Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 4:50 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 267 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 14  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:42 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:01 pm
Posts: 64
remember, remember the fifth of november,
the gunpowder treason and plot,
i know of no reason
why the gunpowder treason
should ever be forgot.


i dub this exploit the guy fawkes hack (or GF)

it's time to free the next round of archos devices. and archos has made it easy on me, a bit. once i explain it, you'll wonder why you didn't find it yourself. the first trick to jailbreaking any device is finding a local exploit that will allow you to run your own code. if the priviledge of the exploited app is not root, the next step is then to achieve root somehow. after that is reached, a jailbreak can now be worked. the jailbreak has a similar name, is more of the same, mouldy cheeze. see my previous posts for how moldy/mouldy cheese/cheeze works.

first, the local exploit. avos has quite a few vulnerabilities that i found as i was poking around. whether they are exploitable i don't know yet. but as i was thus poking around i found out a neat trick. if you trick avos into thinking you have dti games, it will run them, no matter what you put in the executable file. nice. so step one is complete. unfortunately the dti games run as user nobody. so now we need a root exploit.

the first root exploit was simply removing the harddrive from my archos and creating a setuid root file on the 'hidden' ext3 partition. this allows the program to up priviledges to root from nobody. but a bit hard to do. so i started working on my current root exploit when archos came out with 1.7.02 and it was kindly pointed out that i could accomplish the same thing with an ext3 formatted thumb drive. how nice! so until i finish the root exploit, this will be the way to get root. simply copy the mouldy_cheeze executable to a ext3 thumb drive and type "sudo chown root.99 mouldy_cheeze; sudo chmod ug+s mouldy_cheeze". then plug it into your mini dock, battery dock, or dvr station. the device will recognize a new drive. exit out and go to games, dti, and select the game. this will run the jailbreak. after you are done, reboot and you are now running your very own jailbroken archos. obviously, this is not a general release for everybody.

now, don't go out and buy a dock if you don't have one. i expect to have a much more simple jailbreak coming as soon as possible. i will then start to work on 1.7.02 and also a5it.

right now i have only tested on 1.6.54, though i coded in 1.6.53 but just never got the chance to test. so unless you want to be the first to try 1.6.53, i recommend only using 1.6.54 firmware.

installation:
http://archos-liberation-front.googleco ... _alpha.zip
unzip the archive. copy mouldy_cheeze as decribed above. copy rootfs.cramfs.secure and the Games folder to the 'root' of your archos device.

you thought the last release was rough? this one is even rougher. but i should have a 'general release' soon.

*edit: small update. the chown needs to come before the chmod


Last edited by archilles on Fri Nov 06, 2009 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:56 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 1:19 am
Posts: 476
Location: ORYGUN
thank you sir! =D>

i am downloading now and i will be trying it on 1.6.53! looks like im gonna be the first to test on .53.

what results will i see or will it just be that obvious?
edit: should i see

_________________
MY SIGNATURE


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:57 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:41 pm
Posts: 10
He delivered!!!
Thank you very much...taste of freedom...sooo sweet.

/rushes to format a stick :D


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:06 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 1:19 am
Posts: 476
Location: ORYGUN
wait a sec, i need linux dont i?

guess im gonna have to break out the ubuntu disk tomorrow morning.

_________________
MY SIGNATURE


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:08 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:48 pm
Posts: 52
Figures... literally 50% though the download of my DragonAge:Origins purchase (7.8G) under windows and no free linux box at the moment. I'll have to wait until I can reboot into my Ubuntu install.

I guess I'll be one to try it under an even older release. I refused to update my A7 for the last year since I purchased my device. I'm still running 1.3.05. Unless you think I shouldn't, Archilles.

-Analias


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:10 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:24 pm
Posts: 11
Incredible m8, now hoping that 1.7 is gonna get cracked as fast as possible :p

Grts, and congrats !


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:13 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:18 pm
Posts: 194
Very nice, very nice. Is this type of exploit possible for older generation(605 fw > 1.7.13) users too i wonder?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:16 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 9:01 am
Posts: 25
Thank u very mach archilles, great work!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:21 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 5:19 pm
Posts: 337
Maybe I just don't get it. I've been watching and waiting for Nov. 5 to hear what advantages this "jailbreak" would bring to us Archos 5 owners. Am I missing something? I still don't know what, if anything, this could eventually allow me to do on my Archos that I can't already do. I appreciate the explanation on how you did it, but frankly that's useless to me since I'm not that tech savvy. I've been asking all along exactly WHAT we might be able to do with our devices that we couldn't do before the hack. And I'm still not sure what that is. :?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:27 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:18 pm
Posts: 194
run arbitrary code:)

the jailbreak is just the first step really. its taken a long time just to get the jailbreak but now is where the fun can start--think along the lines of what a iphone jailbreak does:

-free games!
-develop custom games
-things like nes emulators
-better webbrowser was one of the things previously discussed
-things like the ability to play music and surf the web at the same time
-virtual network control over other more powerful computers
-added audio/video codecs ie flac
-custom themes
-other good stuff


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:37 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:21 am
Posts: 16
found this bug some time ago, tried to copy my old paid games from my 605 to my new archos 5, and it froze.
Didn't post it since i got bashed with my last bug report...


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:40 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 5:19 pm
Posts: 337
generic_username wrote:
run arbitrary code:)

the jailbreak is just the first step really. its taken a long time just to get the jailbreak but now is where the fun can start--think along the lines of what a iphone jailbreak does:

-free games!
-develop custom games
-things like nes emulators
-better webbrowser was one of the things previously discussed
-things like the ability to play music and surf the web at the same time
-virtual network control over other more powerful computers
-added audio/video codecs ie flac
-custom themes
-other good stuff


-If the games are anything like the ones I already have on my Archos, then I won't be too impressed.
-I very rarely play the games so I don't care about or even know how to develop a game.
-I'm not even sure what an nes emulator is.
-Option to use a different web browser would be nice.
-Not much interest in listening to music while surfing the web. I rarely do that on my PC :p
-Not sure what that would mean for me, if anything.
-More audio/video codecs would be great, IF they include the ones we currently have to purchase to use.
-Don't care about themes.
-"Other good stuff" could be useful. Depending on what the "stuff" is of course, lol.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:46 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:23 pm
Posts: 20
Well, if youre just complaining, then dont do the hack...
Stop wasting posts for your wheeny-whatsoever

Actually, im rather more interested in what archilles is going to do about the 605 Owners >1.7 , cause he said he'll work out something for us until Nov.5 ... so... well done and appreciation for the Internet Table hack, but PLEASE HELP US 605 OWNERS !!!:D


thank you anyway for being the hero of the scene! ;)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:50 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 9:01 am
Posts: 25
generic_username wrote:
-things like the ability to play music and surf the web at the same time

But this is already possible, isn┬┤t it?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:57 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:07 pm
Posts: 427
Location: Bangalore, India
GREAT WORK MAN!!!! will upgrade to 1.6.54 from 1.6.53 ... and will try out the hack in a day or two and will let you know what happens... and keep up the great work man!!! Congrats!!!! =D>

_________________
openAOS ROCKS!!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:01 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:07 pm
Posts: 427
Location: Bangalore, India
T. A. wrote:
generic_username wrote:
-things like the ability to play music and surf the web at the same time

But this is already possible, isn┬┤t it?

yes it is very much possible in the archos 5 but it would be better if we could control the audio settings like changing the song *while browsing* would be great

_________________
openAOS ROCKS!!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:21 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 5:19 pm
Posts: 337
Buster wrote:
Well, if youre just complaining, then dont do the hack...
Stop wasting posts for your wheeny-whatsoever

Actually, im rather more interested in what archilles is going to do about the 605 Owners >1.7 , cause he said he'll work out something for us until Nov.5 ... so... well done and appreciation for the Internet Table hack, but PLEASE HELP US 605 OWNERS !!!:D


thank you anyway for being the hero of the scene! ;)

LOL, kind of bossy for your first post in here. And what's a "wheeny-whatsoever?" And I'm not complaining at all. It's a shame the Archos programmers don't put the time and effort into making Archos owners happy the way people like archilles does.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:41 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:07 pm
Posts: 427
Location: Bangalore, India
Can anyone please post a link for Archos 5 FW 1.6.54
Currently I am on 1.6.53

_________________
openAOS ROCKS!!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:53 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:04 am
Posts: 771
munkytown71 wrote:
Maybe I just don't get it. I've been watching and waiting for Nov. 5 to hear what advantages this "jailbreak" would bring to us Archos 5 owners. Am I missing something? I still don't know what, if anything, this could eventually allow me to do on my Archos that I can't already do. I appreciate the explanation on how you did it, but frankly that's useless to me since I'm not that tech savvy. I've been asking all along exactly WHAT we might be able to do with our devices that we couldn't do before the hack. And I'm still not sure what that is. :?


you say you're not tech savvy so maybe this does nothing for you, but for those of us that like to tinker, this is wonderful. in the end what is hoped will be achieved is the freedom to do anything we want rather then only what archos allows us to do. let's say you want a program but archos doesn't allow it or doesn't have it, but if you jailbreak and someone out there has made the app, then you can get it. if you don't want anything then there's no need to jailbreak.

the largest change will be the OS, being able to install linux, or maybe even android or windows mobile, which would allow for vast array of apps and support that we can't get from archos.

but this is all in the future, for now the door is open...

_________________
250gb 1.7.11


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 10:08 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 5:50 am
Posts: 20
I dont know if i understood this wrong but does this mean i have to have a dock? i know he said to not shell out for a hack since he will be posting another release which should be easier to install.

i dont mean to be pushy but any date in particular for a more user friendly release?

_________________
a5 250gb gen6


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 267 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 14  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™