Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:10 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 4
Hi Newbie here,

I had my 8g2 for 3 days , found this site and have had a lot of fun flashing the custom roms, Im not a novice to flashing but i am a novice with Android

I tried to update to the AN8G2_ext3f, followed the instructions but it stuck on the "ARNOVA" boot screen, after 1 hour of this I tried to reboot it, no joy, so I tried to do SD card install via the "boot menu", tried system restore.
All my own fault, lol, but thats the thrill of flashing i spose.
Im having trouble getting into the "Boot Menu" screen now, anyone got any suggestions?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Posts: 13
Thanks for the info, Sowa, I'm charging my battery and I'm going to have a go at flashing the ext3f custom rom!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:00 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 1:00 am
Posts: 22
I need to install the driver but don't know how.
I found the folder I need in the archive (amd64/win7).
Can anybody tell me how to do it?

**********Update**********
I figured out how to install the usb driver and installed the update.
This update is much better than the previous one. My new boot time
is 45 seconds and that includes my weather widget hitting the net and
getting the current weather. All-in-all this thing is really running well.

Highly recommended! With many thinks to Sowa!

Thanks - John


Last edited by jabby on Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:17 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:03 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Russia, Novorossiysk
crusti wrote:
Hi Newbie here,

I had my 8g2 for 3 days , found this site and have had a lot of fun flashing the custom roms, Im not a novice to flashing but i am a novice with Android

I tried to update to the AN8G2_ext3f, followed the instructions but it stuck on the "ARNOVA" boot screen, after 1 hour of this I tried to reboot it, no joy, so I tried to do SD card install via the "boot menu", tried system restore.
All my own fault, lol, but thats the thrill of flashing i spose.
Im having trouble getting into the "Boot Menu" screen now, anyone got any suggestions?


Re-flash the ROM. Do not forget to remove the SD-flash before flashing.

_________________
ARNOVA 8G2 8Gb (AN8G2)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 7:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Posts: 13
Downloaded and updated, you are a star, Sowa!

Well done, mate!!!!!!!! :D


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 4
Sowa wrote:
crusti wrote:
Hi Newbie here,

I had my 8g2 for 3 days , found this site and have had a lot of fun flashing the custom roms, Im not a novice to flashing but i am a novice with Android

I tried to update to the AN8G2_ext3f, followed the instructions but it stuck on the "ARNOVA" boot screen, after 1 hour of this I tried to reboot it, no joy, so I tried to do SD card install via the "boot menu", tried system restore.
All my own fault, lol, but thats the thrill of flashing i spose.
Im having trouble getting into the "Boot Menu" screen now, anyone got any suggestions?


Re-flash the ROM. Do not forget to remove the SD-flash before flashing.



Thank you Sowa
MY problem with was not using the Flashing tool, I placed it in the device :(
I should have read the instructions better, and a BIG THANK YOU for the Rom, its working a treat

p.s. Whens the next ROM out lol


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:37 pm
Posts: 1
I can be mistaken but I cannot find which android version the custom rom is.

THNX in advance


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:53 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:03 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Russia, Novorossiysk
J-o-o-s-t wrote:
I can be mistaken but I cannot find which android version the custom rom is.

THNX in advance

Android version, as in the original firmware, 2.3.1

_________________
ARNOVA 8G2 8Gb (AN8G2)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 4:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 4:32 pm
Posts: 3
great for this technical feat
I edit the file build.prop
to add performences

ÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇô

#
# ADDITIONAL_BUILD_PROPERTIES
#
keyguard.no_require_sim=true
ro.com.android.dateformat=dd.MM.yyyy
ro.com.android.dataroaming=true
ro.ril.hsxpa=1
ro.ril.gprsclass=10
ro.config.notification_sound=OnTheHunt.ogg
ro.config.alarm_alert=Alarm_Classic.ogg
ro.setupwizard.mode=EMULATION
ro.opengles.version=131072
debug.sf.hw=1
dalvik.vm.heapsize=64m
dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit
media.stagefright.enable-meta=true
media.stagefright.enable-scan=true
media.stagefright.enable-http=true
media.stagefright.enable-player=true
windowsmgr.max_events_per_sec=240
wifi.interface=wlan0
wifi.supplicant_scan_interval=180
pm.sleep_mode=1
ro.ril.disable.power.collapse=0
debug.performance.tuning=1
video.accelerate.hw=1
persist.webview.minscale=0.5
persist.webview.maxscale=2
persist.webview.wml=disable
product.version=rk29_gingerbread_v1.28
EXTERNAL_STORAGE_STATE=removed
persist.sys.timezone=Europe/Paris
dalvik.vm.checkjni=false
ro.kernel.android.checkjni=0
#debug.sf.nobootanimation=1
dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=m=y
#dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=v=a,o=v
#dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=v=a,o=v,m=y
net.bt.name=Arnova8G2
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt
ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1
ro.media.enc.jpeg.quality=80
ro.media.dec.jpeg.memcap=32000000
ro.media.enc.hprof.vid.bps=8000000

ÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇöÔÇö-

You can also delete the file AndroidManifest in framework-res.apk I can not line

<uses-permission android:name="rockchip.permission.FULL_SCREEN" /> or modify

<uses-permission android:name="android.permission.FULL_SCREEN" /> to activate the full screen for games

sorry my English

edit:
dalvik.vm.heapsize=32m
32 is top for performance


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:28 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:03 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Russia, Novorossiysk
2 morka
What are the lines you changed and what added?
What they do?

_________________
ARNOVA 8G2 8Gb (AN8G2)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 4:32 pm
Posts: 3
you look at line 1395 of file AndroidManifest.xml in framework.res.apk
----------------------------
<permission
android:label="@android:01040397"
android:name="rockchip.permission.FULL_SCREEN"
android:protectionLevel="1"
android:permissionGroup="android.permission-group.SYSTEM_TOOLS"
android:description="@android:01040396"
>
----------------------------
its active function for full screen
me it works on my theme and many error is displayed
To Be compiled error
or look
alternative http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1114069


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 11:56 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 11:52 am
Posts: 2
Hi guys,

I'm hoping you can help me.

I have the Arnova 8 G2 Tablet, and downloaded and followed the process to flash the device.

The device said it didn't recognise the drivers, so I copied the update file straight onto the device and clicked update. It ran the update but down when I switch the tablet on, all I get is the arnova screen.

I'm guessing I may have bricked the tablet?!

Can anyone help what I can do from here to save it?

Thanks for any help you can give!

James.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 2:09 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 11:52 am
Posts: 2
Update....

OK so i've read all the help and advice out there, and i've managed to get into recovery mode for my Arnova 8 G2.

I've managed to find the Arnova device on my computer and have tried to go into "update drivers" for it. I've been pointing it to the file (which i've already unzipped) and it's still not recognising any of the drivers?

Anyone able to point me in the right direction what i do next?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 9:22 pm
Posts: 2
Hi sowa
I hope you can help me. I purchased an arnova 8 G2 and noticed some of the settings functions were missing. so i searched on archos.com for a firmware upgrade and found nothing, went on google and found http://www.arctablet.com/blog/featured/ ... hing-tool/
not knowing what i was doing, i thought it was a normal update, i went on an did it.
now my tablet wont boot up and stays on the boot screen. it just says arnova.
I noticed from the thread below you helped this gentlemen out.
can you help me? please?

I have tried the following :
use rockchip tool 1.4 - my pc wont pick up the arnova, driver cant be installed (win 7).and when i load the fw, it says load error.
i cant even find the proper driver!
i think before i installed the first firmware, i change the usb to debugging mode. the archos says that might be causing the unrecognition of the tablet
I think james (above) and I are in the same boat!

please help me..i beg you
please
TIA


Subject: ARNOVA 8G2 Custom ROM



Sowa wrote:

crusti wrote:
Hi Newbie here,

I had my 8g2 for 3 days , found this site and have had a lot of fun flashing the custom roms, Im not a novice to flashing but i am a novice with Android

I tried to update to the AN8G2_ext3f, followed the instructions but it stuck on the "ARNOVA" boot screen, after 1 hour of this I tried to reboot it, no joy, so I tried to do SD card install via the "boot menu", tried system restore.
All my own fault, lol, but thats the thrill of flashing i spose.
Im having trouble getting into the "Boot Menu" screen now, anyone got any suggestions?




Re-flash the ROM. Do not forget to remove the SD-flash before flashing.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:27 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 9:22 pm
Posts: 2
heart attack over
somehow after the 1000th time the driver decided to work and your custom rom also installed
thank GOD!
for those who are wondering. i did nothing special, just continued to try install the drivers. i have no idea why it worked the 100th time..but it did..
it was the drivers from rockchip 1.4 and the device did NOT have arnova on the screen when the driver updated. thats the only difference from the 1st and 1000th time
i reset it (disconnected) for 5 sec holding vol +, stuck the usb in and pointed at the driver.
worked..
thanks again guy
and thanks sowa for the custmer rom :)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 7:15 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 4:32 pm
Posts: 3
Good evening everyone
here I post the CyanogenMod 7 (gingerbread/2.3.7) for ARNOVA 8 g2
made by me

not work:
3G, bluetooth, camera, hardware accelerated video, HDMI, and many things which you expect to work

work:
3D, accelerometer, audio, gapps, internal NAND flash, SD card, touchscreen, USB host/device, vibrator
wifi works but disconnects often
by http://androtab.info/cyanogenmod/rockchip/

no market and applications Google

sowa If you could look to improve CM7
http://androtab.info/cyanogenmod/rockchip/

link CyanogenMod 7 (gingerbread/2.3.7) for ARNOVA 8 g2
update.img 153.4 MB
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=97AJMJBX

edit

My first impression of this version of CyanogenMod 7 (gingerbread/2.3.7) for ARNOVA 8 g2
3d game +1 ( in full screen )
the video +1
the application +1
the screen +1
the touchscreen +1
accelerometer adjustable +1
battery +1
USB connection +1
version gingerbread/2.3.7 +1
and also the comunity CyanogenMod +1

edit 18.01.12
Fixed sound and wifi by copying the file for your version before instalation CyanogenMod
system/etc/firmware
system/lib/libaudio.so
system/lib/libaudiopolicy.so
and libstagefrighthw.so for hardware accelerated video(+1 flash video player)
system/lib/libstagefrighthw.so
market and applications Google
http://www.google.com/intl/fr_ALL/mobile/
or for CyanogenMod
http://goo-inside.me/gapps/


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:10 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks morka. The CyanogenMod 7 is very interesting. I could install it without a glitch. And after copying the wifi firmware and the sound drivers I have sound and good wifi! I did not try video yet. I tried to copy the camera firmware to, but that does not work and I had to start over. :evil: All in all I can say that CyanogenMod 7 is very snappy and looks nice on this device. Even the battery seems ok.

One big problem remains. I have not been able to install the google market. I have read somewhere that you have to install the google apps using the recovery manager, which we don't have on the 8G2. Any hints on howto install the google market?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:30 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks for this Sowa.

Worked first time, I have Win7 x64 so I loaded the AMD x64 drivers which work fine.

Only a handful of entries in the market but I sideloaded my apps and the ones that require authentication, like PES2011, authenticated through the market OK.

it would be goo to have a fully functioning market, but until then sideloading seems to do the trick. I just install the apps I want on my phone and then use APKShare to back them up. I then transfer the SD card to the Arnova 8 G2 and load the apps from there using the default file manager.

I've got everything I want and it works well on a tablet that cost next to nothing, so thanks again.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 4:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 4:30 pm
Posts: 2
Any chance there's an alternative download site for the latest ROM (AN8G2_ext3f)? Constantly getting file unavailable errors on UploadKing (http://www.uploadking.com/UDS5YW06C8)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:19 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:03 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Russia, Novorossiysk
tisjames wrote:
Any chance there's an alternative download site for the latest ROM (AN8G2_ext3f)? Constantly getting file unavailable errors on UploadKing (http://www.uploadking.com/UDS5YW06C8)


http://www.fbi.gov/news/pressrel/press- ... fringement :(
Link add. See 1-st post.

_________________
ARNOVA 8G2 8Gb (AN8G2)


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™