Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:10 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:10 pm
Posts: 3
I am thinking about buying the Arnova 7 G2 so that I can blog on a trip to Africa (cheap and has 3g on it) and wondered how you get pictures from a camera (with SD card) onto the Arnova 7 G2 when it only has a micro SD slot? I'm sure that you guys have done it without going via another computer and I would be grateful if you could tell me how!

Many thanks

Will


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:57 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 2:16 pm
Posts: 19
Are you talking about the Arnova 7 G2 or the 7c G2?

The 7c G2 has 3G, but I would not buy it as a tablet because of the slower CPU, supports not that many media formats.

Ask anyone that really owns one.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:31 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:10 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks both of you.

That was a really useful insight about the adaptor card.

It is the Arnova 7c G2 that I was talking about. I am just looking for a cheap way to blog when I'm in Africa. Most tablets don't have 3g or cost loads and this seemed a cheap solution (the alternative for me is likely to be a netbook and just shove in a 3g dongle)

The dell streak with 3g is £300 in the UK. The Arnova 7c G2 is £130 with 3g.

When you say it doesn't support many media formats I only really need .jpg pics and I'm not that bothered about loads of music or videos on it. In terms of CPU are we in "runs like a dog" area or its just not as fast as others??

Cheers


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:09 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
Does it have usb host where you can just plug the camera in as a disk extension, possibly with an adaptor? I believe I tested that OK on my an10g2. The arnova specs use terms that confuse me - they seem to call it a slave host or something. But both the 7 and 10 specs look the same in this regard.

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:11 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:10 pm
Posts: 3
viking,

no idea! I'll have to have a look. I think it only has a micro usb port and so I suppose I could get micro-micro cable for my camera.

Cheers


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:24 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
They seem to list 2 usb ports, but with strange terminology. Maybe you can get a good side view picture.

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
I tested it again... my an10g2 will host a camera fine and I can look up the pix with files app. Not with the little "computer usb" but with what the specs call a slave usb. Surely it is really a host usb. The 7 model looks spec'ed identically, but I have my doubts.

The messages from dismounting usb drive alway mislead me. I warns me about things, then scolds me when I try to follow it. It seems to be in chinglesh (rather than franglish) and in particular Hong Kong cantonese english I speculate. They use a wrong word or two that throws the meaning completely in the air.

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited