Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sun Dec 15, 2019 4:02 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 4:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:20 pm
Posts: 421
Location: Romania
I have done some testing and have successfully used a BT GPS device with an Android 2.2 device.

Since I don't have (YET!) a Gen8 device I did the testing on my HTC Desire, running Android 2.2. (of course, I turned off the built-in GPS, and checked it several times to be sure).
GPS was a i.Trek M5+
App: Bluetooth GPS Mouse
http://www.appbrain.com/app/com.Argotronic
http://www.argotronic.com/en/android/bl ... gps_mouse/

Results:
- Google Maps works
- Google Navigation does not, it asked me if I want to turn GPS on (probably checks the hardware)
- Copilot works, it did ask me if I want to turn GPS on but even if I said no it could determine my location and start navigation
- Motonav (iGo) works
- NavDroyd works

So all in all, pretty encouraging results.
I uploaded the app at http://www.mediafire.com/file/13d26843o ... 0Mouse.apk just in case someone wants to do some real testing with a Gen8 device.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 4:23 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 91
pascanu wrote:
just in case someone wants to do some real testing with a Gen8 device.

"someone" indeed...


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 7:07 pm
Posts: 3
Will a USB GPS mouse work on the archos Gen 8 ??
No fiddling with Bluetooth and charging batterys, just plugin the usb cable en off you go.

Any thoughts ??


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:06 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 2:43 pm
Posts: 927
I'd buy local, then you can return it easily if it doesn't work. Better yet, bring the tablet to the local Fry/Best Buy/etc store and try it in-store.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:28 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:58 pm
Posts: 23
Maybe we can use a GPS logger with the A70 OR A101 through the USB host?

I have one of these Navin units. I can test when my A101 ships next month.


http://www.navin.com.tw/miniHomer.htm The Navin uses the SkyTraq Venus 6 GPS chipset.


This company makes the drivers for the Navin. SEE THE LAST LINE
http://www.prolific.com.tw/eng/downloads.asp?id=31

PL-2303 (Chip H/HX/X) Linux driver for RedHat 7.3/8.0/9.0 Only.
NOTE: No need to install drivers for following:
Linux Kernel 2.4.10 and above already includes built-in drivers for PL-2303H.
Linux Kernel 2.4.31 and above already includes built-in drivers for PL-2303H, PL-2303XA/HXA and PL-2303HXD.
NOTE: Google Android OS is also based on Linux kernel so it also supports PL2303.<-------------------------Looks promising



PL-2303 Driver Setup Installer, Prolific Edition
Setup Installer Revision Note History
===========================================

System Requirement:
. Supports the following Windows OSes:
- Windows 98SE
- Windows ME
- Windows 2000 SP4
- Windows XP SP2 and above (32 & 64 bit)
- Windows Server 2003 (32 & 64 bit)
- Windows Server 2008 / 2008 R2 (32 & 64 bit)
- Windows Vista (32 & 64 bit)
- Windows 7 (32 & 64 bit)
NOTE: For Windows 7, please use RC build 7100 or above build version.
------>NOTE: Google Android OS is also based on Linux kernel so it also supports PL2303<--------copied from above
. USB host controller--------Archos A70 AND A101 offer this
. Device using PL-2303H/HX/X version chip--------YES the Navin uses this chip


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:52 pm
Posts: 39
@Pascanu: Your words are very very interesting... and I hope that you may have an idea also for my question.

I live in Israel and the 5IT doesn't have the map for Israel (only Eurpoe and US)... is there a program that support the version of android of the 5IT that will let me get the GPS for Israel with full map?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Posts: 585
Location: La varenne / France
i will be testing this solution

for israel use the pach for the googgle applications and use maps !

_________________
CORSE' WEB


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:38 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:52 pm
Posts: 39
@Cajl: from where to get the maps?

Thank in advance:-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 4:43 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:20 pm
Posts: 421
Location: Romania
Free solution: Google Maps w/ navigation
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=630887
Basically its a modified version of Google Maps that allows navigation even in countries otherwise not aproved by Google.
Downside: it requires a permanent internet connection as all the maps and calculations are done online.

There are other GPS apps that have offline maps (stored on your SD card) but these cost money, you'll have to look for more information. Here are a few sugestions:
COPILOT Live 8: http://www.alk.eu.com/
Navdroyd: http://www.navdroyd.com/onboard-turn-by ... -software/
Sygic: http://www.sygic.com/
NDrive: http://www.ndriveweb.com/

I have never used my A5IT for navigation (I use my phone for that) so I have no idea which one works.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Posts: 585
Location: La varenne / France
i use
this gps BT
Image
http://pocketnow.com/review/transystem- ... s-receiver
Google maps
Bluetooth GPS Mouse

and it is OK !!!!!!!!

_________________
CORSE' WEB


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:20 pm
Posts: 421
Location: Romania
Can you try Google Navigation?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Posts: 585
Location: La varenne / France
yes !!
see that
http://www.jbmm.fr/2010/10/07/recette-a ... sauce-gps/

_________________
CORSE' WEB


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:20 pm
Posts: 421
Location: Romania
cajl wrote:


:D Thank you for giving me credit.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Posts: 585
Location: La varenne / France
we are welcome

_________________
CORSE' WEB


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 8:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Posts: 18
Wouldn't any Bluetooth GPS receiver work with the Archos 101 as long as the GPS supports the Bluetooth Serial Port Profile (SPP)?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:05 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Posts: 18
To answer my own question...no, not necessarily. I guess Android doesn't do a very good job of interfacing with external Bluetooth GPS units via the SPP without a little help from an app like the one mentioned earlier. Luckily, Android users are a scrappy bunch who like to hack. Here is a good discussion of that issue...

http://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=9057

Some Android GPS applications have adapted themselves to work with external GPS, such as Trekbuddy. So, one way or another, external GPS via Bluetooth should be a reality on the Gen8 devices.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Posts: 18
I found a free GPS app that can be sideloaded. This software allows most Android GPS Map applications (Google Maps, Bing Maps) to use an external GPS via Bluetooth.

Review:
http://androgeoid.com/2010/09/android-e ... r-android/

Download:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/bluegps ... _beta/Apk/

As discussed in the review, the 1.1 version had a bug and and according to the version history is fixed in 1.1.1.

:D


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:51 pm
Posts: 3
there are quite a few programs available (paid and free) in the android market that turn any android phone with gps (like my evo or epic) into a bluetooth NMEA gps RxTx

just search for "bluetooth gps" or try the one i am using made by "meowsbox" - you can check it out at www.meowsbox.com/btgps (there are free and paid versions in the market)

once i receive my archos 101 and car mount i will use an android phone as the bluetooth gps receiver - probably as a joke though, 10.1" screen up in the dashboard is silly, probably unsafe, and might get me pulled over lol

( my first post in these hallowed halls :D )


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:10 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Posts: 34
Location: France
Hi,
someone manage to use nDrive ?
It don't see my GPS, but it's ok with Copilot...
Regards

_________________
Archos 70 IT - iPhone 3GS


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:28 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:35 am
Posts: 551
thank you for the link. I managed to use this to connect to my windows mobile phone using it as a bt gps. works with google navigation quite well
rider wrote:
I found a free GPS app that can be sideloaded. This software allows most Android GPS Map applications (Google Maps, Bing Maps) to use an external GPS via Bluetooth.

Review:
http://androgeoid.com/2010/09/android-e ... r-android/

Download:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/bluegps ... _beta/Apk/

As discussed in the review, the 1.1 version had a bug and and according to the version history is fixed in 1.1.1.

:D


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited