Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Thu May 28, 2020 12:09 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2009 9:51 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:42 pm
Posts: 127
So I installed the SDE (Angstrom) and then installed VLC. It works, but it's pretty laggy when playing mp4 videos. Mp2 works pretty smoothly.

I've got to say that after playing with Angstrom for the day, I'm not really impressed. It's probably a great distro for a smartphone and maybe even a PDA, but the Archos is closer to a computer than anything. Angstrom just feels cheap on such a rich device. Some pretty basic things don't work - the on screen keyboard doesn't actually let you type in most applications. The sound doesn't work at all. The image gallery won't slideshow without crashing [Nevermind. Slideshow works if you give it long enough to load all of the images. It just takes some time before it starts]

I'm not sure that Angstrom is the right base distro for this device...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 8:02 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:04 am
Posts: 771
I get eh same impression, but hopefully it will give us enough control to get another distro on it

_________________
250gb 1.7.11


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:46 am
Posts: 404
cryptyk you have to get the texas instruments dsp bridge up and running and so far i guess only mplayer can make use of it see the beagleboard development progress on dsp support for this :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 7:39 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 106
cryptyk wrote:
So I installed the SDE (Angstrom) and then installed VLC. It works, but it's pretty laggy when playing mp4 videos. Mp2 works pretty smoothly.

I've got to say that after playing with Angstrom for the day, I'm not really impressed. It's probably a great distro for a smartphone and maybe even a PDA, but the Archos is closer to a computer than anything. Angstrom just feels cheap on such a rich device. Some pretty basic things don't work - the on screen keyboard doesn't actually let you type in most applications. The sound doesn't work at all. The image gallery won't slideshow without crashing [Nevermind. Slideshow works if you give it long enough to load all of the images. It just takes some time before it starts]

I'm not sure that Angstrom is the right base distro for this device...


Hey, could you give me your .aos file of this sde here. I still have the first .aos file from archos site and i can't find any more recent ones created by you guys. Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 4:08 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:42 pm
Posts: 127
The SDE .aos file is on the archos.com site, under support/downloads


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 5:02 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 106
Yup I know that but I want your because you have the vlc player on it


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 5:15 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:42 pm
Posts: 127
Oh - I see what you mean. I don't know how to package up my existing file system as an aos/initramfs yet. I'm working on it. In the meantime, though, it's really easy to install the SDE and then install VLC.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 8:49 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:58 am
Posts: 40
cryptyk wrote:
Oh - I see what you mean. I don't know how to package up my existing file system as an aos/initramfs yet.


Archos should have given an option to build .aos files, or compile the current settings/files in Angstr├Âm.. How are we (as developers) going to release our work?

Anyway, i see cryptyk is working on that, so i'm holding my breath :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 8:15 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 106
cryptyk wrote:
Oh - I see what you mean. I don't know how to package up my existing file system as an aos/initramfs yet. I'm working on it. In the meantime, though, it's really easy to install the SDE and then install VLC.


Could you help me with it. I've installed the sde from archos site and I have no idea what to do now to make it better and add vlc and what not. If you could help me that would be much appriciated


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 8:22 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:42 pm
Posts: 127
First thing is to hook up a keyboard using the mini dock. Typing on the device is near impossible.
Second thing is to get wifi working. There is a link in the "dev diary" sticky about how to do that.
Third is to SSH into the archos. Use ssh if you're on Mac/Linux. Download Putty if you're on windows. Connect to the device over ssh and you'll have a shell.
To install more software once you're in the shell, type
su
opkg update

Once you've done that, "opkg list" will show all available software. "opkg install <name>" will install new software. "opkg list | grep -i <searchName>" will search for software by keyword.
For example:
"opkg list | grep -i media" will search for all software that has the word "media" in it. I'm guessing VLC would show up on that list. From there you would see that the name of the VLC package is "vlc", so type:
opkg install vlc


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 8:02 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 106
cryptyk wrote:
First thing is to hook up a keyboard using the mini dock. Typing on the device is near impossible.
Second thing is to get wifi working. There is a link in the "dev diary" sticky about how to do that.
Third is to SSH into the archos. Use ssh if you're on Mac/Linux. Download Putty if you're on windows. Connect to the device over ssh and you'll have a shell.
To install more software once you're in the shell, type
su
opkg update

Once you've done that, "opkg list" will show all available software. "opkg install <name>" will install new software. "opkg list | grep -i <searchName>" will search for software by keyword.
For example:
"opkg list | grep -i media" will search for all software that has the word "media" in it. I'm guessing VLC would show up on that list. From there you would see that the name of the VLC package is "vlc", so type:
opkg install vlc


Hey, I looked at the wifi install page and man it is really confusing. Can you explain to me what to do I don't understand it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:46 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 106
Ok I've been trying and my question now is how to I get the three files
helper_sd.bin
sd8686.bin
sd8xxx.ko
onto the A5 while in the sde?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 10:34 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:48 pm
Posts: 52
dbn045 wrote:
Ok I've been trying and my question now is how to I get the three files
helper_sd.bin
sd8686.bin
sd8xxx.ko
onto the A5 while in the sde?


I used a USB thumb drive and transferred them that way.

-Analias


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:31 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 106
Ohhh ok thank you. So I have to have the mini dock or battery dock to do this?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:17 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:46 am
Posts: 404
@cryptyk
read this http://omappedia.org/wiki/OMAP_Angstrom ... ted_Codecs


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:07 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:42 pm
Posts: 127
analias:
You can also boot to recovery menu and select the developer item, then the "attach archos as USB drive" item (or similar).
Connect the archos to the computer, copy the files to it, then reboot back into angstrom. viola.

Cruncher. Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:36 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:57 am
Posts: 29
So theoretically through the same process you used to install VLC player could you install comix?

_________________
A7 PFW 1.6.54


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 2:59 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:38 am
Posts: 38
Location: Washington State
Upon using the command "opkg install vlc" it started to download and install the necessary packages, but it gets to samba and starts to really slow down and the unit heats up quite a bit, am I doing something wrong?

EDIT: Never mind, I just let it sit at the snag for 10 minutes and it got done right, just one more problem though, when I try to play a song, all I hear is crackling.

_________________
A5120/PFW1.7.11


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 6:50 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 7:06 am
Posts: 409
Im currently using quasar (an Mplayer frontend). Really diggin' it so far.

viewtopic.php?f=34&t=33157

_________________
www.openAOS.org


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:11 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 7:15 pm
Posts: 15
how well do iso's play? This is much needed for me


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited