Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:00 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Swap 2 AV500 100G drives
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 5:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 5:02 pm
Posts: 2
I have 2 100G AV500. One is working fine but with scratches. The other one like new, but it has drive read/write errors. I like to swap the hard drives of these 2 units.

Called Archos, they are no longer provide any kind of service to AV500. Does anyone know who can do the job for me? If anyone on this form can to it for me, I am willing to pay.

James
jjjgong@hotmail.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 8:14 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 137
Drives are locked to the specific unit with the latest firmwares so it might be a pointless excersise.

I wanted 130GB space in my AV500 (the max the operating system can see) so sent away for a 160GB drive from these people
http://s289462194.e-shop.info/shop/page ... hop_param=
who programmed the new drive with the serial of the original so it would work in my AV500.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 3:59 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 5:02 pm
Posts: 2
fredc wrote:
Drives are locked to the specific unit with the latest firmwares so it might be a pointless excersise.

I wanted 130GB space in my AV500 (the max the operating system can see) so sent away for a 160GB drive from these people
http://s289462194.e-shop.info/shop/page ... hop_param=
who programmed the new drive with the serial of the original so it would work in my AV500.


Thanks for the information. Can you let me know what was you experience with them before I contact them? Is that a respectable shop?

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 8:41 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 137
Shop, no, I think just a guy with access to the specialised equipment to reprogram the rom on the pcb inside the hard drive (which is not easy to do). It took a couple of weeks before I got the drive (USA to UK), but it's still working fine in my 500. Paypal should give you some protection?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited