Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Nov 22, 2019 9:30 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HDMI on Arnova 10 G2
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 8:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 12:53 pm
Posts: 8
Hello guys,

I was just curious if the "dumb" HDMI hole between DC jack and miniUSB is really just an plastic piece or there is something more on PCB. So I disassemble my Arnova 10 G2 8GB and found outthat there are already prepared holes and pins for miniHDMI connector!

Picture: http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/582/45491784.jpg

According to this pinout (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI), I tried to measure at least voltage and voila, it is under power ;)

miniHDMI connector which should match the holes and pins is here http://www.hdequipment.eu/pdf/hdmi-mini-c-type-pcb-mount-receptacle-60u-series.pdf.

So do you guys think after some soldering work, it will actually recognize connected TV and send the signal thru it? I'm hoping to it because there are some HDMI related files in system too:

systemetcpermissionsandroid.rockchip.hdmi.xml
systemframeworkandroid.rockchip.hdmi.jar
systemframeworkandroid.rockchip.hdmi.odex
systemlibhwhdmi.rk28board.so
systemliblibrockchip_hdmi_jni.so

Another picture of the board:
http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/9464/40414408.jpg


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: HDMI on Arnova 10 G2
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 10:07 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:57 am
Posts: 23
Nice job there. From what you discovered it seems like the system and the hardware might be ready.
I guess the lack of hdmi there from factory might be due to cost reduction/strategy of this arnova series, because they probably have to pay some licence fees for each product they release with hdmi (I saw such info somewhere earlier in laptop reviews)..but to whom I don't remember (if this is really the case here)
So if you're confident abuot your soldering skills you can give it a go and let us know! :D


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: HDMI on Arnova 10 G2
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:31 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:27 pm
Posts: 7
nice, as I recall there was an archos version that is pretty much the same but with HDMI (and if i recall correctly i think it also had bluetooth, but possibly less ram and A2.2 not 2.3)

It depends how much of the software is left in though as i think it was a case of when you used the HDMI out you no longer had the screen on the device on.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: HDMI on Arnova 10 G2
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:45 am
Posts: 10
I have the Achos A101 and it has a mini HDMI out. I use it often to connect my A101 on vacation or in my car (I have a 15" LED tv hooked up for the kids). The viewing angle on the A101 is not good for 2 kids in carseats to watch together on a long trip.

If you look at the bottom right of this screen there is a button to switch the screen to the output:
http://www.yugatech.com/blog/wp-content ... tablet.jpg

Just adding an mini HDMI port may not trigger your display to shoot out of your port. Good luck and please post what any news


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited