Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 12:12 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:12 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:49 am
Posts: 31
Location: Hull, United Kingdom
NEW FIRMWARE TO GIVE THE ARNOVA 10G2 ACCESS TO THE FULL ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOLS

http://www.arctablet.com/blog/featured/ ... rket-root/ :D

:D :D :D :D :D :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 4:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:43 pm
Posts: 7
I better wait for official release.

_________________
Arnova 10 G2


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 4:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:27 am
Posts: 29
I'll test it on my 10g2


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:39 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
gucci_dre wrote:
I better wait for official release.

You will never get an offical arnova release that is rooted and with google apps.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:49 am
Posts: 31
Location: Hull, United Kingdom
Installed the new firmware onto my Arnova 10G2 and so far so good.

I have installed arctools which has installed the Official Android market.

I have downloaded Gmail, Google Maps, You Tube and I can report they all work fine.

:)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 12:14 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
Interesting... I wonder if they based it off the latest Arnova firmware release. So it apparently requires root, and here is a list of pros and cons of rooting http://droidlessons.com/what-is-rooting ... dvantages/

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 10:15 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
viking wrote:
Interesting... I wonder if they based it off the latest Arnova firmware release.

Yes they did. I unpacked both the original arnova updated rom and the custom rom.
viking wrote:
So it apparently requires root, and here is a list of pros and cons of rooting http://droidlessons.com/what-is-rooting ... dvantages/

Google applications as such don't require root access. You could build a custom rom with google apps in it that isn't rooted. Also Arctools doesn't need root access as it also works on standard roms for the Internet tablets. As these are not rooted, I conclude that arctools doesn't need it. The guys/gals from arctools don't mention it either.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 2:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:43 pm
Posts: 7
hvdwolf wrote:
gucci_dre wrote:
I better wait for official release.

You will never get an offical arnova release that is rooted and with google apps.

Official = Arctable approved version. They advised to be very careful with this custom firmware, and it isn't fully tested.

_________________
Arnova 10 G2


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 6:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 12:26 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Drachten (Netherlands)
It works fine, I haven't notice anything bad on this firmware.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 2:08 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 1:55 pm
Posts: 1
Works perfectly for me too - enabled me to download Mobo Video which handles the video files that the default Video Player refuses to play. Also enable me to install Amazon Kindle and SmartApp Protector Free, which is invalueable to lock down my email app and keep it safe from prying eyes. Now if only they'd had a screen lock option built-in :-) I hate it when any of my family can simply pick the thing up and turn it on....grrrr


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:46 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
That's odd; I had just posted why folks are abandoning this current rooted/arctools firmware approach, due to appspace implosion among other things. I had posted an alternate way to get google market (lite) on the Arnova stock firmware (now made into sticky topic).

Also I had just posted the wonders of "mx video player" which has been rated superior to mobo in comparison tests.

Furthermore I had just posted how to get a lock screen (good and bad apps topic),

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:09 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 12:26 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Drachten (Netherlands)
Well, the app storage is very annoying, but with some other programs, It's ok to me.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:53 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
Has anyone tried the new rooted firmware that fixes the available appspace problem?
http://www.arctablet.com/blog/forum/arn ... -htcmania/

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:12 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:09 am
Posts: 1
Yes, new update works and fixes the issue. (also seems faster somehow, judging by go launcher screen swipes with lots of widgets)

One thing I miss now is the calendar sync with google services.
If anyone has fixed this, please let me know.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 3:21 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:58 pm
Posts: 3
how long does it take to update?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 3:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:49 am
Posts: 31
Location: Hull, United Kingdom
To flash the tablet it takes about 5 minutes, presuming you already have all the programs and drivers installed


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 4:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:58 pm
Posts: 3
iv had it updating for over 6 hours. the install option remains orange and i cant shut it off


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:18 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:58 pm
Posts: 3
thanks Damanmagee, im new to this, what drivers and programmes do i need to install and where do i get them


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:51 pm
Posts: 2
You know there is a simple way to install the Android market on your tablet? Here is a link I found and tested, worked perfect on the philly and the standard Arnova 10 g2, The market is an older version interface but I like this stype compaired to the new disfuntional interface "My opinion only?

http://www.arctablet.com/blog/forum/arn ... -firmware/

Why install a custom rom?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:43 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:51 pm
Posts: 2
Well I have installed the custom rom on my Arnova 10 g2 and installed the market without problems. Kindle and Nook apps work perfect. My tablet was a Philly so i saved my apps, my data to the sd card and installed the custom rom... reloaded my apps and the new paper works fine.

Change my screen with LCD Res apk and found myself running a very very nice tablet with great performance. I would say upgrade your rom. feel comfortable because it works and works well. Good luck!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited