Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 12:26 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Won't connect to wifi
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:22 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
Just opened my 80 g9 box, turned it on, connected to my home wifi network, and proceeded to download an app or two. Archos goes to sleep, and now it won't even recognize my wifi network. I was using a wep key, now I'm not.

Airplane mode is off.
I've told it to forget the network, I've reformatted.
Help me please.


Last edited by Heinbokel on Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:27 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
Try deleting record of your connection on Archos in the 'Wifi Settings' then try again.

A long press on connection should give you the option to 'forget network'.

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:28 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
zandoli wrote:
Try deleting record of your connection on Archos in the 'Wifi Settings' then try again.

A long press on connection should give you the option to 'forget network'.


I did forget the network. It didn't work.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:30 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
Restart the router and tablet.

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:48 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
zandoli wrote:
Restart the router and tablet.


I've power cycled everything, still won't even recognize the access point.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:52 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
Really hope there's a way to fix it. I literally JUST got this tablet. I have other pc's connected to the access point and they're working fine.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:56 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:12 am
Posts: 16
has your archos got the latest firmware updates?

do you have any other mobile devices to check the wifi signal on?

have you changed any router/access point settings since getting the tablet out the box?

my archos has connected to everything I can throw at it.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:06 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
kevinc wrote:
has your archos got the latest firmware updates?

do you have any other mobile devices to check the wifi signal on?

have you changed any router/access point settings since getting the tablet out the box?

my archos has connected to everything I can throw at it.


I'll try updating the firmware, other devices are connecting. Nothing has changed with the router/access point.

When I first turned it on it had no problem connecting, then it went to sleep while downloading an app, and it can't connect to wifi now.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:16 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:12 am
Posts: 16
might be worth uninstalling the app(s) that yu were downloading at the time in case that's caused an issue somewhere.
a last resort option would be a hard reset, - not so bad since the device is new and you won't have filled it with lots of stuff to lose yet.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:32 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
kevinc wrote:
might be worth uninstalling the app(s) that yu were downloading at the time in case that's caused an issue somewhere.
a last resort option would be a hard reset, - not so bad since the device is new and you won't have filled it with lots of stuff to lose yet.


I'll try a few of the different resets. I've already tried one and it didn't work, but we'll see.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:35 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
Heinbokel wrote:
kevinc wrote:
might be worth uninstalling the app(s) that yu were downloading at the time in case that's caused an issue somewhere.
a last resort option would be a hard reset, - not so bad since the device is new and you won't have filled it with lots of stuff to lose yet.


I'll try a few of the different resets. I've already tried one and it didn't work, but we'll see.


Full reset didn't work.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:42 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:12 am
Posts: 16
if a factory reset didn't work then it must be a hardware fault, - unless someone else more knowledgable thinks of something.
sorry I can't help further.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:45 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
kevinc wrote:
if a factory reset didn't work then it must be a hardware fault, - unless someone else more knowledgable thinks of something.
sorry I can't help further.


I'm going to be really frustrated if my tablet's wifi adapter already broke after one use...

I just don't understand how one second it will connect just fine and the next it has no idea the access point is even there.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:13 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
Updating firmware atm, let's see what happens.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:17 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
Heinbokel wrote:
Updating firmware atm, let's see what happens.


Well, nothing has worked. Looks like I'm calling tech support tomorrow. FFS


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:38 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:30 pm
Posts: 1
I have the same problem with my brand new Archos g9 80. I managed to download firmware update (by literally placing the tablet next to my wifi router) but it did not help.

When I move further away than approx. 1 metre (!) from the router I lose the wifi signal completely. When it is closer the signal strength is just poor.

I will try to replace my tablet tomorrow. If another one has the same issue it is going to be bye bye Archos. I will probably get Acer Iconia instead.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:12 am
Posts: 16
yes, its so frustrating when a new device goes wrong immediatly.
I guess I am one of the fortunate ones who have no hardware problems at all, so far.

I wanted a htc flyer, but it was nearly twice the price, and had so many features missing compared to the archos..
I just wish the archos didn't have the sortware niggles, and potential hardware problems.

Hope you both get your tablets sorted out quickly.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
Called tech support, did a boot menu thing and reset it. Found wifi, connected, worked great. 2 hours later it can't find it again.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
And now it's working again... Hmm. We'll see how this turns out.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:19 am
Posts: 14
And now it won't turn on. Guess I'll call tech support again and most likely have to return it.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™