Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:10 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 535 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 27  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:11 am 
Offline
Archos Staff
Archos Staff

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:17 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Archos SA, France
http://update.archos.com/8/gen8/gen8_2. ... d_gen8.aos



Mod edit:

Previous firmware release threads:
December 16th: Froyo Firmware 2.0.71
November 30th: Froyo Firmware 2.0.54
October 21st: Eclair Firmware 1.0.84

Mod Edit:

On 27 Jan Archos removed 2.1.02 and released 2.1.03. The Firmware Change Log now shows 2.1.3 with no mention of 2.1.2. So I changed the topic title. The Change Logs are identical except for the version number.

2.1.03 fixes the reboot loop some people experienced during 2.1.02 installation. See this topic: Reboots in loop with 2.1.2 firmware

Allen


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:37 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 430
Location: Derby, UK
Thanks nz.

Archos 28/32/43/70/101 Internet Tablets
Firmware changes
Version 2.1.2 - January 26th, 2010

Video: fix some audio glitches after seeking WMA files
Video: add support for MTS files
Video: bring UTF-8 and UTF-16 encoded subtitles format support
Video: fix SUB subtitles sometimes truncated
Video: add IDX/SUB subtitle handling
Video: fix http://.*mpeg playback
Video: support resume and bookmark for network shares
Video: fix some FLV files not playing
Youtube: fix mobile site video not playing
Multimedia: fix RTSP support for Android applications
Multimedia: fix some web radio applications by adding basic M3U support
Audio: apply shorter steps in audio balance tuning
Audio: fix sound glitch on system notification while playing music
Music browser: fix album view crash on scroll with a lot of albums
Music: support samba protected directory access
Thumbnails: resolve thumbs generation freeze
Indexing: improve rescan robustness
Indexing: fix scanning not restarting after connecting device on PC or ejecting SDCard
Network shares: large files (>2GB) can now be played
Wi-Fi: fix disabling power saving not working
Wi-Fi: enable IEEE802.11n support
Wi-Fi: achieve faster reconnection
SDCard: fix sdcard removal not being taken into account
Storage: enable EXT3 filesystem support and migration
USB keyboard: fix external directional keys layout when rotating the device
Memory: enable 32MB swap by default and increase it to 64MB after Android reset or full device reformat
Applications: fix applications disappearing sometimes between reboots
Applications: fix unit not responsive after Google voicesearch use
Power management: allow to define deep sleep mode by default in settings/about device/power management
VPN: PPTP VPN support has been fixed

Unfortunately, can't see any mention of SOFT BUTTON Hiding or Adobe Flash!

_________________
Archos Elements Titanium 97HD


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 3:44 pm
Posts: 37
Just did the update on my A101-8, everything still works, even Google Market, seems Flash is working better now.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:10 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 3:41 pm
Posts: 57
Cool! Downloading now... let's see if there are another undocumented fixes... I have readl trouble with some WEP Wifis and phone tethering loses connection/hangs and I have to reboot the tablet... if this works I'll be really happy

Cheers!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:38 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1773
Location: Honolulu
ViPaSoft wrote:
Memory: enable 32MB swap by default and increase it to 64MB after Android reset or full device reformat

Whats the benefits to 64mb, with a reset being rather painful?

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:45 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:50 pm
Posts: 58
ViPaSoft wrote:
Wi-Fi: enable IEEE802.11n support

HORRAY!

Where can I view this changelg, Vipa?


Last edited by hurrpancakes on Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 2:26 pm
Posts: 3
I own archos 70, which is honestly not a perfect device, but it is really a darn good value for money. (I also own galaxy tab)

And the speed of firmware releases .... omg I have not found a device with so much support from the manufacturer.

I do a lot of work in integrating tablets into corporate environment for small to medium enterprises and I must say Archos70IT with its current support tops the device list (feature-cost-performance balance is amazing) Chinese shanzai tablets can be cheaper but support is ...... what do you expect?

@nz: thanks for your work and please pass on my regards to your company

I will be marketing your devices for free.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:39 pm
Posts: 150
EXT3 support? What are we running on at the moment?
Or is it just for external storage?

I read reports that converting to EXT4 is even faster and makes the Samsung galaxy Tab more responsive (compared with Reiser FS): http://forum.xda-developers.com/archive ... 15374.html

Can't wait to get home and upgrade.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 6:10 am
Posts: 32
has anyone got the VPN working now? I can connect to it but then the browser becomes dead. Would greatly appreciate hearing from someone who has it working.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:28 pm
Posts: 1163
Location: Abu Dhabi
.
PPTP VPN works!! just tried it Fantastic.. Thanks nz.

_________________
605Wi, A5IMT, A5IT, A7o 8GB:2.4.82


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 6:10 am
Posts: 32
Farsquidge really you got it working!!! when i connect the browser doesnt work. What browser are you using? Please let me know if there is something else you had to do as really was hoping this would work now- cheers


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:31 pm
Posts: 589
I'll verify that 802.11n now works. Only at 2.4Ghz though. Proven on my 43 and my 70 with 250gb hard drive


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 9:08 am
Posts: 44
New fring works!!! no sound but the temporary fix of holding power button and disabling mute works. Finally!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:03 pm
Posts: 273
Location: Warsaw, Poland
nz, any comments about flash? ;)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:29 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 3016
Location: Sweetyland
4DThinker wrote:
I'll verify that 802.11n now works. Only at 2.4Ghz though. Proven on my 43 and my 70 with 250gb hard drive

Just for clarity, in what way does it now work, that it didn't before? Am I right in assuming you mean that, if you set your router to "Wireless N" only, it didn't connect at all before, but it now does connect?

I only ask because mine is set to 20/40. My Wireless N laptops connect at 270/300 Mbps but my Archos is still stuck at 54Mbps, which is Wireless G speed.

I thought that these Archos devices always "supported" Wireless N (connections) and that the only problem was they didn't support Wireless N (speeds).

I got all excited for a moment there.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 3:44 pm
Posts: 37
czesiu wrote:
nz, any comments about flash? ;)


much better, all smooth now


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:38 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:03 am
Posts: 165
I know this is not a problem report... but I have to say I haven't found one glitchy or odd behaviour that hasn't been fixed in this firmware release.

Way to go Archos! =D>

_________________
A70-IT 8Gb v6
2.4.83


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:39 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 3016
Location: Sweetyland
"USB keyboard: fix external directional keys layout when rotating the device"

I had encountered this too. Using my external BT keyboard (iGo Stowaway), with the A101 in landscape mode, the up and down arrows moved left and right, while the laft and right arrows moved up and down - very confusing.

I was excited to try this fix, but, of course, was unable to because of the dismal performance of the Archos with regard to any kind of Bluetooth scanning.

I tried for half an hour to "connect" to my keyboard, before giving up. The other day I managed to "pair" to the device after 7 hours of trying, and to "connect" after another 3 hours.

So, for me, fixing the incorrect keyboard navigation on a device to which I cannot connect anyway, is a bit like painting your lounge walls, while the outside walls are collapsing.

Will you please fix whatever script handles the BT "scan / connect" functions? I've watched this screen for many hours and I'm sure the problem lies in "seeing" a BT device, after that, making and keeping a connection seems ok. It has to be a script issue, surely?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:39 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:19 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Gerke wrote:
czesiu wrote:
nz, any comments about flash? ;)


much better, all smooth now


Gerke, which Flash build are you running - Droid X or Market?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:58 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:12 pm
Posts: 173
jiyong wrote:
EXT3 support? What are we running on at the moment?
Or is it just for external storage?

I read reports that converting to EXT4 is even faster and makes the Samsung galaxy Tab more responsive (compared with Reiser FS): http://forum.xda-developers.com/archive ... 15374.html

Can't wait to get home and upgrade.


External storage.

Can anyone clarify about that swap?
32MB v. 64MB

_________________
Asus TF101 16Gb


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 535 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 27  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™