Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:22 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:22 pm
Posts: 26
I have the Archos 2 Vision but i cannot convert any of the video's that i have on my laptop with the AVIConverter 5.1.6 software which was included with the player that you HAVE to use to convert your video files.
Everytime i try to convert anything the "Status Bar" just says "Ready" all the time plus the "Progress Bar" remains empty.....what am i missing does anyone know please ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 10:29 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 7:34 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Canada
Sometimes the converter will not update the status until it is finished with compression. I hope they fix this regrettable bug in the next version. All I can say is that you should be patient - a 22 minute, 720x1280, mp4 file will take over half an hour to convert on a 2.4GHz PC with 1GB of RAM.

_________________
A2V A3V


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:09 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:22 pm
Posts: 26
saneonymous wrote:
Sometimes the converter will not update the status until it is finished with compression. I hope they fix this regrettable bug in the next version. All I can say is that you should be patient - a 22 minute, 720x1280, mp4 file will take over half an hour to convert on a 2.4GHz PC with 1GB of RAM.


Many thanks for your reply saneonymous i will give it another go while having my fingers crossed.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 2:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:22 pm
Posts: 26
Well alas still no luck i have had the converter running now for almost 2 hours for a 9 second video and still nothing.*pulls hair out while weeping*


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 4:25 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 7:34 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Canada
That's too bad. What OS are you using? It works okay in XP.

It's probably time to contact Archos tech support.

_________________
A2V A3V


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:08 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 8:54 pm
Posts: 441
Location: California
Just try a different converter, there's quite a few out there. The one Archos includes, I imagine has a pretty narrow scope of what it will be able to convert.

_________________
-LT


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 9:30 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:22 pm
Posts: 26
Thanks for the help peeps...It states that you are "supposed" to use the converter that was includded with the player but i have tried another converter which worked fine until it was transferred onto the Archos 2 Vision as it wouldn't play it just said "unsupported file."


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 7:34 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Canada
You can't just use any converter software, or you'll get an error. You need a converter that has .avi output and allows you to control most of the settings, like older versions of HandBrake. VideoHelp.com has a number of converters for you to try.

The app that comes with the 2 Vision makes the avi file: 18 fps, mirror-flipped, rotated 90' ccw, sets the bitrate @600kbps, 12 bit sample size, FFDS compression, with an audio bit rate of 64kpbs. You will also need to resize for the 220x176px screen, preferably preserving the original aspect ratio - bring a calculator.

These are the settings you need to replicate in order to convert videos for use with your Archos 2 Vision.

_________________
A2V A3V


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 5:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 5:31 pm
Posts: 1
I have compared different converters and I recommend MelodyCan.
It converts music and movies, and also can remove drm protection. The converter is easy to install and use.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 7:34 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Canada
MelodyCan doesn't work for Archos 2 Vision uesrs. Don't waste your time, folks. You need a converter with more control.

_________________
A2V A3V


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:48 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:43 am
Posts: 2
I am having the EXACT same problem. Very frustrating. I downloaded a short video clip to 'test the waters' but the converter just sits and does nothing, even after an hour (for a 3 minute video clip).

The video clip came from iTunes, TV show webisode. Where should I be finding TV shows, songs and other video? Is this the problem?

T


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:50 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:42 am
Posts: 2
For any of you running Linux use this procedure which I found on this web site:

http://www.linuxformat.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?p=83649

If you want to use Linux to re-scale video for the above player, save the following string into a text file (say called archos_video) and give it executable permissions:
Code:

mencoder -noodml "$1" -of avi -o "$2" -ofps 18 -vf-add scale=220:176, -vf-add expand=220:176:-1:-1:1,rotate=2,flip -srate 44100 -ovc xvid -xvidencopts bitrate=550:max_bframes=0:quant_type=h263:me_quality=0 -oac lavc -lavcopts acodec=mp2:abitrate=64

Then execute the script using:
Code:

./archos_video original_video_filename rescaled_video.avi

It's not Windows but it sure works!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 9:11 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:22 pm
Posts: 26
I eventually sent mine back not because i couldn't get the video converter to work i returned it to QVC because the player completely died on me but thanks for all the peeps that tried to help.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:09 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:06 am
Posts: 1
You can try other video converter.like bvcsoft archos video converter.very good.also support volume normalizer. :badgrin:


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited