Forum.ArchosFans.com
http://forum.archosfans.com/

RAM of Arnova 10 G2
http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=57830
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Daskwartelkanon [ Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:57 pm ]
Post subject:  RAM of Arnova 10 G2

Guys,
The Arnova 10 G2 has 512 MB Ram, but if you look in settings you see only 256 MB.
And if you look in Memory Booster, it says that i'm using more than 300 MB ram without having a program open.
So I think the tablet only uses 256 MB of his 512 MB Ram.

(Sorry for my bad english, I hope it is not to bad ;))

Author:  viking [ Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: RAM of Arnova 10 G2

Interesting; the gen8 archos similarly shows half of it's ram avail in settings/applications/running (128 instead of 256). I am guessing Android reserves half the ram for something else, like the linux kernel or libraries of generic utility subprograms. There are layers of built in programs that support applications.

Author:  Daskwartelkanon [ Thu Oct 20, 2011 10:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RAM of Arnova 10 G2

That could be it, but why so much?!
256 MB Ram for only the kernel and that stuff??

Author:  viking [ Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: RAM of Arnova 10 G2

I don't know - maybe you can google android architecture memory management with better luck than me. Sometimes they do tricks with sharing use of memory anyway, which you cannot detect by the settings numbers.

Gingerbread has been called more memory intensive than Froyo. Maybe it is to support the below stuff quoted from wikipedia. I certainly see an improvement in the gaming parts. Has anyone tried the voip?

Quote:
2.3 Gingerbread (open-source) refined the user interface, improved the soft keyboard and copy/paste features, improved gaming performance, SIP support (VoIP calls), and added support for Near Field Communication.

Image

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC+01:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/