Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:08 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:01 pm
Posts: 1
Hi all newcomer here ...congrats for your forum.

I received yesterday my archos 70b it2 honeycomb 3.2 tablet (yep the new 70b internet tablet ...1.2 ghz //512 ram and so on)...so if you have any questions that i can answer do post. Keep in mind although im tech shavvy this is my first android device so im not an expert. Ill try to do my best though.

I have a couple of questions for you. (keep in mind i got latest firm)

a) It seems (to my dissapointment) that the unit CANT handle youtube HD clips. I do have flash player installed and using the built in youtube app. Only way to watch youtube clips is without using hd. Is there something wrong im doing? Im finding strange that it can play 720p mkv but not youtube hd clips that are much less processor hungry.

b) When i connect the device to my pc although it seems to mount ...navigation to its folder and copying movies...its just impossible...slow-sluggish and the copy just never starts. (tried to copy an avi in videos folders ...takes forever). Is there something im doing wrong here? (usb debug is off btw). Maybe because it had low battery and i connected the usb cable to do the transfer?

Anyway in general for 199euros its not a bad tablet...screen is ok (not an ips so viewing angles arent the best) and seems solid built.

Thank you for any help


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:03 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:23 pm
Posts: 6
I'm having a similar problem.. But I'm trying to copy mp4 files, just times out.. :(
But when it asks if you want to convert it, it seems to start doing something... Still waiting for it to transfer the file, so will let you know.
Update: Didn't work :( timed out.. Could it be anything to do with the screen locking or battery saving setting ?
Update: Same problem just trying to copy a picture :( What am I missings :(

Any ideas ?

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:23 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:23 pm
Posts: 6
Ok.. Seems that I can't copy any files to the tablet, UNLESS i put them into the download folder

So is there a setting to allow me to copy the files any way on the internal storage ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:53 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:35 pm
Posts: 84
Hi Guys, I've just got the 70b it2 honeycomb 3.2 also. It's my first ever tablet (or Android device for that matter) so I'm on a bit of a learning curve at the moment!

Anyway, I've managed to solve these 2 problems.

1) Flash video not working :- The latest firmware update (3.2.80) that went up this afternoon fixes the problem.

2) Unable to write to some internal memory folders (.system, Music, Pictures, System and Video) :- After installing the 3.2.80 update I still couldn't write to these folders. I then did a complete re-format of the device using these instructions (http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php?ti ... om_scratch), making sure I had a copy of the 3.2.80 firmware ready on my PC! After the re-format/re-install I could write to all the folders on the internal memory.

The 3.2.80 update also seems to make the USB connection to my PC more reliable, but I might be imagining that.

N.B. Because I did a complete re-format/re-install I lost the extra pre-installed apps that Archos put on it and their sample music and Videos.

Hope this helps


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 6:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:56 pm
Posts: 25
Does your 70b have GPS?

Headphones audio out port?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 6:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:03 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Lincs,UK
the archos 70b does not have gps - all archos devices have a headphone port !!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 6:33 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:35 pm
Posts: 84
Yes it does have a standard 3.5mm headphone socket.

I don't think it has GPS as such. It certainly knows where I am (in google maps for example), so I guess it's using wi-fi and google's massive database of wi-fi router information that it's stolen, oops I mean, collected from everyone.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:51 pm
Posts: 2
Got myself the A70b IT2 (Honeycomb) on Sunday. Pretty nice device for the money.
I'm trying to find out if this device can be rooted, as I'd like to run the BIG F5 VPN client, but it needs to be rooted to do this.

Any ideas?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:02 am
Posts: 4
Not sure if you still need it, but here's a way to root your archos 70 IT2.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1557845


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited