is no solution for repair video on my side :cry:


For your problem in SD, try to regain boot.img beta 3 and change the vold.conf with that of beta 3.

Think add in boot.img: tweak.sh and file module

and add the custom rom and tweaks at the end of init.rk28board.rc

Because In my 2.1 update 6 of today i added this :

Quote:
writable system partition mounted to /data (aufs)
lowmemorykiller tweaks (minfree for more aggressive background task killing)
addition of compatible cifs.ko in /system/lib/modules to mounting
(thank to xaueious)




:)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 beta 5
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 2:24 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:18 pm
Posts: 22
How do I go about editing the img file in order to try to fix the SD problem?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 beta 5
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 2:43 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:07 am
Posts: 58
romulus86 wrote:
How do I go about editing the img file in order to try to fix the SD problem?


See here :

http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php?ti ... mg_Windows

;)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 beta 5
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 4:12 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 62
@romulus

Please see if you have a /flash/sdcard folder and if you doesn't please create it and see if that fixes the problem.

@lefeudedieu

It works ok in my tablet with my vold.conf and framework from beta 3. With my vold.conf and framework from your beta 5 SD Card fails. I have to look on framework to try figure what happens.

_________________
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 beta 5
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 8:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:18 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks lefeudedieu.
I think it's working. First I tried editing system.img (by changing framework and vold.conf) and that alone did not work. Then I followed your advice and created an sdcard folder under the flash folder in boot.img. I no longer get the damaged sd card message.



...drat! I spoke too soon, now it's giving me the message again!


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 beta 5
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster
Tried out the Beta 5 this evening.
It's kind of quite fast and is able to install Opera Mini 5.1.1, but that's unfortunately the only positiv thing I can say about it. (compared with the Beta 3).

    - App memory is around 30 MB, installed applications are not as much as in the Beta 3
    - Drives are not visible in Windows
    - It crashed when I started a book in Aldiko reader (1.13)
    - Quick System Info can't be installed (on board with Beta 3)

So that is (for me) a step back. :( Sorry.

_________________
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 beta 5
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:47 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:07 am
Posts: 58
Ah,

j'ai oubli├® :shock:

Avec cette 2.1 nous pouvons jouer a Angry bird sur Rocktab :D


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 beta 5
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:18 pm
Posts: 22
agarond,
to make the drives visible in windows, just go menu - notifications (in the home screen), there you will see a menu item USB - copy files from computer... and when you press that, it will ask you to mount.


Specialb,
... I'm still getting the "damaged SD card error message." I copied to system.img the vold.conf and framework folder from b3; then in boot.img I copied the mnt folder, and added a sdcard folder inside the flash folder (which I also did for the recovery.img file). Then I recompiled and loaded.
At first it does not give the error message for sdcard, but when I look at the sdcard and storage menu in settings, it gives values of 0.0, and filexplorer is not able to get into sdcard; when I unmount the card and re-load it, then I once again get the message "damaged sd card." Trying to format the sdcard from the AHT7 does nothing (does not even erase the contents), and formatting it from windows does not help either.

I know the card is not actually damaged because I'm able to read its contents from windows, when the drives are mounted.

Anyone else having a similar problem?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 beta 5
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:00 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 62
Romulus, please go back to default image without modified vold.conf and with /flash/sdcard folder created and tell me how it behaves. Also, this very same SD Card worked ok on beta 3?

Agarond, thanks for your reports. In this beta images good, clean bug reporting is really needed :) About app space, yeah, it seems it is not getting increased like it happens on Rocktab, will have to take a look at it.

_________________
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 beta 5
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:44 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:18 pm
Posts: 22
Specialb,

Thanks for the advice. Curiously enough, that did not work either. It still said damaged SD card, and file explorer said that it was unmounted.

beta 3 worked Ok insofar as the sd card went. The problem that I had there was that the memory was too small. I was able to install Kindle and Kobo, but not aldiko (which I couldn't download from Market, in the first place) or Isilo.

... Maybe I needed to re-install from beta3, rather than from yar28 (which I had done before!). NOw it seems to want to behave itself!

I have noticed a couple of things (issues I also had with b3): Kindle and Kobo install OK, but then you are unable to download and open books - you are able to read books which you manually put in their folders.

Also, for some reason RotateD and BlueRSS do not work on these applications (Kindle, Kobo, Isilo). Is there any other program we could use to rotate the screen?
Thanks.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 beta 5
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 2:17 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 62
I'm removing the image until I can figure out what is wrong. The idea of it corrupting someones filesystem is quite terrorifying.

_________________
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:39 pm
Posts: 11
Hello,
I'm french

This image is the best.
My sd card work perfectely.
It's possible app space (beta 3)?

Video MP4 works with QQplayer, but no good decoding software.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 4:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:39 pm
Posts: 11
After tests video
Seaman video is very good to play videos if MP4 is converted with energy movier (http://www.energysistem.com/es-es/web/descargas)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 6:35 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:07 am
Posts: 58
Hi specialb,

I forgot to tell you that I changed the MIDsetting.apk, one of your beta 5 is not the original.

The original FW Midsetting.apk of this 2.1 is for the Wopad here:

http://www.slatedroid.com/index.php?showtopic=12854

Soon be the problem can come from this Midsetting.apk?

See you soon ;)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 10:15 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:39 pm
Posts: 11
hello

It's possible increase apps space in internal device storage??


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:24 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 62
@archospapyo

I will look at increazing app space once everything else is working ok, I don't wan't to mess with partitions until I'm totally sure it is fine.

@romulus

One more test please, can you backup the contents on your SD Card and format it on the 7HT to see if that way it gets recognized?

@lefeudedieu

How do I remove programs from your ROM, like the Shelves app, and how do I prevent system to not run TSCalibration?

_________________
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:02 am
Posts: 40
@specialb
i just have the sd problem if i dissconnect my device from PC(win XP) and if i restart my archos then is the error gone and i can use my sdcard normally
sorry for my english i hope you understand

very nice rom it just need a bigger appspace and soundrecording dont work


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:42 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:44 pm
Posts: 58
There are still other major problems:

some apps that worked perfectly (1.5 oder other devices / android emulator with android 2.1) cant even be installed.
Strangely they also can't be seen in the market any more.

These Apps are

fbreader (marketplace app doen't appear, the downloaded version doesn't install)
tunein
laputa reader
adobe PDF reader


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™