Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Oct 14, 2019 9:25 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 7:56 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 12:45 am
Posts: 8
Hello all,

My first post and I'm already looking for help.

First of the equipment.
Archos G9 101 Turbo fitted with a 32gb micro sd card
PC running Windows XP
Audials Tunebite
Handbrake

What I'm trying to do.

I've recorded a video off of the Iplayer using Tunebite screen capture process, this has been recorded in either mp4 or wmv format (I've tried both).

The file produced by the above are converted to mp4 with handbrake, using the andoid medium settings

I connect the G9 to the PC using a US cable

Using windows explorer I transfer the handbrake files to the G9 sd card

Now for the problem

At first the files play ok, then a little later on (say 24 hours later) some of them stop playing, this is using the supplied video player

Anyone have any idea what I am doing wrong? It's getting annoying.

Thanks

Sandman

P.S. Last night connected the G9 to the PC and transferred some music using Media Monkey and some of them don't play properly either.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 9:37 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 12:45 am
Posts: 8
Ok forget the video for the moment. Lets sort out the music first.

I read in the manual that you need media player 11 on the PC, why?

I installed it and added some track that I had on the pc, which are in mp3 format.

Plugged in the G9.

Sync'd the test tracks to it and media player coverted them to wma on the fly!!!!! How do you stop that? It loses all the tag info!

I then copied the files manually and that seemed to work ok. But that is a bit of a painfully way of adding stuuf (big collection), is there a media manager that will work with these? I use Media Monkey for my mp3 players, but the Archos didn't seem to like it, a lot of the tracks played at the wrong speed.

Sandman29


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 3:25 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
-Windows Media Player Options
-Devices Tab
-Advanced
-uncheck 'Allow audio files to convert in the background'


Hope it works for you

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 10:38 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 12:45 am
Posts: 8
Thanks for that Zandoli. Unfortunately that just changes it so that it does the conversion on the screen before transferring to the G9.

However I think I have got the music stuff working now.

I have ripped 2 cd's using media player to MP3 format.

Started up Media Monkey and added the cover art to the tags.

The either copied the files to the G9's sdcard using windows explorer, or even Media Monkey itself. I was even able to add a playlist!

All seem stable so far, they have been on there for 48hours now and I can still play them.

Right onto ripping DVD's

Does anyone have a method for ripping dvd's that works?

I'm having a nightmare with it.

I have tried handbrake, on it's own. I have tried using dvddecrypt to create an ISO file then converting that with handbrake and the android defaults, even tried the ipad one, but after coping the .mp4 to the G9, the video player says the files is either incompatible or corrupt.

Is there a step to step guide to ripping dvd's and getting the video onto a G9 (that works).

My PC is running Widows XP, Windows media player 11, lastes handbrake and last dvddecrypt.

Any help please.

Sandman29


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 11:29 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 12:45 am
Posts: 8
More investigation.

I have ripped a dvd using Handbrake and it plays in Windows media player.

If I put the file onto the sd card. It doesn't play. It doesn't matter if I copy the file to the sd card while it's in the G9 or in a card reader on the PC, the file will not play.

But if I put the same file onto the internal memory it plays!!!!!!!!

I'm confused is there some sort of limit on the way the sd cards work?

Any ideas

Sandman29


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 11:39 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 12:45 am
Posts: 8
Last update on this. Turns out the SD Card I had was faulty. I've bought a new one and all is now working ok

Sandman29


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited