Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:53 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 198 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 710 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:00 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 4:56 pm
Posts: 20
Allen - A fellow Pittsburgher! I live in Plum (just outside of Monroeville) if you remember the area at all.


Top
   
 Post subject: Little Jack Horner
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:40 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:57 am
Posts: 605
_

He put in his thumb
And pulled out a Plum
And said
Oi, I asked for rhubarb!

_


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
nopantts wrote:
_

Allen.

Thanks for the Help:Images page. You've reminded me to make an appointment with my optician.

I need to treat myself to new reading glasses.

[ I like the Indiana Jones look ].

_

nopantts, you don't need reading classes! :lol: Just get a visual impression of the layout so the screen looks familiar when you see the real page.

However, if the Embedded File edit Icon image was fuzzy then you do need reading glasses. :p

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
2ksilverbullet wrote:
Allen - A fellow Pittsburgher! I live in Plum (just outside of Monroeville) if you remember the area at all.

I know of Monroeville, not Plum, though.

I'm 8th generation Pennsylvanian from Momma and 2nd generation Greek-American from Dad.

With the Archos 5IT I'm 7th generation, skipped a few. :D

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:57 am
Posts: 605
_

I already have 2 pairs of reading glasses - one for reading a book, one for looking at a PC screen.

Neither is correct anymore - I'm becoming more long sighted as I get older. I no longer need glasses to drive (legally) - I used to be short-sighted. So I really do need to make an appointment.

I had to use a magnifying glass to do the root thing.

Do you read (A5A) in the bath? I read books in the bath, but I've not yet found the courage to read using the A5A.

_


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 1:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 1559
Location: Milwaukee (GMT - 6)
Charbax wrote:
Image uploads are now supported.

Sorry for the long delay.

I wanted to edit php.ini and do some security checks, but I guess hackers can't do much if filetypes to be uploaded are limited to jpg, png, gif and pdf...

Very good, well worth the wait... now we all have some work to do; let's do good works!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 1559
Location: Milwaukee (GMT - 6)
we will all need a system on deleting uploaded images/files... it is bound to happen where a image/file needs to be discarded. I believe only WikiSysops can do this, but we can apply a category to "flag" images to be deleted... something like the Delete this page category... http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php?ti ... _this_page

OK, we have a delete this image caterogy now... http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php?ti ... this_image

Putting the following:
Code:
[[Category:Delete this image]]
into the "page" of the image does the trick.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 6:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Aloha Y'all,

Thanks to the efforts of Charbax we now can embed YouTube Videos in our Wiki. I've created a Help page which describes how to do this, click: Here.

The process is very simple. You insert the yt directive modeled after this extract from the Help page:
Code:
<yt>VideoID [Width]</yt> "[Width]" means the width is optional
Ex: <yt>ykmGNnKq0_g 400</yt>


Thank you Charbax! =D>

Y'all Enjoy :D

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
AllenPapapetrou wrote:
Aloha Y'all,

Thanks to the efforts of Charbax we now can embed YouTube Videos in our Wiki.


Thanks AllenPapapetrou, the efforts were yours. I was just slow (as usual) installing the cool youtube extension that you provided me a few days ago.

I'm still working on upgrading the forum, hopefully those upgrades will work within a few days.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:49 am
Posts: 1324
Location: Where No Man Has Gone Before: The Planet Phi-Epsilon Nudist Colony For Women
Charbax wrote:
AllenPapapetrou wrote:
Aloha Y'all,

Thanks to the efforts of Charbax we now can embed YouTube Videos in our Wiki.


Thanks AllenPapapetrou, the efforts were yours. I was just slow (as usual) installing the cool youtube extension that you provided me a few days ago.

I'm still working on upgrading the forum, hopefully those upgrades will work within a few days.


Any chance you could make the signature area a couple spaces longer than 15 (like 20 maybe)?

And thank you for all your efforts in maintaining this site!! =D>

_________________
30GB 605WiFi (x2)/250GB A5 IMT


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 10:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 1:35 pm
Posts: 152
I've added a few apps to the working apps list;
-Laputa, ebook reader
-Lineup, addictive simple game
-Sleeptimer, shuts down apps, but as far as I've noticed, not the A5A itself, after a configurable time
-TED.com app. Should be self explanatory
-Traffic jam. Little addictive puzzle game.
-WinampRemote. Graphically terrible,and could use some minor tweaks but basically does what it says on the tin. Even edits the playlist if the right dir is set in the preferences. Absolutely love this App!

Version numbers are not yet included, been doing it from the
archos....

_________________
A5A 160GB Owner


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 1:12 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Jeez Thanks

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:16 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 1559
Location: Milwaukee (GMT - 6)
Jeez wrote:
-Traffic jam. Little addictive puzzle game.
not displaying properly on my archos, the whole set of cars are offset. Maybe it is just me?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:20 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 1:35 pm
Posts: 152
I just noticed that the version numbers are links to the actual apk files. I haven't got any since I installed from the market. Is anyone willing to add them? If not, what's the easy way for me to get them, I know downloading directly onto the archos can be iffy.

Traffic jam does indeed offset some parts, as noted in the wiki, but it functions.

_________________
A5A 160GB Owner


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:24 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Jeez wrote:
I just noticed that the version numbers are links to the actual apk files. I haven't got any since I installed from the market. Is anyone willing to add them? If not, what's the easy way for me to get them, I know downloading directly onto the archos can be iffy.

Traffic jam does indeed offset some parts, as noted in the wiki, but it functions.

Hey Jeez! :)

Many Apps Managers will give the version Numbers.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:26 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 1559
Location: Milwaukee (GMT - 6)
Back up using the app... AppMonster (choose back up to SD, knowing that SD in this sense is just your regular drive)

It'll put your apks in a folder called AppManager

Then upload to mediafire, megaupload, depositfiles or another free share site... finally post a link to the wiki.

Also, know that after a set amount of days of no downloads these free sites tend to delete the uploaded file. So without some oversight on our wiki a lot of these files will just become dead links... I've done oversight, but the more eyeballs the better!


Last edited by buster8079 on Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:30 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 1559
Location: Milwaukee (GMT - 6)
Jeez wrote:
Traffic jam does indeed offset some parts, as noted in the wiki, but it functions.
there is no problem with Blocked traffic free


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:37 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 1:35 pm
Posts: 152
thanks for all the tips, I'll get working on that.
Traffic jam can be removed then, seeing as there is a working alternative. I'll do that when I get to a pc, all this scrolling gets annoying.

I'll look into an unrestricted file dump site as well, perhaps someone has some space left on an ftp server (Archos themselves)?


EDIT:
Stashbox seems to do the trick. Hotlinking, no file restrictions, no limited file life, and no sign up.
Some files may lose the .apk file extension though, and there is an [1] added to the file name

http://stashbox.org/859918/Laputa%28The_Hitchhikers_Guide%29_1%5B1%5D.2
http://stashbox.org/859923/LineUp_1.0.6%5B1%5D.apk
http://stashbox.org/859925/SleepTimer_0.9.8%5B1%5D.apk
http://stashbox.org/859926/TED_1.2.0%5B1%5D.apk
http://stashbox.org/859928/WinampRemote ... 5B1%5D.apk

_________________
A5A 160GB Owner


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 7:24 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 1:35 pm
Posts: 152
Version numbers and links added to the wiki. When I'm in the mood I may [s]czech[/s] check all the other links and reupload them to stashbox

_________________
A5A 160GB Owner


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 7:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Thanks for your efforts, Jeez! =D>

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 198 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 710 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited