Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:12 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 6:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 9:42 am
Posts: 15
Hi all,

This is my update.img with SU and Superuser for Arnova 7G2
Su v3.0.3.2 - Superuser v3.0.7(41)
Tested with root explorer and titaniumbackup, works fine
Next step external 3G support

Bye

http://www.multiupload.com/VZ6H07RIF4


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:05 pm
Posts: 2
What about market?

Arnova released a new firmware with 3g support yesterday :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 9:42 am
Posts: 15
I have not entered the market, because there is a simple procedure to install it.
Ok I will insert it in new rom with 3g support.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 9:42 am
Posts: 15
Mmmmmm
New ROM: Support for ARCHOS G9 3G Stick (via USB host cable) -- Only this?

----Update---

He he he he

I've installed new rom, I see mobile networks settings but I can't save the APN.
In your opinion Arnova have put all apn in the world?

In old rom there was 37 apn configurations, all chaina apn he he he

Ok I'll start with rom dump

See you tommorow


Last edited by fenice57 on Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 10:00 am
Posts: 2
will it work on the arnova 7c G2?

Is it rooted?

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 9:42 am
Posts: 15
Yes is rooted - No only 7 G2


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 9:42 am
Posts: 15
fenice57 wrote:
In old rom there was 37 apn configurations, all chaina apn he he he


Emmmm, Arnova programmers have set 1455 apn in apn configurations file, yes 1455 apn settings...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:05 pm
Posts: 2
At least no one will be without apn :) (sarcasm lol)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:21 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 8:57 pm
Posts: 9
I downloaded this to look at it. I cant unpack this update.img as it looks like a ADB dump from backup?
However based on it's size I am speculating that /system is not writeable and still looks like a cramfs file system?
So it's not a full root?

Bob


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:27 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 9:42 am
Posts: 15
finless wrote:
I downloaded this to look at it. I cant unpack this update.img as it looks like a ADB dump from backup?
However based on it's size I am speculating that /system is not writeable and still looks like a cramfs file system?
So it's not a full root?

Bob


For unpack the update.img, first you install it in your tablet, after you must create a dump with rkdump

Code:
adb  push rkdump /data/
2837 KB/s (63916 bytes in 0.022s)

adb  shell
# cat /proc/mtd
cat /proc/mtd
dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 00400000 00004000 "misc"
mtd1: 00800000 00004000 "kernel"
mtd2: 00400000 00004000 "boot"
mtd3: 00800000 00004000 " recovery "
mtd4: 10000000 00004000 "system"
mtd5: 10400000 00004000 "backup"
mtd6: 07400000 00004000 "cache"
mtd7: 10000000 00004000 "userdata"
mtd8: 00400000 00004000 "kpanic"
mtd9: 1a3800000 00004000 "user"
# chmod 755 /data/rkdump
chmod 755 /data/rkdump
# /data/rkdump /dev/block/mtdblock5 /sdcard/update.img
/data/rkdump /dev/block/mtdblock5 /sdcard/update.img
update.img found (80197632 bytes)
dumping...
crc found (4 bytes, 0x5078da30)
done
#


Now you can unpack this update.imp with AFPTool

Code:
AFPTool.exe -unpack update.img Temp\\
   
cramfsck -x system Temp/Image/system.img
   


ok , now you can modify your /system

after modding repack all

Code:
mkcramfs -q system Temp/Image/system.img
   
Afptool -pack ./Temp update_new.img


Be careful, you can break your tablet.

In my ROM you can edit / but not /system, yes is a cramfs and you cam modify it with this up procedure
You can use rooted application like root explorer, terminal emulator, titanium backup and much more

Last Su and Superuser are installed


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 1:47 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 8:57 pm
Posts: 9
Thanks I got it..... I was using the wrong tool set rkutils thinking this was a ADB dump of backup.

Bob


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:47 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:03 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Russia, Novorossiysk
Work added!
ARNOVA has released a new ROM for AN7G2
Code:
ARNOVA 7 G2
Firmware changes
Version 2011.12.13 - December 13rd, 2011
Support for ARCHOS G9 3G Stick (via USB host cable)
FlashÔäó 11.1 compatible
Minor bugs fixed

http://arnovatech.com/support/updates.html

_________________
ARNOVA 8G2 8Gb (AN8G2)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 8:57 pm
Posts: 9
Yea, thats what I used to make my rooted ROM with :)

Bob


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:18 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:07 pm
Posts: 3
Hi
Thanks for your work on the rom for the 7 g2.
Im running fine even Market, the only problem is with the sd card. With it in I get loads of errors with it out I get no errors installing from market.
Doesnt happen if I use it on the android phone and doesn't happen if no sd card is in.
It wasn't happening in original rom. Is it more likely the card or the slot or the rom?
Any help please.
Oh the card is seen and prepared on boot up (according to wording.)
If I link to usb the computer sees it but all crashes if i write to it.
Machine hangs on media library update for several long seconds (sometimes minutes)
error code on install is about app.com
hope this helps.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 6:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:07 pm
Posts: 3
Oh just to really cheer me up BBC Iplayer app loads the website then kicks me back to desktop instead of playing (yes it has flash 11 on!)
I really could do with a comment or two please


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:07 pm
Posts: 1
hi this rom works perfect games, apps, everything.... more than the update from arnova...!!! i have a cuestion you can make a rom fully rooted!! whit your rom¡? plz?? whit de rom of finless bob i cant make run a lot games... the games run in white.... but in this rom the games run great!! you can?? plz??? mak your rom fully rooted?? plz? tnks...


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 4:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:07 pm
Posts: 3
To answer myown question re BBC Iplayer- it doesn't like Flash 11, use 10.3


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:40 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 2:19 pm
Posts: 7
Multiupload is down, and it has been for quite some time (due to the US government being cap in hand with the business's that bank roll their election campaigns), so can you please upload on another file sharing site so I can test it. Much appreciated :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 5:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 2:19 pm
Posts: 7
So no one going to upload the update.img on another hosting site then?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited