Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 8:50 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:17 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:07 pm
Posts: 52
Quote:
Everyone who has this ... hit them every week with complaints!


I quite agree but what is the most effective method of doing this? Moaning here does nothing!

I used the Archos support query form on their website. I NEVER had a reply and they locked me out of it.

Is there another complaint path, (UK preferably)

cheers

Patrick


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:39 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:36 pm
Posts: 2
Hi All,

I just bought the Archos 101 G9 last week and over the last few days the touchscreen has become a bit crazy constantly opening and closing items from my desktop. Now it is every time I turn it on after it being powered off overnight, the touch screen goes mad and I have to recalibrate it. Sorry for my tablet noobness but is there a guide to install Honeycomb instead since that seems to work fine for people on here?

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:58 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:07 pm
Posts: 52
look for 3.2.80 in the other forum General G9 discussions

There are several guides and also a pointer to where you can d/l honeycombe (3.2.80 )

BTW...

I have the same problem as you on both 4.07 and 3.2.80, worse on 4.0.7

It appears worse on half charge, or if the tablet gets colder overnightwhen in deep sleep!!!!

cheers

Patrick


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:36 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks Superpat, actually this problem only arose when the battery went below 50% I will charge it up fully tonight and see if that fixes it (temporarily)

Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 3:37 pm
Posts: 8
superpat wrote:
Quote:
Everyone who has this ... hit them every week with complaints!


I quite agree but what is the most effective method of doing this? Moaning here does nothing!

I used the Archos support query form on their website. I NEVER had a reply and they locked me out of it.

Is there another complaint path, (UK preferably)


Call them. Call them and ask whether this is a known problem or whether they can provide a fix. In my case they offered an RMA (which I didn't take but instead returned it to Amazon for a refund). Talking to them makes sure somebody hears it (so it doesn't get to the big void right away), and if enough complaints come in it will also get pushed up (support calls actually cost money to them, so they are interested in keeping them low). Whether this will result in a solution is another question, though. Considering the amount of complaints in here and my personal experience, I would not be surprised if that is a general flaw in the design which would warrant a very expensive recall and that maybe they decide(d) that it is cheaper to just sit it out. Just my suspicion, ymmv.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 10:47 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:07 pm
Posts: 52
Hi

I have been round this loop before!!

WHO and what number do I call that is effective, (in the UK or Europe).

Last time I tried to speak (and not email) ARCHOS, I was given, via my ARCHOS retailer, the number of the "UK ARCHOS support line" A very nice man answered, took all my details and concerns, promised I would get a reply, and...and...and NOTHING more was ever heard or received.

I would like to refer you to this thread:-

http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=64330

cheers

Patrick


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:08 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:07 pm
Posts: 52
Hi,

I have just been back to the Archos support website.

I managed to write another message to Archos support, so I am waiting with interest to see if they answer.

I also note they have a new number for calling support. Unfortunately it is a premium rate call line at 25p/minute. I have a deep resentment at being forced to use these premium rate numbers, as I have an home phone account that gives me zero charge outgoing calls 24/7. Why should I pay twice?

What's their normal number?

cheers

Patrick


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 9:39 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:07 pm
Posts: 52
Hi

As you can see by the date on this reply, it is now Wednesday, I have NOT heard a thing from Archos support, even an acknowledgement of my request, about par for the course.

:(

regards

P


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 7:16 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
Send them a message on facebook using their support button. They will get back to you quickly that way.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2012 12:45 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:07 pm
Posts: 52
Still no email from Archos

and What's Facebook?

cheers

P


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2012 7:18 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:43 pm
Posts: 46
Try facebook-worldwide@archos.com

I had a reply in 24 hours.

Good luck

Gareth


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 5:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:53 pm
Posts: 1
Things you can try:
This will not solve the problem...but at least make it better

Step 1) Got to settings > Language&input > Pointer speed > set it to low...

Test it now...if is ok....let it like that...if not..proceed to step 2

Step 2)
1. When turning on the device, hold down Vol + and press the power button. The ARCHOS Recovery screen is displayed. Use Vol + and - to switch between options and the power button to validate your selection.
2. Select ‘Repair system’ and press power.
3. In the Repair system screen, select ‘Force touchscreen calibration’ and press power.
4. Press power again to confirm. Put your product on a flat surface.
The calibration of the touchscreen starts. Do not touch the product until the calibration is complete.
IMPORTANT: If you do not put the device on a flat surface (e.g. Table), the touchscreen calibration will not be successful.
5. At the end of the calibration, press power. The ARCHOS Recovery screen is displayed.
6. Select No. Your device will reboot. The touchscreen is now recalibrated.

Test it now...if is ok....let it like that...if not..use a hammer and a trashcan....


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited