Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Aug 26, 2019 9:59 am

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 4:19 pm 
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Hello!

I'm new to Android and tablets and have started my "tablet life" with the Archos 70b. And I have some (minor?) troubles with that device.

My main issue is that there are often dropouts during playback of ogg (or mp3 files) from microSD using the standard music app from Archos. Same 8GB microSD card with same ogg files works fine on a Sansa Clip+. Those dropouts occur once in a while (after 5..10mins or more seldom), but sometimes 2..3 dropouts occur within some seconds. I have tried two different microSD cards from SanDisk, 8GB and 32GB - both claim to be class 6 (but that shouldn't matter for music playback), both expose the same droput problem.

I cannot enforce dropout by e.g. browsing the web or reading PDFs by ezpdf. I also tried a fresh reboot and deactivated WLAN - same problem.

I asked Archos support - they assume that their sdcard integration might be too slow - hey, I cannot believe that - a small 24MHz Clip+ should beat an 1.2GHz "monster" Android readind microSD card?!?

But there is another mysterious finding - after upgrading to current 3.2.81 firmware (one day after purchase) there seems to be a battery drain. The original firmware only used 2% during the "first" night, the 3.2.81 eats up over 20% per day without obvious running apps (maybe email is checked all 15mins).

Oh, and there is another annoying bug: Sometimes the email contents is shown as "white" text on white background. One can zoom that white contents (the scrollbars are visible) but still the email contents remains invisible. Sometimes by miracle the text re-appears.

Main Apps installed are: ezpdf, tunein, ftp, oruxmaps (beta release), androidpit market, skeye, and the standard google apps.