Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:11 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:56 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:30 am
Posts: 12
First for 99 dollars I wasn't expecting a whole lot I really just wanted to use the archos 28 as a mp3 player. I purchased the device at sears connected it to wi-fi and upgraded to 2.2 (was a big perk to me) I've had multiple issues it will freeze playing games and randomly freeze, it was super laggy and delayed, the keyboard doesn't work properly most of the time and it is very very slow.

Its not even stable enough to play music w/o lagging and freezing I figured I just got a bad one I exchanged it and same exact thing is happening with the brand new replacement I took it back for a refund.


Last edited by acg2002us on Fri Feb 18, 2011 7:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:32 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 10:30 pm
Posts: 140
The A28 has only 128 mb of ram... I suggest you use the system monitor app and kill everything before running a game.

IMO Archos made a bad decision giving the A28 so little ram... Even my A32 which has 256 mb runs out of it so very fast. Its sad because the processor in the A28/A32 is more than powerful enough to run any app/game you can throw at it...

Think of it as a core i7 with 1gb of ram...


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 5:46 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:30 am
Posts: 12
Even with the system monitor app it still didn't help after multiple master resets still was crap-olla think the 32 ill have better luck?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:48 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 3:26 am
Posts: 16
i notice problems when i installed market on my 28.once i restored and got rid of market it it runs perfect.i was listening to music and playing hockey nation with getting text messages during the game.maybe just return in you got a lemon


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:41 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:30 am
Posts: 12
Well I decided to return the POS Archos 28 and throw a little bit more money, RAM, and processor speed at the problem and get the Archos 32 this confirmed my thoughts that Archos is pure crap this device also gives me constant force closure error messages in the Appslib market, I did not even install google market in fear this may be the cause of the problem

The phones touchscreen has also frozen up completly on me and I have had the reset the phone what is the deal with Archos and these devices I know android tablets are fairly new on the market but I think we deserve a functional product


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 8:23 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 3:26 am
Posts: 16
thats weird because my 32 and 28 run perfect. by the way they are not phones


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 7:15 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:15 am
Posts: 46
I usually get a lot of lag with games and Pandora as well. You should have gone to the "Manage Running Apps" or something like that settings. TBH I don't think System Monitor is of much help. I used it several times before playing Angry Birds, but it'd still lag and eventually freeze. On the other hand if you kill apps with Android's stock app management it solved the problem. The 28 is a bit more high maintenance that I would have liked it to be, but its not that bad.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:50 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:33 pm
Posts: 440
The Archos system manager for killing tasks is a likely culprit, it tries to close everything that's running but many of these apps start again immediately, slowing the system. I use Launcher Pro, Advanced Task Killer, and haven't upgraded to 2.2, no problems with 3D games after task killing, good framerates in PSX emulation too.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:30 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:30 am
Posts: 12
Well I'm no longer a archos customer took me 32 back to sears today. Hopefully I can rejoin the archos family of products when they fix the 2.2 software issues.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:39 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 8:35 pm
Posts: 83
@Acg2002us

Wow, I know some people have a few issues, but you have been "gifted" with a particularly poor experience. I have had a 32 since October, and I LOVE IT. I haven't had any performance issues at all. Wifi can be finicky, but other than that, I was so happy, I got a 101. Same thing.. It performs wonderfully!! My only dangling issue is the few apps that are locked so no known hack will get them to show in the app markets.

If I were you, I would continue to monitor these forums, and buy again when most of the firmware solvable issues are complete.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:08 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:13 pm
Posts: 221
defiantly sounds like Acg2002us got a buggy defected A32. I mean 256mb of ram isn't the greatest thing but the device still runs pretty smooth with normal usage (especially with the newer froyo update)

_________________
Mr. 32


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 9:21 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:31 pm
Posts: 589
acg2002us wrote:
For 99 dollars I wasn't expecting a whole lot. I really just wanted to use the archos 28 as a mp3 player.
Sounds like you actually DO expect it to do more than play MP3s. What's up with that? ;)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:24 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:10 pm
Posts: 15
dcrow wrote:
@Acg2002us

you have been "gifted" with a particularly poor experience.



Gifted experiences for the ungifted (trolls) I suppose, somehow that evens things out? ;o) I guess we should have opened the doors at that bridge crossing! Lol


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:57 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:31 pm
Posts: 57
i would say that its more than likely the market hack it ruined my Archos 101 to the stage it wouldn't turn on and had to change it for a new, try full reinitialization

_________________
Archos 101


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 7:43 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:30 am
Posts: 12
Well I decided to re-purchase the archos 28 and upgraded to the newest software and now im a happy camper :)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:39 pm
Posts: 38
rossfuz wrote:
thats weird because my 32 and 28 run perfect. by the way they are not phonesImage

mine runs fine too :)

_________________
Archos 101 :)


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited