Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon May 25, 2020 2:31 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 10:37 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:22 am
Posts: 41
I had been long planning to try and see if I could get some sort of mobile browser running on my Archos 9. Yes we have full featured plug-in enabled browsers that do the job, but I really wanted a super light, browser with just AMAZING touch scrolling on my A9. EDIT: Opera Mobile has a Windows native developer version... so no emulation needed, check my second post. Fennec\Firefox Mobile is also available!

Opera Mini to the rescue. I've been playing with it for the past few minutes and is soooo quick, the scrolling is soooo smooth, and having a nice big keyboard pop up whenever I enter a text field is awesome. Additionally having the interface supersized and really touch centric like you'd find it on the iPad is really refreshing. Granted a mobile browser has several limitations, but this is great for a quick browsing session and great for when you hand the A9 over to a friend as it makes the device seem super smooth.

Directions
To get it running I installed JAVA, then followed these directions http://www.bizzntech.com/2008/04/04/how-to-use-opera-mini-on-your-pc


Tips:
I keep my startbar on the right side, and so set the JAVA program resolution to 960x600.
I set Opera Mini's settings to HIGH image quality and LARGE text.
I also set Opera Mini to fullscreen and since I use Opera on my desktop I was able to just pick up my bookmarks thorugh the cloud/Opera Link.
Finally, Opera's keyboard can be enabled or disabled, but I really like it... So its staying enabled.

I don't know how much use it'll get since desktop Opera is so powerful and also supports touch (sadly no super smooth inertia) but its fun to play with :) Here's a screenshot of how it looks, that I grabbed off the web. The screenshot is using Kemulator, but I'm using Microemulator. I'm hoping to skin the emulator so that its menus are completely hidden.
Image


Last edited by sonus on Wed Dec 08, 2010 12:23 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 11:11 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:22 am
Posts: 41
Uhhhm, scratch that. No emulators needed :)

Opera has developer versions of both Mini and Mobile that run natively on Windows, Mac, and Linux 8) Just too cool

The only issue is that Mobile appears to be a bit overly finicky about touch, but that may just be a resolution or restart issue... We'll see.

http://www.opera.com/developer/tools/
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 12:24 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:22 am
Posts: 41
guess i'm on a roll...
I also found the windows developer build for Firefox Mobile/Fennec!
http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/mobile/releases/latest-beta/win32-i686/
Scroll past the page left or right to bring up controls in the browser.

I'll be testing day to day usability of the mobile browsers soon.


Last edited by sonus on Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 5:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:11 pm
Posts: 175
Location: The Netherlands
I'm testing opera mobile now for half an hour but I still can't scroll properly or put-in text, because every time I try to tap an text field or something like that it scrolls all the way down...

_________________
Archos 9 owner


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:11 pm
Posts: 175
Location: The Netherlands
arhg man this kinna annoys me off, I really fell In love with opera mobile cuz it looks so stunning and it's very very fast. but I can't manage to scroll. that means I can't surf down the web properly and should use an other mobile browser *sad*

I'll try fennec (mozzilla mobile)

_________________
Archos 9 owner


Last edited by roylovelock on Thu Dec 09, 2010 8:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
edited by roy. NO Foul language


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:25 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:22 am
Posts: 41
Yea, the native version of Opera Mobile doesn't play well with eGalaxy Touch's touch screen implementation. It works better if you change eGalaxy Touch's Touch setting from "Normal" to "Desktop"... but then you need to hold your finger for a fraction of a second to scroll around. This is annoying. Are you using the regular touch drivers and Windows Starter? I'm wondering if the beta touch drivers would yield more success.

Emulated Opera Mini scrolling works perfectly.

I haven't tried native Opera Mini yet.

Firefox Mobile/Fennec works really well, however its not nearly as lightning fast as Opera and the scrolling doesn't have the same amount of intertia as Opera... But it does support double tap to zoom, auto zoom on text input, and has some nice animations on scroll left/right. If only it was Opera fast it would be perfect. Right now I'm using Fennec for my light browsing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:11 pm
Posts: 175
Location: The Netherlands
im running windows 7 ultimate right now.

I didn't do anything to the drivers, I'll try to set the eGalacy Touch to desktop

_________________
Archos 9 owner


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:11 pm
Posts: 175
Location: The Netherlands
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owMAhy4sdn0

Opera Mobile on A9

_________________
Archos 9 owner


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:33 pm
Posts: 325
Location: Germany
just running mozilla, desktop version, after installing the grab and drag addon, it works perfectly for me.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:11 pm
Posts: 175
Location: The Netherlands
Opera is way faster then mozzila chrome or IE.
The mobile b├®ta will get better, but the full opera browser really is amazing.

_________________
Archos 9 owner


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 2:24 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:58 pm
Posts: 268
BAAAASJE,
What keyboard are you using in your video? I need to figure out how to get the keyboard to open on selection of a text field.
Thanks.

_________________
SteveB
A9 Win7HP
A32 A70-8v6 UD1.6


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 8:43 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:11 pm
Posts: 175
Location: The Netherlands
That's the Opera Keyboard, you can only use it when you use opera mobile.

_________________
Archos 9 owner


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 5:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:58 pm
Posts: 268
BAAAASJE wrote:
That's the Opera Keyboard, you can only use it when you use opera mobile.

Thanks.
Going to give it a try.

_________________
SteveB
A9 Win7HP
A32 A70-8v6 UD1.6


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited