Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 5:39 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 180 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Staff
Archos Staff

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:17 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Archos SA, France
http://update.archos.com/7/archos5/arch ... rchos5.aos

Version 1.7.71 - February 11th, 2010

* Cell phone tethering: add DUN and PAND bluetooth support for connection and automatic detection
* Cell phone tethering: add one click enable/disable shortcut in "Power control" widget
* System Monitor: a new application to kill background processes, list system alarms responsible of waking up the product and "wakelocks" preventing device to sleep.
* GPS diagnostic: a new application to monitor satellite reception levels
* Storage: add FAT32 support for internal storage, with capability to reformat device in FAT32 (settings>about device->repair and formatting tools options). Note that if you choose to reformat your device in FAT32, file size will be limited to 4GB which is incompatible with most of the full length HD movie file size. Use of FAT32 filesystem format is not recommended for hard disk based products.
* Archos Media Center widget: faster launch of media center applications
* Video: allow volume autogain for files played from a network shares
* Video: fix some MP4, WMV9 HD and MPEG1 files not playing
* Calculator: add clear button in menu
* File browser: file overwrite does not freeze UI anymore
* Keyboard: fix a wrong letter in Android russian keyboard
* System: fixes device power off when time is changed in the past
* System: better handling of media center application restart


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.7.71 is there
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
Looks like you guys sneaked that one on us. lol

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.7.71 is there
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:58 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3330
Location: essex uk
that was quicker than i expected thanks for the heads nz.
also dont forget -
if you dont want the added widets installed like craigsphone, mewbox, high paying jobs, etc just hit cancel when it goes though the instal process and it wont instal these apps, you can always download what you actually want on your machines from the market.
roy

edit, ps market hack still working a ok for me

_________________
http://tinyurl.com/68a3oqs


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:01 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:29 am
Posts: 86
Location: Essex (UK)
Fantastic. I'm loving all these updates. =D>


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Nice work as always guys! And I begin to understand that A7A sheet more now... ;)

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:56 am
Posts: 20
These are not bugs, but I want to add to list of fixed problems:

DVB-T works!!!! :D


I just updated everything on top of the previous update. I did not format my A5IT. Google Market also works :D



(@map002 Archos must be mindreaders 8) Regarding my post earlier today in the DVB-T thread.)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Staff
Archos Staff

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:05 pm
Posts: 165
For the power users note that you can now edit the wifi configuration files to experiment with WPA-EAP and adhoc: they are editable using adb in /data/misc/wifi.
There is thus 2 additional items to consider for the release notes:
- network: allow power users to edit wpa_supplicant.conf file for customization using adb (e.g. for wpa-eap connection)
- network: allow power users to edit tiwlan.ini file for customization using adb (e.g. for enabling adhoc networking)
Needless to mention that it is labeled as "use at your own risk" and classified as experimental.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:30 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 3:57 am
Posts: 95
Location: Elgin, IL
bragon wrote:
For the power users note that you can now edit the wifi configuration files to experiment with WPA-EAP and adhoc: they are editable using adb in /data/misc/wifi.
There is thus 2 additional items to consider for the release notes:
- network: allow power users to edit wpa_supplicant.conf file for customization using adb (e.g. for wpa-eap connection)
- network: allow power users to edit tiwlan.ini file for customization using adb (e.g. for enabling adhoc networking)
Needless to mention that it is labeled as "use at your own risk" and classified as experimental.


Got some instruction for doing this under abd? I so want to make adhoc wifi connections to my phone.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:40 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:41 pm
Posts: 65
Excellent new update while you wait....

It this available from the update menu on the A5A itself or just download via PC and install via USB ?
Tried the auto update from the A5A, but it keeps telling me I already have the latest version.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:33 am
Posts: 251
Location: Michigan
pcpal wrote:
bragon wrote:
For the power users note that you can now edit the wifi configuration files to experiment with WPA-EAP and adhoc: they are editable using adb in /data/misc/wifi.
There is thus 2 additional items to consider for the release notes:
- network: allow power users to edit wpa_supplicant.conf file for customization using adb (e.g. for wpa-eap connection)
- network: allow power users to edit tiwlan.ini file for customization using adb (e.g. for enabling adhoc networking)
Needless to mention that it is labeled as "use at your own risk" and classified as experimental.


Got some instruction for doing this under abd? I so want to make adhoc wifi connections to my phone.

Working on some right now.

_________________
hax@is.gd/aYb3e


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 672
fyi, what I've done with adb and wpa_supplicant was...

adb pull /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf

then you've got the wpa_supplicant.conf file on your local machine to edit to your hearts desire, with your favourite editor. then just do

adb push wpa_supplicant.conf /data/misc/wifi

I then restarted my archos and my new manually inputted network was in my 'remembered' networks.

it hasn't connected yet, but that's kinda my fault, but I've a huge hope for it.

fyi, for those wanting to put in manually configured LEAP or WPA2 EAP-TLS networks, here's configurations that *should* work,

LEAP:
Code:
network={
        ssid="<SSID OF YOUR NETWORK>"
        scan_ssid=1
        key_mgmt=IEEE8021X
        auth_alg=OPEN SHARED
        eap=LEAP
        identity="your LEAP login"
        password="your LEAP password"
        priority=1
}


EAP-TLS
Code:
network={
  scan_ssid=1
  ssid="<SSID OF YOUR NETWORK>"
  proto=WPA2
  key_mgmt=WPA-EAP
  pairwise=CCMP
  group=CCMP
  ca_cert="<LOCATION OF YOUR CA PEM FILE (/storage/data/cacert.pem, or something)>"
  client_cert="<LOCATION OF YOUR CA PEM FILE (/storage/data/clientcert.pem, or something)>"
  private_key="<LOCATION OF YOUR CA PEM FILE (/storage/data/privkey.pem, or something)>"
  eap=TLS
  identity="<YOUR IDENTITY HERE>"
}


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:33 am
Posts: 251
Location: Michigan
To turn on adhoc
Code:
adb pull /data/misc/wifi/tiwlan.ini .

Open it up in whatever editor you want and on line 171 set WiFiAdhoc to 1
Code:
WiFiAdhoc = 1

Save the file, then
Code:
adb push tiwlan.ini /data/misc/wifi

And reboot.

_________________
hax@is.gd/aYb3e


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:31 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 10:58 am
Posts: 53
Would formatting to FAT32 help with reading FAT32 hard drives?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 672
there seems to be a problem with this editing. if you pull the wpa_supplicant file and it has 30 lines in it. then you edit that and push back a file that has 25 lines in it, the last 5 lines of the original wpa_supplicant file stay there. any file you push back on has to be bigger than the file you pulled from it. this could have messed things up, but adding a few comments to the end of the page, like "# DO NOT USE", to make the smaller file bigger fixed it. but, it's certainly a bug.

to verify any changes you've made after
Code:
adb push wpa_supplicant.conf /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf

run
Code:
adb pull /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf wpa_supplicant2.conf


that pulls the new file from the Archos to your local machine, which allows you to check if your changes went through.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Nice to notice someone noticed the editable bits. ;)

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:33 am
Posts: 251
Location: Michigan
For anyone who cares - the market hack and screenshot still work as well.

_________________
hax@is.gd/aYb3e


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:49 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:32 am
Posts: 429
Location: Maryland, USA
update sounds fantastic... gonna try it now.. :D

hopefully you fixed the mp4 issue i sent you :p


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 672
wiki updated

http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php?ti ... onnections


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:58 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 672
any update on the 'full reinitialisation', nz? does it still completely formate the hard-drive, or only wipe the places that it needs?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:56 pm
Posts: 180
Location: Bangalore, India
nz wrote:

* Cell phone tethering: add DUN and PAND bluetooth support for connection and automatic detection



Sweet!!! Is this for any BT PAN or only cellphones... would test it anyways :)

Rgds
Sandy

_________________
A5A 32 GB (GMH)


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 180 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™