Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:01 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3G dongle connection.?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:37 am
Posts: 4
Arnova 10 G2. is it possible to connect to internet other than wifi, ie. an internet sim dongle via the usb port. Orange do a Wi Fi type portable box which connects like wifi.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 4:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:27 am
Posts: 29
Not with the orange dongle, but with the Archos 3g key yes.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:25 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:36 pm
Posts: 407
Now go and tell this to Archos. :badgrin:


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 1:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:33 pm
Posts: 7
Really? I wonder if it will be possible to use any 3G dongle like the oh-so-common Huawei┬┤s to connect to the internet. It shouldn┬┤t be too hard with a good driver, right?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 7:05 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:47 pm
Posts: 46
Only with archos 3G key :-)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:36 pm
Posts: 407
Who says that Archos thing will work?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:28 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:47 pm
Posts: 46
exelletor wrote:
Who says that Archos thing will work?


Exelletor if you open pdf product information from arnova website there is information about "3G ready"
http://arnovatech.com/products/g2/arn_9 ... pl&lang=en


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:17 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:15 am
Posts: 7
Location: Netherlands
@hubu

The link in your post is the documentation about the Arnova 9 G2. The question from Rodders1969 is about the Arnova10 G2!?

By the way, i do have de same questions about the 8 G2, and i asked Cajl at http://www.jbmm.fr/2011/11/et-puis-cell ... nova-8-g2/

I looked through all specs and for the 8 G2, 9 G2 en 10 G2. For all models you can read in the chapter "Connected" the following info: "With the integrated microSD card reader you can transfer files easily or even plug in a USB flash drive in the USB host slot / via the USB host cable."

So we have a HOST-function, the first step......

When you read the PDF-files (not available for the 10 G2) you will find out that only the 9 G2 has a 3G option: "3G Ready
The ARNOVA 9 G2 is fully compatible with the ARCHOS G9 3G Stick**. This USB Stick brings the
3G connectivity to your ARNOVA 9 G2 tablet via the USB port.
All you have to do is to put a data Sim card into the stick, plug it to your tablet and start surfing at
3G speed. Stay connected wherever you are!
"

I hope that owners of the 10,8 an 9 G2 models can test/confirm that the host function is supported so you can plug in a flash/hard drive or even a 3G stick.....


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:27 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:47 pm
Posts: 46
@Harnova

sorry, I just saw title "3G dongle connection.?" has not read firts post.
As for Arnova 9G2 it can be different then with 8 & 10 models because 9G2 will get full size USB 2.0 port.

Check this thread about usb storage / hard drive posibilities:
viewtopic.php?f=87&t=59129


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 2:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:36 pm
Posts: 407
10G2 also has a full-size usb... May be the support for 3G came with the latest firmware upgrade?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Posts: 585
Location: La varenne / France
the 3g dongle works on Arnova 8 G2
for another Arnova g2
Archos working .....

_________________
CORSE' WEB


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 10:51 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:57 am
Posts: 20
hi,
on a different forum one user reprted HUAWEI E160G HSDPA stick to be working with no probs on 10 G2 and HUAWEI E367 HSPA+ to be NOT working

by the way if anybody thinks of buying 10b G2 model (newest), it does NOT have an usb host-prt


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 12:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 12:18 pm
Posts: 2
i presume most of you have an android mobile phone aswell? in that case just create a virtual wifi spot with your phone and then connect using your tablet.

tablet then uses your mobiles data plan.


its basically wifi tethering. (i couldnt get usb tethering to work probably same issues as the dongles).


i think most andriod phones have the option to create a virtual wifi spot, if yours does then you dont need a dongle just make sure your phone is with you while your out of a range of a wifi spot then you can connect to your phones virtual wifi and as stated use your mobiles data plan.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 12:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:30 pm
Posts: 1
thx thommo i have bought a dongle but with no luck however tethering wont work either but i did manage to create a wifi hot spot with the touch of a button , i feel such an idiot for not knowing that ive been trying for ages to get an outside connection lol . oh well , anybody want to buy a 3.5g dongle then ha ha :lol:


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 7:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:51 pm
Posts: 39
I have an unlocked 3mifi and it works perfectly.

Damian


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 7:55 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:51 pm
Posts: 39
Harnova wrote:
@hubu

The link in your post is the documentation about the Arnova 9 G2. The question from Rodders1969 is about the Arnova10 G2!?


3G connectivity to your ARNOVA 9 G2 tablet via the USB port.
All you have to do is to put a data Sim card into the stick, plug it to your tablet and start surfing at
3G speed. Stay connected wherever you are![/i]"

I hope that owners of the 10,8 an 9 G2 models can test/confirm that the host function is supported so you can plug in a flash/hard drive or even a 3G stick.....



The box for my 10g2 says 3g ready and its an available accessory online


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:28 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:06 am
Posts: 1
Hi

In my arnova10g2 with original firmware and also with the EZ firmware that the arctool instals to root and instal the google play market

Those 3g modems work fine:
ZTE MF688
ZTE k3765z

But those ones don't work:
huawei e367
huawei k3765


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™